We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel in a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 September 2010

absolutely gorgeous hotel, with stunning views of lake windemere. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Had the most comfortable bed Ive ever slept in. Room was immaculate and really spacious. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lainieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,896)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,678 - 2,684 of 2,896 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

I stayed 2 nights in the older part of the hotel on the 1st floor. There was a large window, but even with it open and the fan going the room was very warm. Lovely bathroom. Bed very comfy with 4 enormous pillows. They have internet wi-fi but it is NOT free! Found I had paid $19.95 each day to use it. Others in group said signal was variable where they were. Mine was good.
Breakfast ok - but as a group you get a standard English breakfast, most of which I dont eat. Was able to get just porridge and eggs finally.
We had one dinner at the hotel. They had split the group into 2 tables, which was ok. Service varied. Food was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoore964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Booked 3 nights at an excellent room rate with breakfast via Travel Republic. As the hotel is old we expected charm but a room showing wear. However we were delighted when we got to our room in the original part of the hotel which had been immaculateky decorated and furnished, with a bathroom (Bath and full shower) that was also immaculate. And then we found we had two windows both looking out on Lake Windermere.
Car parking is free and just a short walk away.
The buffet breakfast is good and the staff quick to supply coffee/tea and toast. All overlooking the lawn and lake.
Dinner is reasonably priced (lots of local restaurants as well) and good quality.

Very nice indeed - quality

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirflashpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The old England hotel was more than we could ever wish for, everything about our stay was outstanding.Our room was first class with amazing views over Windermere lake, and a beautiful balcony with patio table and chairs. The breakfast experience was wonderful with everything we could think of and wish for. This hotel made our stay for our silver wedding anniversary a very memorable occasion, especially as we were transferred from another macdonalds hotel as they were double booked. We would like to thank Moses, the reception manager from Leeming house for this amazing experience, and the most beautiful holiday, you did us proud and we will never forget it, thank you very much, it was appreciated very much.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shropshire_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were well and truly ripped off. We paid more (through lastminute.com) than the advertised rate we saw on the board on reception. It was our own stupid fault but the staff treatment of our query about this was abysmal. The room was pretty poor and then dinner in the evening was poor and overpriced too. This place has delusions of being above its own station which is a shame because the location is great and we have stayed in several Macdonald hotels elsewhere in the country and always been impressed which is why we tried this one despite the price. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrawbsvanHardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This old hotel is situated right on the water. They have a brand new spa facility with a nice 20 meter pool that I easily swam laps in. Walking distance to lots of restaurants, shops, boat tours, and the local attractions. Its got some quirky things being an older facility-- such as not many elevators, but it also doesn't have many levels either. Rooms are not 5-star but they are well enough. Service is excellent including room service food. Had a great time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 703Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at the Old England for 6 nights while we got married there. We've visited the Old England many times in the past, but had never stayed there - and while we both travel regularly with our jobs and stay in many five star hotels, I can honestly say this hotel far exceeded our expectations.
Both ourselves and our wedding guests have all waxed lyrical about how great the hotel was, and how helpful and friendly the staff were - nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
The rooms were all spotless, as was the communial areas and the spa. The beds and bedding were very comfortable and we all slept very well (...helped I guess by the celebratory alcohol!).
The wedding breakfast food was amazing, we all enjoyed our food - and the menu/choice for kids was particualy good and varied. The breakfasts were very good too, with continual excellent service.
The location is fabulous, you really are in the heart of it all, the views are breathtaking - nothing quite like waking up early and watching the views over the lake! - and it is very handy to be in walking distance of some great bars and restaurants. Would recommend the Angel pub too - just a 2 minute short walk up the hill.

From what we could see each room is very individual - from the rooms our wedding party had, and which we saw, while they were different they were consistently decorated, furnished and cleaned to an excellent standard. They were all different though in shape, size and aspect (i.e. different views), but that is what makes this a great hotel, standard sized box shaped rooms that are all identical don't have any character - these did!

Spa was beautiful too, although have to say prices are rather high, massage was great, and the treatment rooms are lovely. Swimming pool/sauna/steam room very nice, and the kids loved the novelty of the 'ice room'!

Can't recommend this highly enough! We'll be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMiddleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £133 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing