We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warrington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in the Lakes”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I use Macdonalds hotels for work (Media) because they are always a high standard and the staff are excellent. I have joined the Macdonalds club so used some points to take my Wife away for a night. This is our Silver Wedding Year so we wanted a treat and we got it. We went into the Bar which has a beautiful view of the Lake. we had planned a trip on a boat but were so at ease in the surroundings we sat for 4 hours talking and watching the beauty of the lakes. the room, a feature Suite had a similar view and was excellently equipped.We had a plenty of room. Dinner was excellent, we sat in the modern dining room that has huge windows looking out onto the lake.The food was to the high standard i expect.. Breakfast in the same location was again spot on.. Like all hotels in the Chain have very high standards across the board but i feel it is the Staff that always stand out. Service is so easy to get right and whoever trains the staff does it just right. Polite helpful friendly without being stuffy.. Macdonalds hotels have a taken over many classic hotels and given them their distinctive refurbishment. Im very surprised that comments made about this hotel seem to ignore this is a classic Victorian hotel. It is modernised but you feel you could be sat next to Sherlock Holmes. This is a Victorian Gem but given the right treatment. I would highly recommend this to overseas visitors who want to see the lakes but experience something of that magical era of Britain 100 years ago. Location is superb right next to the waterfront with hotel parking nearby.. I have read some comments and cannot agree. We had a fantastic stay that was faultless. We are planning to go again soon and would urge you to make up your own mind. Thank you for a great stay !

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite overlooking the Lake. Beautiful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    841
    449
    221
    136
See reviews for
477
1,722
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Don't go there. No brandy at the bar. Had to wait 2 hours for them to get some. The service - Over 3 hours for a 3 course meal!!! The soup was tasteless, the beef was burnt to a crisp. Crammed in so the waitresses struggled to get to the tables. Drink spilt all over dress by waiter who couldn't even apologise. Management who could only apologise ang give no explanation to why the service and quality of food was so poor. Very poor quality for the money. My advice is stay well clear.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank princess-stacy-april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We were sorry to hear that you found cause to complain about a recent function you attend at the hotel. Your comments will of course be reviewed by the team to understand what needs to happen differently in the future. Should you require your evening wear to be cleaned professionally please do not hesitate to contact us direct to make the necessary arrangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent location with very good staff throughout our stay. Food good especially breakfast. Room disappointing, booked a Feature Suite it was never a suite only a spacious room with an excellent view of lake. Room has all the necessary items and was clean. Too small for a suite, no turn down service or no early evening canapés as advertised. Bed was also small and uncomfortable not what you expect for a 4 Star Hotel. There must be better in this area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We were pleased to hear you found the location and team at the hotel to be very good and that our breakfast deserved a special mention. We will investigate the comments you raise regarding turndown & canapé service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Aside from a friendly chap named Ernest who works here, I'm not sure I have much good to share about Old Macdonald. The downstairs was nice, and the breakfast was very nice, but the rooms....ehhhhhhh....pretty much the worst feng shui possible. We received a room that was extremely cramped with Victorian haunted house furnishings. The bed squeaked when you sat on it. Our room looked out at a brick wall, and we were serenaded to sleep by pubgoers who were drinking beneath our bedroom window all night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Have visited Bowness several times, I love it. First time at the Old England and overall it was an enjoyable stay. The staff were excellent very attentative and helpful. I particularly liked the views from the hotel as it's right on the lake and we had upgraded to a lake view room. Used the spa once which was good and would have used it more had it not been for the glorious weather so we made the most of the outdoors. The room was good, comfortable bed, some minor cosmetic faults but this did not spoil our stay. Would I stay again...only if I could get a good deal as on this occasion, the bar prices are expensive but there a lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. This was a treat for my birthday which along with the good weather made for a lovely break.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Booked the McDonald as a change from our usual hotel as of its location.
Smack bang in the middle of Windermere with great views of the lake.
We booked in and were allocated our room 221 on the second floor, quite small but ok.
We headed to the bar for a few drinks.
We ordered a Guinness and black £4.85 +£1 and a Budweiser and black £4.25+£1 nearly fell over when we got the bill !!
The drinks in this place are so expensive,
We ventured to eat out on return my wife wanted a cup of tea, we entered the bar ordered a pot of tea and a coke.
The bill came £9:50 and £3.25 !!!
Nearly fell over!
Eventually headed off to bed and we had/didn't have the worst nights sleep ever, we checked out the next day and headed straight home for a sleep!!.
I would not recommend you stay at this hotel, the beds are terrible and the drinks sooooo expensive.
We even mentioned our poor nights sleep to reception but didn't get a sorry!
Very poor !!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Pilkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I had booked a couple of nights B&B and evening meal for my mum's birthday, whilst recovering from a major illness. Meet and greet was efficient and the concierge parks your car for you. Both our rooms had the lovely lake view, as requested. We stayed here for the first time over 23 years ago and the decor and furnishings were just the same - hence now they are looking tired and worn and could do with refreshing. The towels were fab, as was the white bed linen - however they then put tired, horribly coloured throws at the bottom of the beds!?

The restaurant markets itself as fine dining. However, there are no white table cloths for dinner - just dark, chipped at the edges tables. Not good. The two nights we were there we were cold while dining. There is a lovely view but, unfortunately, no ambience. The quality of food was rather good but portions very small and it is not cheap. Menu choice quite limited.

The bar/lounge area is a lovely, grand room with the lake view - here, again, starting to look a bit tired and in need of a refurb - however, still a relaxing area with brilliant staff.

Mum had two treatments at the 'spa' - the waiting room is quite a relaxing space. The pool is adequate for a good swim - not much room around to lounge though. It really is beauty rooms and a pool rather than a 'Spa'.

I had specifically made the hotel aware that this was a special birthday for Mum at the time of booking and they said they would note this, but there was no acknowledgement during our stay, which was a disappointment.

Room Tip: High rooms with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessaNearLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing