We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything you'd want in a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicestershire
2 reviews
“everything you'd want in a hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

only just returned and eager to re book. Whilst i am sure there are cheaper hotels in the area to stay at, this is where you want to be. the staff are friendly and helpful, the location is excellent with lovely views of the lake and the rooms are delightful. There is everything there that you could ask for.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave9220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    840
    449
    220
    136
See reviews for
477
1,719
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

There was nothing to find fault about. The staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The rooms, whilst not huge, were very comforatable. The bed and pilllows were the best I have found outside my own home (we have a very comfy bed). The restaurant service was very good and there seemed to be a high ratio of staff to guests.
As for the food, breakfast was full english or a choice of various smoked fish, all very hearty and very tasty. Dinner was a limited choice but what there was was presented very well and tasted very good.
The swimming pool and spa were well used by us this included ice room, steam room and sauna. All very refreshing and all immaculately presented.
We intend to return for another weekend break in the next month or so.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyaway1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This hotel is very good - stayed 2 nights (17-19 February). Overall, the service is good and staff are friendly helpful. The hotel is in a great location, right by the lake and has many excellent views - especially from the restaurant. Without doubt, the restuarant is first class - dinner was excellent; however, only continental breakfast is included and cooked breafast costs extra. It would have been useful to know that there is a hotel car park a short walk away - we found it impossible to park close enough to the main entrance to drop off our luggage and had to find and pay for a parking space before checking in. Would recommend the hotel, but disappointed with our room 214 - the size of a broom cupboard and just bearable for 2 nights!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Stopped for 3 nights & found this hotel excellent from a positional sense. Good for Bowness, the ferry & all the southern lakes. The evening meal choice was poor (no sauces just plain chicken etc) so we went out to the excellent local restaurants even tho we had a 2 for 1 voucher. The spa facilities were good & well used. Parking was difficult even@ this time of year. Breakfast was excellent & we never needed more than continental - staff very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Too bad to waste time explaining! But in a nutshell
Expensive and not Value for Money, majority of staff rude abrupt and unhelpful.
For a 4 star you expect alot more!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We visited the Old England on the 25/6/7 January. We had been visitors some years previously and were very pleased with the standards now been set.
We booked an executive double and upon arrival we were upgraded. The room was large clean and well fitted and had a lake view. The colour scheme was muted brown and gold and did not in our opinion enhance the rooms quality.
The bathroom was excellent and all the fittings modern and well maintained.
The room was well serviced throughout our stay.
The public rooms particularly the lounge was well decorated and offered excellent views of the lake.
The dining room was of a similar high standard. Dinner was haute cuisine (very good] with an option of steaks at a surcharge. The cheese board offered an excellent raange of English cheeses.
The continental breakfast was very good and we were never tempted by a cooked breakfast which carried a surcharge.
The reception and concierge service always provided service with a smile
The car parking was good [important in Windermere] though not adjacent to the hotel. A valet parking service was offered and I would suggest taking it up at least for the first visit as the car park though is only two hundred yards away when walking, pedestrianization calls for a short drive with two not obvious turns.
The staff were always helpful and always had a smile.
We shall be returning in the near future for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2010

Fatastic loaction (lake views and Bowness pubs and restaurants on your doorstep) but lack of attention to detail took the edge off an otherwise excellent 2 night break. We wanted a hotel with a nice lounge - this one has one of the best. Unfortunately attention to detail was amiss. We waited over 20 mins to order drinks in the lounge (a family had just ordered teas/coffees and chocolates and this seemed to cause a disproportionate delay) and I finally ordered a glass of Australian Shiraz. What arrived was a South African Pinotage. I went back to the bar and asked what I'd been served, "I'm not sure" was the answer "he probably just picked up any bottle..." recommendation no'1 - know your wines!
It was my husbands birthday while we were staying and I asked for an ice bucket and 2 champagne glasses to be delivered to the room. These arrived immediately, presented on a silver tray - witha splodge of dried ketchup on the edge... recommendation no'2 ...well obvious really!
I gave this feedback on departure - this could really be a great hotel if a bit more care and attention is paid by staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_JLeeds_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
359 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing