We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we spent our goolden wedding here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shaw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“we spent our goolden wedding here”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

and we had a very good time excellent attention from the staff, we had a very good meal her. also
we spent time in the swimming pool had a great time all round. thank you Old England,my daughter and her partner helped to make the best time. and dont forget to tour bowness.
WILLIAM M D

Room Tip: SPEAK TO THE STAFF,they would be happy to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Congratulations again on your Golden wedding anniversary. It is always a pleasure to see so many guests choose the Old England as the destination to celebrate special occasions. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    846
    455
    222
    136
See reviews for
479
1,733
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly staff very clean rooms. We were given an upgrade on our booking and received champagne and chocolates courtesy of the hotel. We had a room with a fantastic view of the lake. Bedroom was very comfortable and warm. Look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Modern, clean, friendly staff. Room had a great few of lake. Breakfast was excellent. The concierge was very helpful with regard to location and car parking. This hotel has everything for a short break.

Room Tip: Make sure you do a boat trip! Room with a lake view. Book a spa treatment Wrap up in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We arrived Friday afternoon and we were instantly impressed by the welcome of the friendly staff. Our lake view executive room was clean and appointed to a high standard. The view was exquisite. The bed very comfortable and very large. No sky sports channels. The spa was classy and clean with a large (for a hotel) swimming pool. The restaurant was perfectly located with large windows over looking lake Windermere. The food and service were exactly how they should be. The choice of food was just right with a good mix. It came in a timely fashion and was spot on. This was matched by a beautiful breakfast.
There were no complaints whatsoever, I have only praise for this fantastic hotel. There was even live music in the pub next door.

Room Tip: 129 was very nice with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review – Top Top Hotel, Friendly, high standards, exquisite views, very comfortable beds, Food and service exactly right and a beautiful breakfast. The team really enjoyed hearing about your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I know the Old England well but have never stayed there, so I was pleased with the opportunity to stay over one night to meet relatives. We had a lake view room which was well appointed and comfortable. The atmosphere was one of a country house, easy going and pleasant. We felt at home.

The lounge overlooking the lake is pleasant and we enjoyed a lovely afternoon watching,the sin set over the lake. Staff were attentive and pleasant and the spa and pool of excellent quality.

The breakfast was also good although I did have my side plate whisked away while I still had some toast to finish. I was provided with wheat free toast no problem and again there is a lovely view from the restaurant.

We would definitely stay again. We found our visit relaxing and easy going and I know my relatives felt the same.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbriaSef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very comfortable room with a fabulous view of the Lake. Food excellent, staff friendly and efficient, public areas smart and comfortable. Perfect location for Windermere boats, shops and restaurants but room lovely and quiet.
Looking forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hvs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Tyne & Wear
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from 2 night stay. Had a lovely time - hotel just perfect for a short break as its close to all amenities. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Bedroom had ample space and bathroom cleaned to a high standard. We had dinner both nights in the restaurant which was very relaxed and enjoyable. Overall we had an excellent time and would definitely return in the New Year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobol3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing