We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service please!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“service please!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Had a two day trip to the lakes & had mixed fortunes. The service was poor in the restaurant, food arriving before the wine at dinner & the food not arriving at all at breakfast until you flag down one of the almost exclusively foreign waiter/ waitress. When it did arrive it was not to a standard befitting four star rating. it is such a shame the restaurant service is so poor because the hotel is lovely and i'm sure most people wont return here unless it improves. On the plus side the room was nice & the location is fantastic on the edge windermere & has lovely panoramic views.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 78jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    825
    441
    214
    134
See reviews for
471
1,679
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stocksfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were looking forward to a relaxing 2 day break in August and booked a executive suite b&b. @550 pounds sterling I thought it would be a nice treat. Wrong! The front of house staff were unprofessional and seemed more interested in their mobiles and gossiping than the client. The room although clean was of a standard usually associated with a premier lodge.. Bottle of wine and 2 bottles of house water on table but no indication if they were complimentary or otherwise. The pleasant young chap showing us the room was non the wiser and said we would probably have to pay when booking out! Methinks this is a hospitality trade con! Advertised uninterrupted views of Lake Windermere were achieved from a grotty terrace which had two other views! One was the shabby boathouse opposite and a grubby rendered wall on the right. Restaurant staff very good so there was plus. Second day locked out of room because they thought we had checked out! No apology. Advertised spa special could not be claimed because they were fully booked! Why bother. If you fancy a mediocre hotel at steep prices this is for you.

Room Tip: View first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here as a family of four.
Had a family room, on room only basis.

Good points:
-Valet parking
-Excellent spa area with ice room, aromatherapy shower, steam room, sauna, beautiful pool with great views.
-Amazing location on shores of the lake and in centre of town. Very easy to walk to local restaurants etc.
-great public areas eg terrace bar which are traditionally decorated
-friendly staff
-very clean everywhere
-massive family bedroom.
-robes &slippers in room

Bad points:
-we had a 'feature' lake view family room. This had great views but that was about it. There is a small room with bunk beds in. This had carpet that did not fit and badly needed decorating. Bathroom desparetely needed new suite and tiles. Main bedroom area badly needed re-decorating and new furniture. Everything very worn and tired. No comfy seating even though room large enough.
-swimming pool is freezing
-drinks in bar very expensive (£5 a beer)
-price of breakfast, as on room only rate enquired about breakfast £17.50 each (i.e. £70 for a family of four per day!!!). I think this is absolutely extortionate. We ate breakfast elsewhere.

If they improved these negatives it would be a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for recently renovated one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. Overall very positive experience Outstanding position and lovely view from the dining room whilst having a lovely breakfast Downside sat for 10 minutes in the lounge/bar and nobody came near staff too busy talking amongst themselves so walked out and what us it with
English hotels and wifi..have to sign in and pay for BT..even the cheapest hotels in France offer it for free..get with it guys

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were on an Insight Tour and stayed at this hotel. It was beautiful, loved every minute of our stay. We had fabulous weather and the views from our room over the lake was great. I would recommend this hotel and location to anyone.

The full breakfasts were also delicious, everyone was so nice and accommodating ~ cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the lake, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the spur of the moment when we found out we wouldn't have the kids one weekend.
It is a fantastic hotel with great views over the lake. A very central location means you don't have to go too far to find anything.
It isn't cheap, but the rooms are excellent. We didn't eat there but all we heard was positive comments about the food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A disappointment from start to finish arrived the 29/8/13 as part of a wedding party to be told to wait by a member of staff that though we had reserved rooms they hadn't kept any for us as reserving a room dosnt mean we have booked a room ???? Eventually we got a room and we were told we had been upgraded to a lake view room off we went to our room and the view was stunning the room however tired , dated and dirty chewing gum on the carpet cold tap broken plug not attached to sink and holes in the side of the bath and robes in the wardrobe had foundation tide marks round the necks not what you expect for the price we paid . Needless to say we complained and after lengthy debate were offed a refurbished room we accepted and were led to a lovely room well appointed and clean lacking only one thing ..... A window we had A tiny sky light tha did little to light up 'the cave' . The staff range from attentive to indifferent and the bar is overpriced ( stags head next door is much more reasonable) and the food though nice has strange garnishes ( a huge spider in my breakfast ) that the staff ignored when I pointed it out then to top it all off when we went to check out we were told to wait by a very rude member of staff (Paul) we would have to wait as he had paperwork and phone calls to make as if he didnt do it now he wouldn't get time later .

All in all I would give the hotel a miss and book in at the stags head half the price good food and reasonable bar prices

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P-atkinson86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing