We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

this is the 2nd time ive stayed at this hotel - the room was lovely with a view of the lake - great king size bed and very comfy - we stayed on dinner bed and breakfast rate and the food was excellent along with the staff who were very helpful - no doubt we will return - the pool facilities are also good

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time again to review your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable king size beds and found the service and the staff to be engaging and helpful.
We do hope to see you again soon here in the beautiful Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,965 - 1,971 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

My daughter got married here last week. This is a fantastic setting for a wedding being right on the shore of the lake itself. Staff were lovely the wedding breakfast gorgeous the boat cruise idylic. would highly recommend.

Thank Tiddles2408
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. Please note that there is no air conditioning in this hotel on a very unusually warm July night. The hotel provides fans to try to bring a breeze into the room. Luckily, I was able to borrow a power strip from the front desk to position the fan in front of the window.
Both dinner and breakfast were very good. I liked being able to walk along the lake and through the town in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank teachertraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went to the bar twice just to enjoy the view which is nice but nothing amazing. We had some expensive drinks but made the error of ordering food. Utter rubbish, took ages and mostly inedible.

Didn't stay here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GinAndTonicUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our bar.
Whilst I am glad that you enjoyed the drinks and the view I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy our bar menu. I do hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us in the future and are able to enjoy all the wonderful facilities our hotel has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the moment we turned in, we were greeted by a large tour group consisting of senior citizens. We waited till our turn but the lady at the desk told us to wait (not sure why because she isn't doing anything, maybe because she can't multi-task) so finally she got to us and check in took another 30 mins because she was so slow and inefficient. The other male member at he concierge was also inefficient when dealing with his clients too. So anyway, we paid about £176, which was not the cheapest room. Wondering if it was a room with a lake view, we found out after much difficulty (probably due to their inefficiency) that we could only get a room with a lake view with an upgrade fee of £20. We went for it. Another problem we had with the concierge is that after telling them to park our car (at a cost of £10), it was still left outside of the hotel near a ditch almost 2 hours after check in. This is ridiculous as we had a lot of expensive equipment in it.

Moving on to the room, we had 309. Do not think its on the 3rd floor, instead, it's in the basement. Whilst entering the room, we realised that well, it is a room with the view of the lake, but it was more of a garden view, with a slight view of the lake. That's £20 extra for a room that has no privacy as kids are constantly playing in the garden. The room was old, and so hot in the summer. What kind of hotel has no air conditioning?! The light was dim when its first turned on and insects kept flying into the room at night because they're attracted to the light. (We had no choice but to open the window because it is so hot in the room)

On to the facilities. During check in, the lady told us about their on site spa facilities which is beautiful and amazing. Those aren't the words that came to mind when we went to the pool. It was absolutely a disappointment. The pool was small, and old and there were kids playing and throwing each other in the pool, which was a nuisance. The saunas stunk so bad (even the one that was supposedly aromatic). We left the "spa" within 30 mins.

The hotel is in a good location, if you want to be in the middle of all the tourist activity.

Finally on check out, we were hoping for a quick and easy check out, but no, instead of understanding that the bill was already being paid, they went on to charge the amount on my card. And when i realised and told them about it, they "mistakenly" charged it on the card again. So it took another £20 for their inefficiency as they scramble to refund the amount to me. Which is annoying because money will be held on my card.

I think this hotel operates worst than any motel. They are charging ridiculous prices thinking that they are a luxury hotel which they are clearly not. The concierges in the hotel are so inefficient and should not be working there. This hotel is a disgrace to the Macdonald chain of hotels which is probably why they "changed" their name to the old England hotel and spa.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank greckang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Whilst I am glad that you found our prices to be very reasonable compared to other local hotels,
I was sorry to read that you found the presence of children in the hotels gardens and in the swimming pool to be a frustration. We do offer adults only swim times twice a day in the spa and we do at all times attempt to balance the needs of our family guests with those of our guests travelling without children.
Thank you also for your comments regarding inefficient service at check in and check out, this is most unusual and I do apologise for the frustration this caused. I am investigating to ensure there is no repeat of the issues you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fabulous is the word for this Hotel. Staff could not be more helpful regarding our questions on various day trips in the area. Room was gorgeous and the view ....breathtaking...... Food good. Lots of eating places outside the hotel too.

Room Tip: Just do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 44helen342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited the hotel for a three-night half board stay in August. On arrival at the hotel and despite having a confirmation print-out, reception had a record of only two of the three on line bookings, missing our feature family room which has a separate room for children. After an age, the receptionist finally offered us a standard room with no separate room, or second bed and in fact still had the previous occupants' belongings in it. We returned the keys. After another age, the operations manager offered us a feature family room. The following morning we submitted a list of six things wrong with the room to the duty manager (missing light bulbs and bedside light not working, iron burn on the carpet, curtains torn and hanging off the curtain rail, no working lights in the children's bedroom and a blind which did not close properly and had a dangerous loop hanging down from it, no main light in the bathroom). We were given every assurance that all the items would be fixed. One light bulb was changed and the tawdry curtain was rehung. The lake view, whilst stunning, simply did not make up for a room that fell far, far short of its 4-star status. Moving on to the dining room, this was a huge disappointment. Whilst the food was pretty good, the service was poor with no apparent supervision of inexperienced staff. To be fair, the staff were very polite and friendly (and so my sympathy lies with them for not being correctly trained or managed properly) but such basic mistakes ranged from incorrect orders to lengthy waits between courses. I noticed that in a separate room the hotel was catering for large groups of foreign tourists and it was apparent that this was where the main effort lay. As an example, on the final night, we had ordered the starter and main course long before the large group of foreign tourists had arrived in their dining room (they got table cloths too!). And yet they departed after their 3-course meal long before our main course plates were even cleared away. My two previous efforts at complaining had got me nowhere so I simply gave up and accepted the hotel for what it was, tired, over priced and poorly managed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
I was sorry to read about the issues that you experienced with your reservation and your allocated room and am investigating these points. We did indeed have a private event on the evening of your visit to the dining room however the event was serviced from a separate area of the kitchen and should certainly not have impacted on your meal service.
I apologise that we did not meet your justifiable expectations on this occasion and can assure you that all of your valuable comments will be taken into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
474 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £85 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing