We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“want to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“want to stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Have not stayed in this hotel but will one day but just thought i would share this picture with you :). The facilities look wonderful. The settings are so beautiful, i fell in love with Bowness and cant wait to return,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Julie T

Thank you for the wonderful comments and picture and you haven’t even stayed yet. I hope your next visit allows you the opportunity to stay at the hotel and enjoy our hospitality in of our unique setting.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    846
    455
    222
    136
See reviews for
479
1,733
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

very clean, good staff and friendly and helpful, very comfortable beds, great spa. excellent value for money. will recommend to any one, very good breakfast, sets you up for the day. relaxing stay. thank you staff

Room Tip: over looking the lake are the best, but all are well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherineaudsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Theres nothing not to like about this hotel. Its central, the staff are lovely and the views are to die for from the restaurant and also your'e room if you are lucky enough to get one at the back of the hotel. We stayed on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and it was exceelent value and the food was delicous. Our room this time was one of the older ones, but it was a four poster bed room and I actually preferred this. The room was large and had all of the amenities you would expect including a nespresso coffee machine which I think may be a new addition to the room. Breakfast was lovely and all of the hotel is clean and all of the the staff are helpful and go out of their way to assist you at any opportunity. We go to the lakes regularly, but we have now been here 3 times as other hotels locally cannot compare in value for what you get we think.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank marboycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
It is always a pleasure to see a review from a regular guest. Being such a historic building the Old England has many different styles of bedroom with no two rooms being the same. It sounds like you have had chance to try several of different styles during your many visits. The nespresso coffee machine are a new addition to our Suites and have been very popular over the summer.

We are blessed with outstanding views and are pleased to hear the small touches made your stay even more enjoyable.

Just this week we have introduced an enhanced bedding standard to all 106 rooms with even more comfortable bedding and bathroom towelling. I hope to share even more of these exciting changes with you on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a night in Windermere for my wife's birthday as a surprise. Great location and hotel. Pool and spa area clean, great breakfast. Great views from the hotel and staff friendly and accommodating. Room even though on ground floor was quiet and comfortable and impressed with valet parking on arrival. Looking to book again with the kids!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here in January this year for four or five nights and we had a wonderful time. The friendly porter on reception and duty manager were exceptional. We were greeted after a 6 hour drive with warmth, good humour and speedy efficiency. Without exception all of the staff in the hotel were courteous and very friendly. They very kindly gave us a free upgrade on arrival which meant we had a lovely view of the lake.

We loved the spa and used the swimming pool every morning, it could get a little busy at times but the facilities were top notch. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location, close to fantastic restaurants within walking distance.

We're already thinking of returning in November for another break on our way down to visit family. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasturefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed for just one night on a db&b rate. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. The small car park was full but they offered to valet park our car. Our room wasn't ready so we decided to use the facilities and went down to the leisure area. The pool was lovely and we made use of the sauna, steam room and ice room which was particularly nice. On going back to reception our room still wasn't ready but we were early after all and decided to have lunch in the lounge. We found a lovely seat overlooking the lake with fabulous views. The food was very good and the staff very courteous and helpful. After lunch we went to our room which was overlooking the lake with exceptional views. The room itself had an enormous bed with a sitting area at the window. The bathroom was very nice with fluffy towels, nice toiletries and bathrobes and slippers - all of good quality. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of a very high quality with plenty of choices. The staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough for you always asking if the food was ok. After a very peaceful sleep we had breakfast and again the food quality was excellent with lots of choice and as much coffee as you can drink. Again the staff were very attentive. We would definitely stay here again and can't fault anything.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake have a great view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdmNewcastleUponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
SdmNewcastleupontyne

Exceptional service and brilliant staff are kind words indeed and the team and I thank you for taking the time to describe your stay at the Old England. With over 150 car parking spaces in our private car parks there is always room and the concierge team are on hand to valet park for all of our arriving guests. Many people only see the small car park at the side of the hotel and presume we may not have any space. From the moment you arrive it is important you can relax and unwind and I am pleased you were able to take full advantage of our facilities and enjoyed the spa and restaurant and lounges. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently had a lovely two night break away here. The staff were always very friendly and really helpful. We were upgraded to a suite room with a lake view which was lovely. The hotel is in a great position right opposite the lake. The breakfast was very nice with a wide choice. Big bar area. The only small downside was the banging of the other hotel room doors which do bang when shut, could be heard throughout the night. However, would definitely stay again, couldn't fault it otherwise! lovely.

Room Tip: The suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTheWorldIfPoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing