We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing romantic trip away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing romantic trip away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned today from staying over night at the old England for my anniversary surprise booked by my boyfriend. From the moment we arrived everything was first class and I was totally besotted with the hotel and it's surroundings. The location couldn't be better right on the lake and tucked into a street just off the main road running through Windermere with lots of local amenities on its door step. Our room was huge and the bed was to die for! A large bathroom... All spotlessly clean. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, steak was amazing then had a drink or two in the bar whilst sat looking across the lake in beautiful surroundings. Can't wait to return and to use the spa next time. Would recommend highly for those wanting a romantic getaway in a traditional setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    826
    442
    214
    134
See reviews for
471
1,681
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great location within 2 minutes walking distance of the pier from where you can get the ferry to the other towns. Food in the restaurant was amazing both dinner and breakfast. Hotel staff very helpful, rooms spotless. Will definitely be staying again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Has to be one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a long while. From the room overlooking the lake and the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge area it really is a place to chill out and I'll definitely be going again!

Room Tip: Try to get a lake view room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldoak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have had afternoon tea here regular and its always a pleasure.
The service provided has a hint of oldie world manners and respect often missing today - the team here should be very proud.
The ambience is great and the toilets are worthy of a special mention for cleanliness.
At the weekend we bobbed in for an afternoon drink on the patio - great service, great view and not extortionate.
A gem in the centre of Bowness

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooleynuts969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I booked this hotel as an anniversary present for my wife. I paid extra for the view of the Lake and breakfast. I wish i did not bother. The room we had initially was beautiful.. a great view of the Lake. However, we found that the hot water was not working. We then got moved to a room with of the garden (not what i paid for). I complained and then was shown a different room, which was smaller and on the second floor and a poor view. They did not even offer a better or equal room and as a regular visitor at Macdonald hotels, i was very disappointed. The breakfast was even worse. Bacon was tough and i paid nearly 60 quid for breakfast for me and wife in advance. I ended up counting my losses and having breakfast at a local cafe. (which was so much better).
Overall, if you ask for a 'Lake view' room, make sure you get Room numbers 301-308. They are the best. Do not pay for any other Lake view rooms, as they are either on the second floor, or a view of the park. Also, i would not bother with breakfast. If i had my original room and breakfast was good, i would have definitely have given a rating of 4, as the hotel is in a perfect location. The bar staff and the cleaners are extremely friendly. The staff at reception did not really assist at all. The Spa was good but pricey. So in conclusion, the rooms are nice but if i paid extra for a lake view.. i would like one.

Room Tip: 301-308 for lovely views of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel clean, extremely well appointed, and beautifully situated overlooking Lake Windermere.Upgrading to a suite was a very pleasant surprise. As were the daily glasses of champagne. Staff pleasant and helpful. Some extremely so. BUT, unfortunately, our evening meals were very disappointing, and that's being kind. Although our complaints were handled well it was obvious that there was a serious problem behind the kitchen doors! We would revisit this hotel for the positives listed but our dinners would take place elsewhere.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake. Other views poor. Suite excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location. Lovely rooms. My husband and I visited for 2 nights. We had lunch and wine in the lounge which was nice. Our room had a partial lake view we would stay again it's right on the lake lots of shops and restaurants very close by

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irvnschof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing