We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 January 2014

After previous stay decided t use the conference facilities and the hotel for a business meeting with an overnight stay. The meeting room is excellent with great views over the kale. The room was well set up and Coffee breaks and lunch always perfectly on time. The twenty three delegates all enjoyed their stay and commented on how comfortable and clean their rooms were. The lounge is comfortable and inviting and made a lovely location to meet pre dinner. My comments would be that the bar is a little pricey (I am used to London prices) and the draught lager was flat on both evenings. I also echo the comments from previous reviewers that the bathrooms just require a little updating and modernising. In room 203 we had a lovely big room with separate lounge but the bathroom was cramped to say the least. Probably getting to old to have to stand in a bath to have a shower. That aside, excellent staff, reception brilliant and the conference organisation very thorough. I think we shall all look forward to returning.
Many Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms in the original building are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris49215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,118 - 2,124 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

An excellent hotel in a perfect location right on the lake. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff. Special mention to Vanessa and Mollie on reception who made organising a surprise meal very straight forward and couldn't do enough for us. Also Connor the barman is very good and very helpful. We had room 315 which is part of the extended wing. It's a superb view of the lake from here, although the bathroom is now looking a bit dated (although very clean). Pool facilities are excellent but access can be restricted at busy times. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickandPam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a lovely New Year at the hotel - one we know well from previous visits. 2 day event beginning on New years afternoon with afternoon tea with prosecco. Excellent dinner with lovely and innovative food and then all the usual events such as a bag piper, haggis and dancing. Following evening a good dinner with a nice choice. Lovely bedroom and very friendly and attentive staff. We walked both days and had a lovely time! will book for next year for sure!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drpeterr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We popped in for a drink. Nice lounge with a beautiful Christmas tree. Staff all friendly and welcoming. However very expensive for drinks! My husband felt they were charging more than London prices!
The toilets in the reception were horrible. No toilet paper and quite dated and smelly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mrshsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The location is perfect....... The valet parking is an absolute godsend as we didn't need a car for walking around the town etc for a few days. The staff are charming, very attentive and obliging. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean and well equipped which is a reflection on the good housekeeping. The beds are SO comfortable too !
The breakfast choice is excellent and the cooked items piping hot and plentiful. We did not eat in the hotel other than breakfast - because it was pricey but also because there is such a choice of restaurants in the town
The spa was a delight and the massage heavenly !
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break - feeling very relaxed now

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband had just been diagnosed with Coeliac Disease and as we had booked 4 nights over the new year months ago we were a little worried, we telephoned and informed them but when we arrived the staff were excellent. The New Year package was absolutely brilliant and when my husbands food arrived it looked identical to mine but the staff advised us that his was gluten and wheat free, we could not believe it and we could not have wished for more. We certainly would like to say a big thank you for such a wonderful time and being looked after so well. We had a room facing the lake it was lovely except for the rain but nothing could spoil such a wonderful time. We will back again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredaSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile


My wife and I popped in for a drink and food in the bar whilst waiting for our friends who were staying here.

I found the service to be welcoming as we were greeted and seated on our way in. We were served at the table and didn't need to get up once.

We ordered our food and sat and waited looking at the lake. And waited. And waited. And waited. The food came 45 minutes later which really was strange considering it was only a sandwich and chips. We didn't receive an apology or even a courtesy check. Pretty annoying. That coupled with the price of my beer I was a tad disappointed.

I have been in before and do love the view so might pop in again but maybe when I'm less hungry and on pay day

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeCobb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £111 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing