We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay but bad mistake by Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely stay but bad mistake by Hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend with our family to celebrate my Husbands birthday. I think the Hotel is a little tired furnishing wise particularly in the lounge and the bedrooms we were in, even though they were feature rooms with lovely views.

Everywhere was very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The pool area is very pleasant particularly after a wet day out!

We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant the food was delicious. The decor and views in the restaurant are lovely.

However the Hotel let themselves down badly A friend of many many years ordered two bottles of wine to be put on our table with a card as a gift to my Husband. This was obviously prepaid but did not happen. My friend asked if we enjoyed the wine and we of course had not had it I was so glad she asked or we would have not known. The hotel refunded the money but I would have expected some flowers or a gesture to be made but not so, as this moment cannot be repeated. Sadly the Lady who spoke to me just said well it just did not happen I do not know why and I will look into it but the moment has been lost and sadly she did not seem to appreciate that.
I cannot say it spoiled our weekend because we were not aware until we returned home but it has left an aftertaste.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Giraffefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,175
    834
    446
    218
    135
See reviews for
474
1,700
44
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 days here at Christmas and the whole experience was excellent.

We received a warm welcome at the door from the Bell Boy on our arrival, who then courteously valet parked our car free of charge.

We were checked in by a very friendly receptionist and then escorted to our freshly decorated and well sized room.

The food throughout our stay was excellent and the attentiveness of the staff was great....always calling back to our table to check that everything was good for us.

On Christmas Day my new born baby had a wonderful surprise as Father Christmas arrived to give her a present. I thought that this was a great touch from the hotel.

After a trip onto the Windermere Lake cruise, we returned to the hotel for our boxing day Gala Ball....once again being welcomed by great staff who served us a 6 course menu of fresh local food. The night was then finished off with a night of entertainment by a jazz band.

During our stay we also chose yo use the Health Club for a workout and also the swimming pool/spa/steam room for a relax...both facilities were modern, well equipped, very clean and well equipped.

Overall, a great all round experience.

Great hotel, friendly attentive staff, fresh food and an excellent location for visiting the area of Windermere and Bowness.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just come back from staying here for the weekend with my boyfriend for our anniversary. We had a lovely time!
We were very kindly upgraded to a suite with a view of lake windermere. Lovely room extremely comfortable bed! On our final night we got complimentary champagne and chocolates! Which was a lovely surprise!
The breakfast was lovely, hot and cold choices suits everyone!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful I forget the names of some of the girls when checking in but thank you for your help!
We'd most definitely be staying again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Although we had stayed often in the area, this was the first time we had stayed at this hotel. From arrival to departure we had a brilliant stay, all staff were attentive, polite and courteous. The room overlooking the lake was excellent, the resteraunt food on both evenings was to a very high standard, we also took advantage of the spa and treatments which were also very good although a little expensive. We will definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank delwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on a dinner bed and breakfast basis. We have stayed at several MacDonald hotels over the years and have always been satisfied. This time was no different. The check in was simple and we were shown to our lake view rooms by a very friendly and courteous porter. The rooms were nice although very slightly tired. The dinner menu had something to satisfy most people tastes. Breakfast was a buffet style set up with the option to have full english. The dining room overlooks the garden and lake making it a relaxing experience. I do however have a few words of caution to people with children. My daughter loves to swim and upon booking I was told that she could use the pool with little restriction. The reality was a very busy spa/healthclub with regular paying members who were obviously the main priority, not the hotel guests whom we felt were made to feel a bit of nuisance. My daughter managed 1 swim for which we returned from a day out early as children were not allowed in the pool after a certain time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantaluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived late & checked in without a problem; a valet took our car to the hotels secure car-park which was a blessing as navigating the roads around the hotel can be tricky. The room, whilst quite small was perfectly adequate & well appointed with a comfy bed.

As others have commented, the hotel is ideally situated, we had one drink in the bar, which was quite pricey & then went out to eat in one of the many restaurants within walking distance. When we returned we ordered two Irish coffees in the bar, which again were pricey but very nice!!

After a good nights sleep, we had breakfast in the dining room overlooking the lake; there was a nice choice & our food was cooked to order, which meant a short wait, however, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The waiting staff were efficient & polite.

We left quite early in the morning & our car was brought to the door within minutes of us asking for it.

We would return again & would recommend this hotel to friends & family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The pros - fantastic location, breathtaking view of the lake whilst having coffee in the bar or breakfast (or from your bedroom if like us you get a lake view), wonderful breakfast, lovely pool and spa area, great service and valet parking.
The cons - valet parking is a must as it gets very busy outside the hotel particularly at check out, the room was lovely but if I was being picky the bathroom was a little tired and finally the price. Outstanding as it is, I resent paying just over £500 for bed and breakfast for the weekend. If you are willing and able to pay the price this is a fabulous hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_and_Emma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing