We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corporate Entertaining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had this hotel booked for the 27 May for the purpose of corporate entertaining. Rooms were lovely and hotel pool and sauna excellent. Reception staff were friendly but that was about it. Breakfast in the morning was a disaster. Arrived at our table to find one of the seats was below a faulty light which could only be described as 70's disco. We mentioned this to the waitress who just wasn't interested. No one could sit there to eat as it was just too distracting, We waited half an hour and no one came to take our cooked breakfast order so we had to find someone. We then had to wait another half hour for the food to be brought to the table. The breakfasts we received were not what was ordered, the poached eggs were like ping pong balls and the sausages weren't cooked properly. A colleague was brought a bowl of porridge with a bowl of something on the side that looked liked parmesan cheese. When he asked the waiter what it was he was told it was cheese, with porridge?!! It turned out to be a bowl of nuts so it was good job he was not allergic. A nice hotel but the waiting staff need a bit more training especially when you think what you are paying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,917 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked a two night stay in the executive room over looking the lake. It had been nicely refurbished, however it was extremely hot at night, forcing us to sleep with the balcony door open. They had provided a coffee machine in the room which did not work, and did not have a replacement machine for us. After reading rave reviews about the food, we had dinner in the restaurant. For starters we had soup for £7.50, It was completely flavourless, in addition we had to pay £3.50 for bread! Our main course was also bland. We paid £25 for the steak, and had to pay an additional £3.50 for peppercorn sauce and £4.00 for sides. The meal cost £115 for two, with only one glass of wine. We mentioned to the waiter about the lack of seasoning, his response was simply 'ok'. During breakfast we waited 20 mins to be served tea and toast. The couple next to us had waited 40 mins. The staff lacked any form of customer service training. They would not even apologise when a complaint was made. We overheard one lady tell the receptionist whilst checking out, that her room was far too hot even with a fan, and the receptionist said 'not a problem, I'll let the manager know!' No apology at all. This two night stay cost nearly £500. It was extremely disappointing, overpriced and lacked customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Savanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel but we did have dinner there. We hadn't booked anywhere to eat so found ourselves struggling to find a table as most places seemed to stop taking bookings at 9.00pm. The Old England were able to accommodate us so we decided to give it a go. First impressions weren't great as we were made to wait at the desk while a member of staff finished completing a form. He did get to us eventually and we were led into the dining room, which while overly hot, does have a beautiful view of the lake. The menu is relatively expensive so my expectations were high. We both ordered the lamb shank and were both disappointed. At £20+ a portion you would expect the chef to be able to make a sauce. The meat itself was lovely but the sauce hadn't been reduced and was bitter and sharp. My husband had to spit the cabbage out as he found it so sharp. The waitress service till this point had been friendly and attentive. However, when a waitress came and asked how the meal was, I told her this and found she wasn't able to offer an apology and simply said she would tell the chef. I would expect any restaurant worth its salt to have done more than this and at least offer an apology and try and fix the problem. Overall, it's not somewhere I would recommend to a friend and I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Only two staff in lounge totally uninterested and happy to talk to each other.
Over 30 minutes to get a sandwich.
Dirty toilets and spa changing rooms untidy.
Hotel clearly has neither skilled or competent management.
I cannot rate our experience any lower or I would.
Never again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

When booking the hotel I had been concerned that it would be noisy considering it is in the heart of Bowness. However the place was tranquil and very relaxing. The added bonus was everything was within a minutes walk from the hotel, cruises, shops and lakeside walks. The room we stayed in had a window wall to wall so that lying in bed all you could see was the lake, very peaceful watching the boats slip in and out of the jetties. The bathroom was starting to look a little tired but nonetheless was spotless. The rest of the room was comfortable. We ate in the hotels restaurant twice in the evening and both food and service were of a high standard. At the risk of sounding repetitive the view from the restaurant was gorgeous. Breakfast was a little muddled when it was a buffet, people getting the wrong food, kitchen cooked options not being delivered in time with people getting their buffet options but when the service went back to "cook to order" everything was fine. The pool has a swimming pool with sauna and steam room, all in excellent condition. We also enjoyed a very relaxing treatment in the spa. In summary a wonderful stay in a hotel that has hard to beat views.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikP61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel superb rooms, receptionists superb as well as young lady in restaurant think her name was Helen - petite with long black hair - as for the rest extremely disappointing service in lounge and restaurant, if Helen wasnt trying to look after us so well it would have been a total disaster. Our meal for 8pm no served till after 9pm lady in charge never came near until we had a complaint about hair in food, and breakfast only 2 out of 10 had correct order given - not impressed, took away the idealic setting and surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JILL m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay for one night. The rooms had been updated, were clean and we enjoyed sleeping in a king size bed. The view of the lake from our room was stunning. The only down side was that the room was uncomfortably warm even with having the fan on all night and the window open.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
473 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £108 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing