We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,096)
Filter reviews
3,096 results
Traveller rating
1,273
905
502
249
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,273
905
502
249
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceexecutive roomterrace barice roomrelaxation roomlake viewlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,123 - 2,128 of 3,096 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here 10 June for 2 nights in a deluxe room (202),good hotel ,good staff but expensive for food and drink.But!,if any of your party have mobility problems think twice.The terrace and gardens are very difficult to access,and in this modern age the hotel has no accessible toilet in public areas,which is a poor state of affairs for a supposed class hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the macdonald old England for our mini moon. The hotel is gorgeous, the location couldn't be any better. The lobby, lounge and patio area outside are really well maintained and well decorated. We stayed in a feature room which if I'm completely honest was a little outdated and the bathroom probably needed a revamp however, the views were amazing looking right over the lake with a huge full wall width window. The room was clean and the bed was comfy.
We ate at the restaurant on one night and the food was fantastic! The staff were really attentive and made a fuss as they knew we had just got married. The breakfast was also great, the sausages tasted incredible! All really top quality food.
We also used the spa and had treatments. It was a little pricey but definitely worth it if you want to treat yourself.
On the whole would recommend this hotel. We had a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hannah_banannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The poor experience started from the time we arrived. There was nowhere to stop and unload the luggage from the car. The road in front of the hotel is a public thoroughfare. They offer valet parking, with no valet visible when we arrived. My daughter was subjected to insulting comments from other drivers as our car was blocking the road whilst I tried to get help from the reception desk regarding valet parking. So our initial experience was a negative one. The reception service was poor throughout our three night stay. We booked two rooms 301 and 302 which had fantastic lake views, unfortunately that is all they had going for them. The shower took ten minutes to get warm enough to use. The rooms need updating.
I can recommend the restaurant, it lived up to our expectations in quality of the food and service. We booked spa treatments which were average. Our overall experience left us feeling that we had paid for a four star hotel and received a two star stay.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room numbers 300+
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wamonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have visited this hotel for the past 5 years and it is still one of the best. The room was spacious, the bed was massive and it was lovely and clean. There are lots of nice touches like the wine glasses, water glasses and bottled water. The bathroom was a little worn with loose tiles but this did not upset us as we are aware the rooms are being upgraded where required and it was all cleaned to a high standard. The view was over the lawn, boats and lake, it was spectacular as the window was the width of the room!
We had an evening meal and breakfast, these were lovely the breakfast was a buffet style full english and you can request poached/fried eggs and black pudding if you want as these are not on the buffet. All the staff were found to be very helpful and polite they even parked our car and brought it back when we requested it. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here 14th May for our wedding anniversary, as a special occasion we upgraded to a luxury room. There was nothing luxury about it, it had a very small window lake view so I failed to see what was luxury about it was the same standard as any other room with lake view. We did raise concerns with reception and wear offered another room but it was the same room just a floor up so no different. We had the worst nights sleep as the room was stifling hot and there is no air conditioning only a window that opens about 2 inches. Again we raised this with reception who dismissed it by saying it was shot night. The worst part is that I emailed the hotel upon return to raise concerns with them only to not revive a response so I sent a further email name yet again no response from ignorant staff. Complete rip off for poor rooms. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tixy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews