We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-starter surprise and service galore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pre-starter surprise and service galore”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Whilst I didnt stop in the hotel, I ate there and felt it warranted a review. The service was excellent from the service in the bar, while I waited for my table. They gave me a table right in front of the picture window overlooking the lake. Was not discrimated against for being a single diner and not a resident. having stopped in a number of hotels for work, this was excellent treatment. The food was imaginative, beautifully displayed and tasted good. Good price. No rush in service, just the right pace. The staff deserve a round of applase.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumpercolouringbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    855
    456
    225
    141
See reviews for
486
1,749
46
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

Stopped here for 2 nights,good location,room lovely and spacious,only problem we were overlooking building work and not lake windermere.
Breakfast was absoultley awful(buffet),complained to receptionist,who then sent the deputy manager to our room,he was most apologetic,and offered us a free cooked breakfast the next morning (room service)
staff very helpful and manager dealt with our complaint immediatley.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasminSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellifield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and had requested an upgrade after an illness by my wife earlier this year. On arrival we were allocated an upgrade overlooking the lake.
Room was clean and up to date with facilities. Service was attentive, staff smart in appearance and breakfast had plenty of variety in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouseHellifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We booked an 'Executive' room for an overnight stay on 17 March, 'Execitive' means 'Lake View.' The room itself was tired and in need of refurbishment. Houskeeping was superficial, with only the bed linen changed and the bathroom serviced.

Breakfast was chaotic, although from 7.00am until 10.30am, at 9.00am prunes, red grapefruit and ordinary grapefruit was the only choice of fruit - the empty bowls were never topped up. Cooked breakfast was an extra £6.00 (something not obvious when booking on-line), bringing the total cost of a single breakfast to £21.00.

The 'Black Pudding' was the wrong consistency and tasteless, the single rasher of bacon, the single sausage, the half tomato and half mushroom were cooked well.

Service was chaotic, long waits, failure to bring extra tea and coffee when asked. Throughout not a single table was cleared when diners left, leaving us to view their mess. The waiters clearly did not have a clue.

The reception area was dark and depressing and on our arrival the carpet at the entrance was dirty and full of bits, it was in the same state when we left the following day.

The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the receptionist, who was bright, cheerful and efficient and seemed genuinly concerned that we had not found everything to our satisfaction.

In the customer questionnaire it states that all comments are taken seriously and are reviewed on a daily basis. Taken so seriously that the management has not seen fit to contact me apropos our comments.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Came with a group of female friends. Had a great weekend. Rooms were spotless, very comfy beds, I loved the really big squashy pillows. Decor just right. Decor in the large lounge was just right, nice comfy chairs and settees among antique furniture. Good for sitting and reading your book/papers and watching the boats on the lake. Idyllic!!
Staff very attentive and courteous. Food very good. Would certainly go there again.
Angela from Leeds

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelastocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Have just come back from a few nights at the Old England and now feel totally relaxed!
Our room was a standard room in the new wing which we were not expecting to be anything extraordinary but it was beautiful - the size of my flat! It had a huge double bed, sofa, table and chairs and a large flat screen tv. The bathroom had a large bath and a very big walk in shower.
We had breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner and all were superb. The continental breakfast had so much choise we didnt feel the need for the cooked option. Taking Afternoon Tea in the Lounge overlooking the lake was lovley. The evening meal was of very good standard and we would have tried everything from the menu if we could have!
I had a spa treatment which was very good, the pool area was very well equiped and very clean. The only thing missing was a jacuzzi.
Parking is two seconds down the road but they were more than happy to park/retrieve the car for us and help with the bags. Check in and out was friendly, quick and personal.
All staff reception, housekeeping, waiting and concierge were friendly, polite but not overbearing. it made us feel like we had gone back decades to a slower pace of life. Thanks to the entire team for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We've had enjoyable family trips at the Old England before but this was our first stay since the Macdonald group took over the hotel and we were very impressed with the standard of the room and especially with the superb professionalism of the staff. We had a great room in the recently-refurbished annex with a view of the lake and enjoyed the huge bed and immaculately clean and well-appointed bathroom. Dinner on Saturday night was of an extremely high standard and the food actually felt like a bargain, although we felt that the wine-list was rather ambitiously priced. We loved sitting in the beautiful public rooms overlooking the lake and we appreciated the tone of the staff who were attentive and offered refreshments and newspapers, but who were never over-bearing. The pool and spa area were clean, elegant and happily child-free. Parking was a bit of a drama, especially as we arrived in driving rain, but the reception staff were extremely helpful and offered us valet parking which helped enormously.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCathO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing