We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel was lovely our room was very nice over looking lake went for breakfast the following morning half of my cooked breakfast was missing my husband asked for porched egg it was like a golf ball when it came what a disaster no staff came over to see if it was ok ......

For the price it cost to stay breakfast was a big let down won't be back ...........

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,968 - 1,974 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a lovely 4 star hotel right on the banks of Lake Windermere. Our feature room had two double beds and a lovely view over the gardens and Lake. My car was valet parked free of charge and brought to reception when I needed it. We did not eat in the restaurants but the breakfast was very nice. There is a very good, full service spa with a gym and a lovely indoor pool which my 5 year old daughter loved. Nice Hotel in a great location to enjoy everything Lake Windermere has to offer.

Room Tip: Feature rooms have lovely views but no lifts in this part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your families’ lovely experience at the hotel. We are pleased you were able to take full advantage of the spa facilities and that your daughter enjoyed them especially. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my wife while passing through the Lake District, as recommended by a family member. Staff are very friendly and quick to assist. The rooms are modern with everything you need (we stayed in a feature room facing the lake), the hotel corridors are very 'old English' with it's patterned carpet, wooden room doors and painted portraits. The spa, gym and pool facilities are first class and modern. The food is well...you get what you pay for, the menu may seem expensive but the quality and taste is well worth it!

The hotel is situated right next to the lake, so it's a 5 minute walk to get on a boat tour and the hotel is surrounded by a range of restaurants if you wish to dine our of the hotel.

Overall, great service, food and experience. Will be returning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CountryBurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful review. The team enjoyed hearing your praise for the food and summary of our Grand, Old England Hotel.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We ate here a couple of weeks ago to celebrate my Dad's 70th birthday. Although we weren't staying at the hotel we could not have been better looked after.
We had a private dining room with stunning views of the Lake.
The service was attentive but not over the top; the fabulous service made the evening.
The food was fantastic, everyone raved about their meals.
We couldn't have been better looked after. Thank you so much for making such a memorable family evening. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MrsPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

It was wonderful to read your review of special birthday celebration in our lake side restaurant. Excellent food and superb service. I look forward to sharing this with my team. Thank you and hope that next time you may get the opportunity to stay longer and try the rest of the hotels facilities.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a family room. The room was very clean and had an amazing view of the lake from the window. However for what we paid for one night the room was very tired in parts (carpet coming away from edges and the bathroom was dated). Please be careful if the shower is used with children as it either was extremely hot or cold - there was no happy medium?!! Room 318. We did book last minute however and was told that there is a new part to the hotel. The staff were all really helpful at this hotel and the facilities are lovely. The ice room needs a little bit of attention to the tiles. Would I stay at this hotel again - sure but would make it a priority to pre-book

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your review regarding the amazing views and cleanliness of the hotel. With over 100 rooms and no two being the same we are continuously investing and upgrading our bedrooms. Your comments about your room will of course be taken under consideration as part of our ongoing programme.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely hotel right on the lake with wonderful views. Big rooms with comfortable beds. Good bathroom with a bath and separate shower always a plus. Lovely bar and lounge area to relax in.
Outdoor terrace with wonderful views of the lake. I would like to mention the reception staff in particular and thank them for their hospitality and a big thank you to the bar staff for the best Bloody Mary in England.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

I will be sure to share your kind words of praise with the team at the hotel. It was lovely to read your review of the cocktail lounge and outdoor terrace and in particular awarding us the “Best Bloody Mary in England.” Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and i had the pleasure of a four night stay recently and came away well satisfied with the hotel and service. Firstly the hotels location cannot be bettered as it is right on lakeside alongside the lake cruise terminal in bowness. Facilities range from a superb indoor swimming pool with steam room, sauna and gym to a large lounge bar with outdoor terrace overlooking the lake. There is a large lawned area with ample outdoor chairs and tables. We stayed in a superior room wich overlooked the lake and was very quiet, the bathroom was of good size with shower over the bath. Breakfast was the only meal we had at the hotel wich was on a par with most hotels of this class ie choice of fruit, continental and full english. Staff were all friendly and helpful and check in and out were both completed in a minute. When we were looking for a hotel this was not the cheapest but we both agreed we would stay there again

Room Tip: lake facing rooms are probably worth the extra for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed our “Perfect Lakeside location, Superb indoor spa and Outdoor Terrace & Lounges ,” I am pleased that you had the opportunity to take advantage of one of our lake view executive rooms for your 4 night stay. Thank you again for sharing this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £109 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing