We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and also enjoyed a meal one evening as well as breakfast. The whole place is really a throwback to another time but if you like that kind of thing and are willing to pay for it then they do a great job. Very professional reception and everyone was very nice.

The hotel does its bit as well, beautiful location and were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the lake. Again worth the money.

They do offer a good deal for two nights stay with evening meal, breakfast and an afternoon tea which would be great value but just be careful its not available Friday Saturday Sunday. The hotel website gives an illusion you can book it on the Thursday but you can't and it's no cancellation/refund. Just mentioning as it did leave a sour taste.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Filb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    834
    445
    218
    135
See reviews for
474
1,699
44
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland,england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just returned from this wonderful hotel today, I took my husband for his 60th birthday.
We stayed for two nights in a double executive room, we had a lovely view of the lake from our room, the bed was so amazingly comfortable , with pillows that I must hunt down and purchase for home
The room contained everything you could need, iron/ ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, trouser press, flat screen tv, kettle and nespresso machine which I thought was a lovely touch , the bathroom has a huge shower cubicle and separate bath , and some lovely complimentary toiletries
The hotel itself is just so comfortable, lovely squishy sofas in the bar , plush carpeting, the attention to detail is fantastic .
The staff are amazing , from front of house staff to porters, housekeepers , waiting staff in the dining areas everyone is so helpful and always have a smile for you .
The spa is lovely, although we did not have any treatments the gym , saunas ( there are 3, ice, aroma and rock !) and the pool are clean and well maintained .
I cannot wait to return ☺️
Give it a try , you won't regret it

Room Tip: We had room 237 with a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wow how nice was this place . They parked the car for me I felt like the king lol
We had a rub down and drank there also had a meal there .. fantastic .

Plus its in the centre so we can walk to the lake and potter around town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On a glorious summers afternoon we decided to just walk into this hotel to enjoy a drink on their terrace which afforded fantastic views over Lake Windermere.

We ordered a pint of Amstel and a gin and tonic expecting the price to be more expensive than a run of the mill pub which it was.This was our trade off for using the hotel terrace and it was worth it.

We found the young bar staff to be very welcoming and where even approached by one male member of staff on the verandah who enquired if everything was to our liking, he was a lovely lad with curly hair and thanked us for our service. It made us want to return for an overnight stay, we felt valued.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Staff are amazing, so friendly and made us feel welcome from the very start. Staff on reception (sorry can't remember the lady or gentleman's names) were lovely and so helpful, the maids always had a smile when you passed and the gentleman who took our car to be parked was very polite and again professional. We were celebrating our first anniversary and arrived to card handwritten to us from the hotel, a lovely touch, thank you. The rooms are of a high standard, nicely decorated and spotless. We had breakfast on both mornings and found a great selection including cereals, pastries and full English option. Only criticism was that service was a bit slow on the second morning but they were very busy and did apologise for our wait. We had dinner on the second evening and were impressed by the service we received. It is pricey but we did have a lovely view across the lake and were treated like royalty by staff Laura and Pawl. Our sirloin steaks were cooked to perfection and the sticky toffee pudding was one of the best I have had. I would definitely return here as the location is perfect with a good variety of shops, restaurants and bars right on your doorstep. We did not have time to use the swimming pool or gym and chose not to go to the spa as we felt the prices were far too expensive and not something we are really into but would have tried had there been some cheaper options available. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for helping to make our stay enjoyable and memorable for the right reasons, it is so nice to visit a place were people really do care about the service they provide and this needs to be recognised more often.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms well worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is in beautiful surroundings overlooking the lake, gardens are lovely and well kept. Our room was pleasant enough but a wee bit short of the finer touches we had been led to believe would be there. Toiletries were there on first day but were not replaced after we had used them. The staff varied from being gruff to gushy friendliness I don't know which is worse! The food although quite nice was not varied at all, there were only 4 choices for each course and it was the same menu both nights we were there, I wouldn't have liked to have been there a third night as the choices would have become boring. We thought that all in all it was very expensive for what we got as our bill was just over £800 for our 2 night stay. We missed having access to WiFi as to get it we had to sign a contract with Sky so decided against it. The hotel has no AC anywhere and as we were there during the hottest weekend of summer the room was stifling, thankfully had french doors onto a little balcony which we could leave open. Disappointed as we use the Macdonald chain often and have really enjoyed their other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaforth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Sited on the banks of the lake with lovely views of the boats/wildlife and with carefully manicured gardens its a the perfect spot for a treat, the staff are tops and nothing is too much trouble, call in for afternoon tea or stay a while - you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: you cannot go wrong - just enjoy yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing