We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location location location”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here about 5 times and it's a great hotel. Situated on the lake, it's a luxurious, pretty opulent hotel, not modern but not dated, just very classy. The rooms are comfortable, the lake views are amazing if you're lucky enough to get one. The rooms can vary, we have always had a standard family room and sometimes we have had a king size bed and sometimes a queen, sometimes a lake view and sometimes a side view it just seems to be luck of the draw. The spa is nice with a large pool and outside terrace. Breakfast is tasty and fairly varied. I did hear a man complain that you only get one of everything with the full English and he sent it back. One was enough for me. The views are incredible at breakfast. The staff are average, we didn't have the best service, we were told the pool opened at 10 and waited around only for the pool staff to them tell us there was a class until 11 which always seems to be the case. My only real concern was that the hotel doesn't have air con at all and with it being so hot at the moment I barely slept with the small fan they provide. If the staff were better and they had air con I'd have given 5 stars.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fi55be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    846
    455
    222
    136
See reviews for
479
1,733
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

As Mother of the Bride,my family,friends and other guests have just spent an amazing 3 days at this hotel. Our journey began 12mths ago when after viewing several hotels, my daughter & her fiancé decided this was to be the place for their wedding. We have throughout that time liaised with Michelle, Kim & Kelly (Hotel Wedding Co-ordinators) who made all the necessary arrangements. Each guest booking with the hotel had a Lake view which was stunning,upgraded rooms are also superb,decorated with the very best contemporary furnishings. The wedding service ran like clockwork, after drinks,canapés and photographs on the lawn then later the wedding breakfast. The staff had worked hard to turn the room round and tables were decorated beautifully. We were also provided with the most professional and friendly toast master, Alan. There were a few small hiccups but they were resolved efficiently and we were more than happy with the outcome. A boat trip that had been arranged ran to time and the procession down to the pier was led by the Toast Master.The evening reception ran like clockwork and was great fun, our barman was professional and ran a good bar, supper was delicious. I'm not sure who arranged for the Red Arrows to fly over but it was well timed at 9.00pm,the sun shone for 3 days continually, all in all fantastic. We have converted some guests who have never been to the Lakes to return at some other time. So, well done Macdonald Old England and thank you to all your magnificent staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Val F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a three night stay here. Best view ever had in a room at the lakes. Great view of lake windermere. Room was nice and comfortable. We got a deal so worked out good value although not on a deal it wouldn't be good value for what you can get in the lakes. Expensive in bar but was expected. Lovely spa and staff on site. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and also enjoyed a meal one evening as well as breakfast. The whole place is really a throwback to another time but if you like that kind of thing and are willing to pay for it then they do a great job. Very professional reception and everyone was very nice.

The hotel does its bit as well, beautiful location and were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the lake. Again worth the money.

They do offer a good deal for two nights stay with evening meal, breakfast and an afternoon tea which would be great value but just be careful its not available Friday Saturday Sunday. The hotel website gives an illusion you can book it on the Thursday but you can't and it's no cancellation/refund. Just mentioning as it did leave a sour taste.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Filb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland,england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have just returned from this wonderful hotel today, I took my husband for his 60th birthday.
We stayed for two nights in a double executive room, we had a lovely view of the lake from our room, the bed was so amazingly comfortable , with pillows that I must hunt down and purchase for home
The room contained everything you could need, iron/ ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, trouser press, flat screen tv, kettle and nespresso machine which I thought was a lovely touch , the bathroom has a huge shower cubicle and separate bath , and some lovely complimentary toiletries
The hotel itself is just so comfortable, lovely squishy sofas in the bar , plush carpeting, the attention to detail is fantastic .
The staff are amazing , from front of house staff to porters, housekeepers , waiting staff in the dining areas everyone is so helpful and always have a smile for you .
The spa is lovely, although we did not have any treatments the gym , saunas ( there are 3, ice, aroma and rock !) and the pool are clean and well maintained .
I cannot wait to return ☺️
Give it a try , you won't regret it

Room Tip: We had room 237 with a lovely view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wow how nice was this place . They parked the car for me I felt like the king lol
We had a rub down and drank there also had a meal there .. fantastic .

Plus its in the centre so we can walk to the lake and potter around town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On a glorious summers afternoon we decided to just walk into this hotel to enjoy a drink on their terrace which afforded fantastic views over Lake Windermere.

We ordered a pint of Amstel and a gin and tonic expecting the price to be more expensive than a run of the mill pub which it was.This was our trade off for using the hotel terrace and it was worth it.

We found the young bar staff to be very welcoming and where even approached by one male member of staff on the verandah who enquired if everything was to our liking, he was a lovely lad with curly hair and thanked us for our service. It made us want to return for an overnight stay, we felt valued.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReedRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing