We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$248
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$424
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$208
getaroom.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,096)
Filter reviews
3,096 results
Traveller rating
1,273
905
502
249
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
905
502
249
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceexecutive roomterrace barice roomrelaxation roomlake viewlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,225 - 2,230 of 3,096 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

From the moment we arrived wew were warmly welcomed, parking arranged and shown to our rooms. The staff could not do enough! The spa is first rate and extremely clean. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice and excellent waitress service. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a few days.

Room Tip: We suggest getting a room with a view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Staying at the All Season Guest House in Winderemere, but able to use the hotels facilities. Great Spa, with decent size pool, which at the time we arrived around Tuesday @ 3.00pm was reasonably quiet, but then around 4.00pm, started to get a little busier. Lovely steam room and sauna also ice room. (a little too cold for us though!!) Decided to sit in the bar area afterwards and have a coffee, (Costa!! The best) amazing views over looking the lake. Beautiful decor around the hotel, may consider staying here, at some point in the future. Thank you to all.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Entertainer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Came here for a spa day with a group of friends. Thoroughly enjoyed our day. Lovely decor throughout the spa and the relaxation room is just bliss. Friendly welcome and good treatment with lovely Elemis products. The lunch provided with champagne was excellent.

My only suggestion would be perhaps some more seating around pool area. We had nowhere to sit as was quite full so didn't stay in for long. Also was left quite a while on treatment bed before it began. I can see a hot tub out on that balcony also ;-)

Would come again

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_heart_travel_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here over the weekend. Booked through travel republic, but was a bit of a pain, as they had not got the rooms once booked, and had to ring 4 times to clarify things were right. and we still ended up paying more (301 pound for two b and b fri and sat.)
It was my sisters silver wedding, so was a treat.
The hotel was lovely, and valet parking, rooms were a little on the small side. Lovely bed linen, coffee, tea, and water.Some rooms priced at over 500 pounds though!. Staff lovely, food good, bacon a little thin, and small portion of beans, eggs cooked how you like, black pudding and toast and fried bread and tomato. The continental buffet was exceptional any cereal, meat, juice, yoghurt,fruit, so you wouldn't go hungry! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our double was bigger than an executive room and just as nice! and cheaper!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had a one night stay at the Old England and found this faultless in every way. The room was perfect and to very high standard with breathtaking views over Lake Windermere. Attention to detail in the room was first class in every way. The evening meal was served to perfection in lovely surroundings with the most attentive and pleasant staff we had ever had the pleasure of being served by. In general the staff we came into contact with throughout the hotel, in particular front of house were a credit to the management.

Room Tip: Room with lake view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews