We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic romantic getaway!!!”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
stockton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic romantic getaway!!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Fayrer every year since we've been together. It's a lovely hotel positioned with views of the surrounding lake and countryside.

We have stayed in a variety of rooms over the years but our favourites are those overlooking the lake (superior lake view). The rooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard.

The food at the Fayrer is of excellent quality. The dinner, bed and breakfast is a must, there are a range of courses with options you can chose from. Something for everyone! There is also a comprehensive wine list to chose from, prices range from £11 to £75 plus, so something for everyone.

I would definately highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    220
    62
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
720
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed there for one night and found the hotel to be exactly what we wanted. We chose the lake view room which was really nice, spacious, clean and with a lovely bathroom with Jacuzzi (perfect for unwinding after a long day sightseeing).

We opted for bed, breakfast and evening meal and both meals were lovely. Free WiFi in the lounges and super friendly staff.

When we checked out and drove back to Newcastle my wife realised that she had left her purse in the room (containing quite a bit of cash!). I called the hotel and they had located the purse and sent it via next day delivery express post. The purse arrived safely and there was not one penny missing. You have to admire the honesty and dedication of the staff and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room with the Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinner
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were unable to get into our usual Bowness hotel, so booked here. We knew that we would return, but not so soon, but that was because we decided to walk out of a Dumfries place. It really is a most pleasant spot, and the short menu enabled the chefs to concentrate on quality rather than just a long list. The first visit we had one of the outer cottages, a few paces from the hotel, which was fine for us as stairs are a problem. A great choice, as our son and 10 year old grandson came to join us for one (of three) nights as had an adjacent room. On our second visit we had a superb ground floor room with it's own patio. Fine and comfortable lounges, good decor, and such a pleasant spot.We shall surely return.

Room Tip: Do they have any poor rooms? I doubt it, and we saw none, but some are (obviously) better for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priesthorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had booked four nights and had chosen a room overlooking the garden.
The receptionist was very welcoming, gave us a tour of the ground floor and showed us to our room. This was comfortable, beautifully furnished and clean.
We chose this hotel for its AA two-rosette restaurant and were not disappointed by any aspect of the food and service. All the waiters/waitresses were excellent and obviously well-known by guests who had previously stayed at the hotel. Food was very well-prepared and beautifully presented.
It was an excellent base for touring the southern Lake District.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 'special treat' at the Fayrer Garden - a one night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel and grounds were lovely, the food excellent for both evening dinner and breakfast. However.... and it was very important to us...we booked this place for a quiet 'grown up' break and were horrified to find that it was overrun with screaming children who were part of a wedding party . Also we could not access the lounge rooms or the terrace on the afternoon of our arrival for fear of gatecrashing their party. We found what we thought would be a quiet corner of the garden but were soon invaded by screaming children.No fault on their part - kids scream, wedding guests often get drunk and noisy (done it myself a time or two!!) but it spoiled our very expensive treat and I think we should have been advised of the wedding on booking. TOP TIP ... make a point of asking - we will next time we book anything of this kind.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I am so pleased to have chosen Fayrer Garden from the advice of Trip Advisor. We have just returned from a 3 night stay and I have barely a bad word to say. Admittedly, the food in the restaurant was a tad hit and miss. We had extremely ropey starters but delicious mains and puddings on the night we ate there....and the view from the restaurant over the grounds and the lake are exceptional. The breakfast menu was extensive and mainly very good.
As a benchmark of how good this hotel was, my only complaint was that the pillows were uncomfortable! And while the hotel is beautiful, what really makes it in my eyes are the people that work there. Every single person that works at the Fayrer is exceptional - whether its the lovely young girl who makes up the rooms in the morning to the brilliant deputy manageress in the restaurant, the receptionist and waiting staff included. They really went the extra mile and helped make our stay so enjoyable. I have never had such universal good service.
One thing I would comment on though which is no criticism of Fayrer just a note. A lot of people on here are saying the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Bowness. We are very healthy, fit 30 somethings and I would say this is very misleading......more like 25 minutes on the way down and 40 on the way back as it is so uphill. Plus there is no path on the road so you need to take the back route into Bowness.
If you are looking for a relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel looking out over the Lake with impeccable service then this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have visited this hotel a few times and always have found it friendly & relaxing. We had a standard room (16) which has excellent views of the garden and is very comfortable. The evening meal was excellent as well as the breakfast. Staff very friendly and would do anything for you. We will defintely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We have been in a room at the front with an beautiful view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliewLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing