We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Withernsea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“holiday”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

lovely hotel good breakfast but the dinners not as good as I expected location is in a very nice place rooms lovely and clean and very roomy the valet parking made things a lot easier not having to worry about the car

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    855
    456
    225
    141
See reviews for
486
1,749
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Went to Old England for a evening do. Disappointed at lack of parking and how much the bar costs. I feel £6.50 excessive for a pint of larger and a very small lemonade!!! Nice setting but bloody expensive. Can't comment on food or rooms but can say service was very slack.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Allthebricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Went for a birthday treat, upgraded the room with a lake view, which was nice.
The hotel us very nice & the lake view unrivalled, the lounge area is lovely but bar drinks very expensive.
The breakfast was a poncey affair with cooked breakfast to order & continental type buffet.
Don't expect to get fat off the cooked breakfast!
The staff were in disarray, they didn't know who ordered what, toast wasn't toast (when you eventually got it) it was warmed bread.
Never had dinner as the prices were expensive & the wine even more so.
London hotel prices up north?
Go to local B&B next time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robby-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I came previously with my wife and hadn't enjoyed ourselves too much. However this time it was a lot better.

Some of the previous reviews refer to the foreign staff as a negative but I thought they were fantastic. They were all warm and attentive throughout. So much so I even left a tip which I believe shouldn't be a given and should be a representation of great service only.

The food wasn't bad at all and although slow between courses it was worth the wait. I could see how they have two rosettes and was frustrated that on my last visit we ate in the bar when we should have visited the restaurant.

My only negative was the chewing gum I found under the table which transferred on to my shirt. Not nice.

All in all it was a better visit this time around and once we've going round all the local hotels we might well come back

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Austriancrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

should really be a very good but my experience let it down.
The positives; arrived with limited parking but advised car will be parked for us so very pleased.
The hotel is very central and it was great to walk out and be in the thick of things, especially as we arrived in a storm.
Reception staff are very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast in the restaurant was lovely looking onto the lake and was plentiful.
The hotel is old fashioned and we stayed in the old part at the front. Our room was small and very cold. My bath water was luke warm. We complained to the concierge who sent up a fan which broke when we switched it on, we were told there were no more, so we had to sit under the covers to watch the tv.
The bar was ok but could have done with some stools around the bar itself.
Having said all this I would return but only on a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanderrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel room and facilities were of a very good standard, beautiful views and location. Rooms booked with breakfast, was a huge disappointment entirely due to the extremely poor service. After over 20 mins of trying to get attention from staff to order cooked breakfast, the food was barely average and took over another 20 mins to turn up. Staff were not on form as even heard they were discussing with guests how late they were out the night before. Staff paid no attention to who needed service, walking blankly without an intent to serve, no ordered/structured system to their service. We were refused to have order taken by a waiter as it had to be a manager, however failed to grab his manager. It was a common thought, having spoken to other guests. Overall such a shame since as mentioned room, location and views were lovely. Hotel needs to reconsider training and organisation in the restaurant, we weren't willing to go for dinner as we we spent well over 1.5hrs in frustration at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pho-ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was the first Christmas my wife and I have spent away in a hotel and it was excellent. Accommodation, public rooms, spa, food and staff were all first class. At what is a very busy time of year a little patience is required at meal times and as we were in no rush to go anywhere we were happy to eat at a leisurely pace and enjoy the company.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing