We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Memorable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Excellent service, amazing location, lovely bedrooms with comfy beds, very comfortable lounge. The staff are exceptional, especially the lady on reception. They make you feel extremely welcome. I have seen some reviews which state that the hotel is a bit old fashioned. That is simply not true. it is traditional and extremely comfortable.

It was our second visit and I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Go for renovated part
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruth54076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    815
    436
    210
    131
See reviews for
460
1,660
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile


The Old England is a beautifully located hotel overlooking the lake. The rooms are of a good size and very clean. The food is very good. It is one of the excellent hotels if you want to stay here but make sure you get a room in the renovated wing. Rooms in non-renovated part are old and torn out.
Make also sure that you do not meet Paul when checking in. We were 3 families of 18 pax out of which 8 were children. Have driven from Dublin we arrived at around 9.30 pm tired and exhausted. Paul at the Reception, could not have been more rude. For every question we asked his answer was "you have booked late and arrived late". Sorry but even if we booked late the hotel accepted our reservation and is responsible to treat us as regular customers. The hike of the incident was when we asked for dinner and Paul's answer was "you booked late and we can't provide you with dinner at this time". He didn't care even to check with the restaurant. It was only after we threatened that we will leave all the children in the lobby to cry from hunger that he agreed to call the restaurant. Alexandra from the restaurant came up and was very helpful. She explained that due to the large number she could not offer us the full menu but she can offer us soup, steak and pasta for the children which was fine with us as we only wanted some food after a very long journey.
In brief, it is a very good hotel but needs to upgrade the staff and to learn to cater for its customers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights for my husbands 50th . Got champaign sent to our room on both days . Food and service was outstanding . And the staff were fantastic. We will be booking again . But we shall stay longer next time

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindacavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent location right on the shores of windermere. Lovely clean and spacious rooms.
Staff were attentive (if a little slow)
A good massage in the Spa finished off a lovely day.
Great to have on site parking when the town is so busy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSSChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We spent the night after our wedding here, what a fabulous hotel! We had a lakeview room which was an upgrade but stunning and well worth doing there was robes, slippers and wine waiting for us :) the spa is amazing. We had a couples massage and used the pool. the location is perfect right in Bowness on lake windemere loads of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. It's a lovely place and this is in my opinion the best hotel there

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner in August for two nights. The views from the room were lovely, the spa was good and the location was fantastic, but the noise from a wedding held on the saturday night completely ruined our stay. You could hear the live band very well from our room despite closing the windows (which was not ideal given that there was no air conditioning in the room), and this was followed by a DJ playing loud music until midnight. We had an early start planned for the Sunday and so had hoped to get an early night, but it was impossible to relax let alone try and get any sleep until the wedding had finished. Especially given the price for a room, I would have expected to be able to relax and get some sleep in our own room. When we rung reception to complain we were told there was nothing that could be done until the event finished. To make things worse when we came to check out they tried to charge us for two additional breakfasts and several drinks that we had not ordered. Whilst they did take these off this bill when it was questioned, this is not the service I would expect from a quality hotel. They promised that someone would call us to discuss the issues that we'd had, but we are still waiting...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz_salford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My wife and I are retired and in early July we flew from Sydney to Manchester and hired a car for drive north a preliminary few nights at McDonald Old English Hotel at Bowness on Windermere then driving on to Glasgow to join a Globus Highlands and Island Coach Tour before finishing with a couple of nights at The Crown Hotel Harrogate and finally flying home. Our stay at the Crown has already been the subject of a separate report. Our stay on the Lakes and in Harrogate were both wonderful and relaxing but I must admit that while the coach tour while fantastic was also very tiring.

McDonald's in right on the lake and on arrival a footman immediately appeared to help us unload our luggage before asking if he could park the car for us which we gratefully accepted. Whenever we needed it is was returned to us at the front door of the hotel ready to drive away and when we returned with it it was iikewise taken away to be parked. We found the hotel to be a beautiful old building situate on the edge of the lake near the village centre and the ferry terminal. All the staff of the hotel were friendly, courteous and obliging whether at reception, the lounge / bar, the restaurant or house maintenance. In fact we found Mollie on the reception desk to be a real breath of fresh air.The hotel dining room, lounge and bar face the lake and you can appreciate the lake traffic while you relax there and take a drink or a meal. We had an advance half board booking at STG784 and had a large room No 139 in the new section at the rear looking over a narrow laneway which for us was fine. The old section is in the front facing the lake and although the rooms may have lake views we were happy with our situation. The restaurant service was efficient food and the food was very nice and as said we always enjoyed dining there while watching the movements on the lake. We never used the Spar but did go down and had a look. The staff as elsewhere were extremely obligingly and showed us through so we could take some photos for our trip collection. The facilities were very modern and include a large pool and sauna which impressed us.

I have read a few of the other comments before writing this report and can confirm that as with most establishments in the UK there is no air conditioning and the heatwave we experienced between 9/7 to 12/7 inclusive was noticeable to us but by Australian standards not insufferable. Try a 44 degree day south of Sydney on 07/01/2013 in the middle of bushfires and you will know what hot is. We had no complaints and have only wonderful memories of our stay at McDonald's and urge anyone interested in a holiday there look to an advance half board booking which will save you quite a lot and hedge any currency movements by buying STG in advance in notes or on a travel card as we did. .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing