We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

my partner and i stayed for 3 nights last week feb 17th. this is a really lovely hotel right by lake windermere. we got a winter warmer break which works out about half price. but the room was quite small with no view, just a small window at the top which you had to stand on the window sill to see out of! that is my only gripe but maybe you get what you pay for? the staff and service here are outstanding and a credit to the hotel. they cant do enough for you and always with a smile. car valeting too! i would stay here again most def if i could have aroom with a view :-)

Room Tip: room 219 no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taxianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    855
    456
    225
    141
See reviews for
486
1,749
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My wife and I, visited the Old England for a Spa Day on Friday 21st February 2014. The Spa facilities and treatment, were excellent, followed by a champagne lunch. We would definitely recommend. First class treatment and service throughout, and nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks. Kevin

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laytown
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

While the hotel is nicely located on the lake the rooms a very small and musty. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the bottom of the window was approximately 6 feet high so you had to climd up to see daylight. This resulted in a musty feel in the room which left it feeling very dated. Also the shower was intermittent. On the morning we checked out you could only have one temperature setting which was like boiling water. If we turned down the temperature of the water the water supply just stopped. Completely unusable. Normally I'm not too fussy when travelling but it was the high cost of the room which really made the room quality difficult to understand. Maybe if we could see out the window that might have helped to justify it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanRaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Whilst you found the location of the hotel to be ideally situated on the shores of the lake it was disappointing to hear that you did not find the room suitable during your stay. As a historic building we have many different styles of room with no two being the same. Each room type is categorised into five different standards which we hope offers our guest the right level of choice to select the most suitable room. We hope the pictures on our website reflect this choice. It was regrettable to see that you were affect by some water supply issues during your stay. Thankfully these isolated issues were resolved by our engineers once we were made aware.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the area soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed in room 23 for a birthday celebration - just beautiful and so spacious. Great room, super comfy bed and spectacular views. A great room for a special occasion. Staff were brilliant particularly Paul who offered great help to another couple in our party.
The hotel is a traditional English hotel, right in the heart of Bowness. The spa facilities were lovely and we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.
Breakfast was superb, more choice than you can imagine and no need to eat for the rest of the day! Service was great too with nothing too much trouble for anyone.
Only downside is what other reviewers have picked up on and that's the price of drinks in the hotel bar. Having said that the quaint and traditional atmosphere are inviting and welcoming. There are many bars and eateries a plenty all within a very short distance away.
Excellent stay and I'd highly recommend. We are now hooked on the Macdonald chain and hope to book in Manchester in March
Thank you

Room Tip: Room 23....high end but arguably the best room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed. Nice rooms and very good service, food was fantastic with lots of choice . i would definitely recommend this hotel for a short break to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a few days.

Room Tip: No fridge in the room which I find very strange in this day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I couldn't really find fault with this hotel. After a long drive, the valet parking was much appreciated. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - happy to organise all of our luggage to be taken up to our room, which was great with a 4 year old. Huge room with an extra bed for my daughter, with fridge and enormous bathroom with separate bath and shower. Pool and spa facilities absolutely fantastic, although a bit busy during the times that kids are allowed to swim (it is half term!). We went out for dinner (loads of hotels with a 5 min walk) but breakfast was amazing. A lovely hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visited this hotel briefly for a Spa day and being impressed at the time decided to come and stay for a few days.

Its a lovely hotel and we really enjoyed our stay here however there were a few negatives, which I want to get out of the way early.

Firstly there is no onsite parking, this isn't a major problem as they valet park your car elsewhere for you. However if (like us) you arrive at a busy time then its manic outside the front doors with many cars all trying to squeeze up the narrow road. You literally have to just abandon your car anywhere you can. I ended up leaving mine on double yellow lines whilst we checked in. Secondly breakfast.....whilst the food is generally good the sheer volume of people can result in it taking an age to arrive. On our second day we were a little later going for breakfast, after a small wait to get a table we were brought tea/coffee and ordered our main breakfast. We then helped ourselves to juice and fruit etc and the waitress brought our toast. We were sat waiting over an hour for the cooked breakfast to arrive. Don't get me wrong, its not down to poor service at all just simply the vast amount of guests for a relatively small breakfast area. Also because of this the staff are trying to clear tables as quickly as possible which sometimes results in lots of plates clattering enough noise to drown out the sound of your own thoughts. Final negative and it is a small one granted, is that at times the free cloud internet was very slow, I could have written an email on paper, strapped it too one of the windermere swans and had it flown to its destination before I could even connect to the internet. However, thats the end of my rant.....

Everything else in the hotel was great. The room that we booked had a lake view which was lovely, the room was spacious and clean also the bed was very comfortable. The staff at the hotel especially in the bar could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

The bar area itself is a great location to relax, read and generally take in the lovely views of the lake whilst enjoying a beer or coffee.

All in all a great relaxing stay. I would stay at this hotel again I would probably just plan my arrival time better and ensure we went for breakfast earlier.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing