We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great new year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another great new year”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Fabulous service & staff at this beautiful lake side hotel. This is our second New year here. We did not book the New year package as our girls are 9 & 13 & wouldn't really like the 6 course meal. The hotel is spotless throughout & nothing is too much for the staff. The spa & pool is beautiful, we spent many hours in there. The hotel is in the best position in Bowness next to the passenger cruisers & the shops. We are looking forward to our new Year break in 2014 already. May even take another break soon. Thank you

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    855
    457
    226
    141
See reviews for
486
1,750
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This was a surprise present from my wife, a trip to the lakes and a few nights in a comfortable hotel.
We had a great room facing the lake, which was very picturesque, despite the rain, wind and cold!

The breakfast was very good, plenty of things to choose from, service a little slow when crowded.

Dinner was nice, but expensive for what it was and a little cold in the restaurant.

Lots of outdoor and hiking shops with sales on.

We went on a good trip on a boat on the lake to another town, which was nice, but all the shops were the same chains. Nice lunch in a restaurant called the glass house then a walk and back on the boat with a bailey' shot chocolate!

Bloody cold, but good fun and amazing scenery.

I would like to visit again in summer, but it is heaving evidently. It was reasonably empty in the winter......when it is freezing and poring with rain!
Take you hiking boots and a good coat!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband booked this break between xmas and new year for 3 nights as we love the Lake District and thought it would be a nice time to go after a busy xmas. We chose this hotel for location and expecting a Macdonald 4star standard. We originally booked a feature room but upgraded to a feature suite nearer the time. The room was very spacious with a living room area with TVs there and in bedroom. The views were beautiful, bed comfy and everything clean. The bathroom was clean and ok, but for a suite in a 4* hotel these days lacked the WOW factor. Considering the cost of the room to have a crack in the basin poor tile grouting etc it just seems the whole room needs revamping. It could be stunning if a little effort and money spent on it. There are better rooms in other hotels for the price we paid where you would get roll top baths, walk in showers etc. hotels need to keep up with competition or they will get constant criticsm on sites such as this. We also had a problem with one of our radiator not being efficient so reported it to reception. They promptly gave us a temporary heater and sent maintainence to bleed rad within 15 minutes of reporting it. Having said all of the above, the staff we encountered were very efficient and helpful, in particular the valet who worked endlessly with guests cars in all weathers due to parking limitations. The breakfast was served ok for us and found it alright but perhaps have had more of a choice at buffets in the past. We didn't eat at the restaurant or drink in the bar as It didn't feel inviting or have any ambience. All in all we enjoyed our stay and our room and cannot fault the staff but probably wouldn't return to this hotel. Some places just grab you from day one but this one didn't.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious but not sure if worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBtravelmad59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days!
Staff were excellent - so kind towards the children and very helpful!
We would definitely book again!
This is the 2nd McDonald we have stayed in over 2 months and we love them!
Bedroom size was good and tea caddy was full to the brim!
Staff helped us with best places to visit and breakfast was lovely - great selection for children as well as adults!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

lovely hotel good breakfast but the dinners not as good as I expected location is in a very nice place rooms lovely and clean and very roomy the valet parking made things a lot easier not having to worry about the car

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Went to Old England for a evening do. Disappointed at lack of parking and how much the bar costs. I feel £6.50 excessive for a pint of larger and a very small lemonade!!! Nice setting but bloody expensive. Can't comment on food or rooms but can say service was very slack.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Allthebricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Went for a birthday treat, upgraded the room with a lake view, which was nice.
The hotel us very nice & the lake view unrivalled, the lounge area is lovely but bar drinks very expensive.
The breakfast was a poncey affair with cooked breakfast to order & continental type buffet.
Don't expect to get fat off the cooked breakfast!
The staff were in disarray, they didn't know who ordered what, toast wasn't toast (when you eventually got it) it was warmed bread.
Never had dinner as the prices were expensive & the wine even more so.
London hotel prices up north?
Go to local B&B next time.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robby-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing