We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrace Lounge rip off !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
york
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Terrace Lounge rip off !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and i visited the Spa at this hotel and that is review for another day but before leaving we called in to the Terrace Bar for some lunch. Nice surroundings , obviously think they are something special, pleasant staff but dreadfull , overpriced food. The couple on the next table where in a discussion with the Duty Manager as their hot food was inedible , we tried the sandwiches , what a mistake . £7 for cheese and pickle sandwiche, i don't think so ; wouldn't have minded if they had been of a good quality but the bread was dry , cheese thinly sliced and describing 2 pieces of soggy lettuce as with salad is taking the micky. Avoid this overpriced hotel , far better eating places to be found in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,857 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    846
    455
    223
    137
See reviews for
479
1,737
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visit countries all over Europe and, on Sunday mornings, we always visit the local hotel to get a coffee as many coffee shops don't open until 11ish. We have NEVER had a problem from in countries from Norway to Russia. After three weeks travelling outside England we arrived at Bowness on a coach tour from the ship at 9.45am. The Old England Hotel, the nearest hotel to the lake, was in a stunning location and and we went in. The receptionist greeted usand when we asked if coffee was available she told us "Of course. Please go into the lounge and someone will come to you." So far so good. Another four folk were also directed into the lounge. We only had 40 minutes before the Windermere Lake cruise boat left and so, after waiting a good 5 minutes for the lady at the bar to acknowledge us, I went to order. "I don't start officially until 10am as I have to ddeal with the till" was the only reply I got. Back at Reception my husband asked for the manager. A duty manager and associate arrived and said that in this 4* hotel no coffee was available!!!!! We were determined that coffee would be available.....After a few quiet words in his ear by six less than satisfied folk he said he would make the coffees himself. Ten minutes later he arrived. Our drinks were at hotel prices (cafe latte @ £3.75; a cup of tea @ £3.35) with no hotel service. On the plus side the lounge had comfy seats with lovely views and the toilets in the basement were of an excellent standard and there was a lift for access. What a shame that in England we cannot match the service from elsewhere in Europe. A foreigner would not have had the linguistic skills to "encourage" the availabliity of coffee. If the reseptionist had known what was available and when all the annoyance could have been avoided. On our next holiday in the Lake District this hotel WILL NOT be on our list of places to stay. What is so difficult about coffee at 9.45am for a 4* hotel????

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a special offer. We were greeted by a valet who took our bags and arranged for the car to be parked in their car park. Reception were very friendly and welcoming. The room we were given exceeded my expectations! Apart from the kingsize bed there was a sofa, arm chair and round table. The bathroom was lovely - big shower cubicle and bath. Very clean and spacious. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right next to the shops, restaurants and bars. Walking distance to the lakeside for cruises etc too.

Wonderful stay and would definitely recommend. We will be staying here again.

Room Tip: We were on 2nd floor - but a long walk from the lift. Small window overlooked lake. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorkin2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly... We booked a standard twin. This hotel is obviously very grand with grand prices. We dropped our bags off at 10.30am. They put them in a room to the left inside the main door. This room was not locked. We noticed that reception was unmanned several times when we walked past, so anybody could access this room.
However when we checked in(they gave us our room early big plus) they gave us room 219. (Old building).We went to it and were extremely dissatisfied with it. It was extremely small and had a tiny window at the top of the wall , which you couldn't see out of. It was also worn and shabby. This wasn't acceptable even for a standard twin.
We went to reception and spoke to them . (This made us late /so we had to alter the spa treatment times.)
The old part of the hotel in General has some very run down areas, corridors, lifts, shabby etc... The bars, etc were ok.
The spa was fantastic, the staff upgraded our treatments and even went to help us get a better room. The facilities and treatments were excellent.
Back at reception they gave us a key to room 12. This was in the new section of the hotel. This room was what we expected to have in the first place.
The bar .. We expect to pay slightly more, however £15 for a glass of pimms and a Bacardi and coke was disgusting.
Breakfast was awful. Burnt bacon, very fatty sausage, probably the worst full english we have ever had.
Overall I would go back to the spa but that's it.
There are much better hotels in that area, similar setting, much cheaper. I don't mind paying more if ifs just deserved but this hotel certainly wasn't

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GIZMO1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has too take drastic steps immediately to change first of all the receptionist Mr.Paul. who was more appropriate to be a prison warden. He had no smile or any body language, a robot could have more warmth as any inquiry was answered as though we were intruding on his private property. I paid £ 647 for two rooms and was told that we are upgraded. I was shocked when I went inside my room as it was not facing the lake but chimneys, garbage and roof of other hotels looking at small street. No A/c and when I insisted they agreed to give me one lake facing room on paying £100 extra per night. It looked as though Mr.Paul was doing me a big favour. I agreed to pay if they could get me both rooms next to each other as I could not leave my daughter alone in a separate room far away in a different wing, but he went on saying the hotel is full. late in the evening a group checked in and I was surprised as now rooms were available and Mr. Paul could not give us 02 rooms next to each other even after paying £100 extra per night per room. In total a very bad experience never ever will visit or recommend this hotel to any friends.

Room Tip: NO A/C and South facing rooms 141 & 142 overlooks the garbage box and back streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoBilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Do not buy a drink in the hotel bar unless money is no object for you. I ordered two small bottles of beer and a small glass of wine and was charged £16.65 by the staff member who told me the price immediately before going to the till and who did not give me a receipt afterwards. These prices would make some of the London hotels I've stayed in blush. As for the food... It wasn't even mediocre. The lamb on the bone was overcooked, bland and served with a little splat of cabbage and creamed potatoes. The fig dessert was a sloppy mess of tiny fruit portions, crumbled toffee candy and a minuscule blob of poor quality ice cream. The one redeeming aspect of my visit was the superb car parking assistance. The location is good but with a great choice of local pubs and restaurants you'd be better off taking your custom elsewhere where you won't feel you've been ripped off and disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dilolwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirupati, India
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The room we stayed in was a lake view room and as promised we had a full view of the Windermere lake. The section of the hotel our room was in, did not have a lift,so we had to lug our bags to the top floor . The bed was a small double bed not really sufficient for 2 people.oour 12yr old son was travelling with us and our room had a small closet room with a bunk bed which was more like youth hostel bed. The day we went was a very sunny day and people kept telling us how lucky we were, but the room wes so hot and there is no air conditioning . How can I expect anA/c when ther is no lift. It was claustrophobic especially in the the small room or closet for my son.they provided us with fans later.The breakfast was okay .The view of the lake from the restraunt is great. It's very close to the boat activities and to the town bowness.

Room Tip: Definitely a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhavana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing