We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spa day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Went for a rainy day in windermere to enjoy the spa. Left feeling refreshed and pampered. Staff were excellent and customer service outstanding. Food was quite nice with an amazing view of the lake. Spent hours in the pool and enjoyed the ice room! Car was valet parked which really added to the experience. The treatments were so relaxing and tailored to the individual. To really make the experience special - there is a lovely covered terrace with direct access from the pool overlooking the lake - it is screaming out for a hot tub/jacuzzi! An investment definitely worth making . Thanks again for a great experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rebeccagc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful spa and the outstanding customer service. I am delighted as well that you were able to use our valet parking service to begin your day of pampering and relaxation in style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    815
    437
    210
    131
See reviews for
460
1,661
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

It is very well located in the town centre and just on the lake, but it doesn't only offer a good location since it is one of the best hotels in the region. The staff is very kind and friendly. The lobby is stunning. We are planning to come back this lovely hotel again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank doliche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is well positioned in the centre of Bowness with views onto Windermere from its restaurant and bar and many of the guest rooms. Much of the communal guest space in the hotel looks to have been fairly recently renovated, although there's still a bit of chintz about the place. Don't let this put you off though - there's something quite charming about the way it's done.

All the staff were very helpful and the valet service to bring or take your car from the front of the hotel was particularly welcome when it rained.

The most important thing to note about The Old England is that there are three quite distinct parts of the hotel in terms of guest rooms. The modern wing of the hotel (which we were fortunate enough to be staying in) features large, contemporary hotel rooms with smart furniture, Velux windows and good sized bathrooms with separate bath and shower unit. This part of the hotel makes The Old England worthy of its 4-star rating.

Access to the modern wing is through the original part of the hotel and it was possible to see into the rooms here when the housekeepers propped the doors open for cleaning each morning. Although we didn't go into any of these rooms they looked dated and some were very small. A member of the hotel staff later told us they tend to put foreign tourists into these rooms as they often prefer to stay in the 'historic' bit of the hotel. That's fair enough but I wouldn't want to stay in one of those rooms.

The third part of the hotel is accessed through the main hotel lounge. We didn't go into this area but from outside this wing looks to have been built in 70s breezeblock and painted white. The same member of staff we spoke to about hotel rooms said this section was 'due for refurbishment' so I can only imagine that those rooms are overdue some work too.

Overall the hotel is nice and we enjoyed our stay. I think the key is making sure you get a room which suits your accommodation preferences and meets your expectations.

Room Tip: Ask to be allocated a room in the new wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2N while in Windermere. Its a beautiful property by the lake, very well located in this beautiful small town. The staff was extremely helpful, and a special mention to Matt who helped arrange the most heart warming surprise for my birthday at midnight, and did everything in his capacity to pull it off!
Breakfast was good, and a walk in the garden by the lake topped it off every morning!
I would stay here again, any time I ever go back to Windermere.

Room Tip: Please pick a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prerna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to hear that Matt in our Terrace Lounge made your birthday so special, our team always strive to surprise and delight and I was happy to read that you found all of our colleagues to be friendly and helpful.
We do hope to see you again soon here in the beautiful Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

this is the 2nd time ive stayed at this hotel - the room was lovely with a view of the lake - great king size bed and very comfy - we stayed on dinner bed and breakfast rate and the food was excellent along with the staff who were very helpful - no doubt we will return - the pool facilities are also good

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward C, General Manager at Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time again to review your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable king size beds and found the service and the staff to be engaging and helpful.
We do hope to see you again soon here in the beautiful Lake District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My daughter got married here last week. This is a fantastic setting for a wedding being right on the shore of the lake itself. Staff were lovely the wedding breakfast gorgeous the boat cruise idylic. would highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Tiddles2408
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. Please note that there is no air conditioning in this hotel on a very unusually warm July night. The hotel provides fans to try to bring a breeze into the room. Luckily, I was able to borrow a power strip from the front desk to position the fan in front of the window.
Both dinner and breakfast were very good. I liked being able to walk along the lake and through the town in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teachertraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing