We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous hotel in a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire Lass
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We were there the weekend before the Bank Holiday so - obviously - the weather was superb. At one point it was about 27 degrees centigrade out on the hotel terrace. The garden goes down to the Lake; where you can berth you gin palace and come ashore for cocktails!
Our two night break was excellent value - there was an offer on so we got 30% off the DB&B rate and then a further £20 in vouchers to spend on our stay. We paid slightly more to upgrade to a larger room with a Lake view. This well worth doing. It's a busy Lake and there's always something interesting to watch. And you get bathrobes! The food and the service are superb and the restaurant has a super view staight down to the Lake. Beer and lager prices are very slightly more than neighbouring pubs - but they haven't got the terrace, the Lake view and the waiter service.
The swimming pool is wonderful - a decent size for swimming lengths. And everything in the wet area is very clean and tidy. It's a very good place for family occasions.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fattmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    825
    441
    214
    134
See reviews for
471
1,679
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

This hotel had a fabulous location on the edge of Lake Windermere - the staff and service was excellent - the cleanliness was sparkling - the decor was in good shape .... but oh so old fashioned, dull! dark! and BROWN. (patterned carpets too) We were expecting, having visited the website, something young, trendy and sexy - and it was not that.
The croissants and other pastries at breakfast were dry - obviously not a northern speciality.
One of the biggest shocks was that in a hotel where we were paying more than £200 per night, the complimentary shortbread in the room was made with margarine.....
The swimming pool was nothing like it looked on the website - in reality it has plain walls and aluminium windows. Having said that the sauna, steam room were excellent.
When paying the bill there was a £2 surcharge for using a credit card - come on Macdonald guys I am sure you are not that despereate for cash!
Lastly, a warning to other young people thinking of going to this hotel - the clientel are mainly retired people.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Just as we expected - first class service , excellent Lake View room . All as it should be in all respects . No negative comments to report at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon in the lakes and had an absolutely fantastic time.

Check-in staff were friendly and efficient, parking outside the hotel is a bit of a nightmare when unloading luggage but the main car park is only 2 mintues away and is a real bonus for such a central location.

Our lake view room was large, clean and the views were stunning as you'd expect. The bathroom was large and modern, the shower was always warm and powerful. All the usual amenities were available, fridge, trouser press, iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee, biscuits. The fresh mineral water in the room each day was a bonus.

The communal areas are spotless and classy. An afternoon drink on the terrace or in the lounge overlooking the lake is a perfect way to relax.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first evening, service was excellent and the food was very good if not quite exceptional. There are plenty of other options in and around Bowness that offer better value for money.

The inclusive continental breakfast is OK but the cooked breakfast is excellent (best black pudding I've ever tasted!), just a shame about the extra charge for anything on top of the continental option. Service during breakfast can be a little chaotic but the buffet was always well stocked and tea / toast arrived quickly.

The swimming pool and spa are excellent and a real luxury after a days walking in the hills, slight shame about the lack of a jacuzzi.

Given the location and level of luxury and service on offer this hotel is superb and great value, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamInCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Beautiful Georgian hotel with rather odd 1960s looking extension. Quite an old fashioned Miss Marple feel but that is definitely part of its charm. Reception and catering staff very friendly. Lovely spa with decent sized pool. Many of the rooms, and the restaurant, have the lake as a spectacular backdrop. Expensive but not really a surprise. Dinner was good quality but small portions - if you had been hiking all day, would not suffice.

I agree with previous reviewers that a little more attention to detail could move this hotel from "nice" to "amazing". Our room needed a little TLC - a little mould on the sink, watermark on the chest of drawers, very old rather useless hairdryer, main light bulb didn't work. Breakfast was rather chaotic and the staff were rather slow to top up the buffet and to get people seated. We stayed on a deal but had we paid full price for the hotel and restaurant, I would have expected a little more.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

The hotel was beautiful in a great location right on the lake.The rooms were clean and had great views of the lake.The general feel of the hotel was very upmarket and could feel slightly uncomfatable if you are not used to this.The restaurant menu featured pigeon and vennison which was just not for us and if you wanted a cooked breakfast you had to pay an extra £6.50 per person which I have never come across before staying in a 4 star hotel.
Overall the hotel was lovely and had a fantastic spa but in future I will stay at the Belsfield up the road which is not as beautiful but has great food and no airs and graces!

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chloe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

The location, room and its view of the lake, lounge areas, free parking, and leisure facilities all top drawer and whilst we secured an excellent price ivo midweek and booking in advance would hopefully be able to stay again and enjoy the luxury the hotel has to offer. Only downside was very slow bar service in the evening but given prices perhaps not a bad thing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roughguideLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing