We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelllent we will be back”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Well worth a visit to this beautiful small hotel with friendly helpful staff. The food was very nice with extra touches such as canapes while choosing the menu, sorbet between starter and mains with coffee and chocolates in the comfortable lounge to finish.
Situated on the edge of Bowness in Windermere approximately 1 mile walk from the town or to the ferry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
There are newer reviews for The Ryebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

915 - 921 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

I am from Scotland and never visited the Lake District but I found this hotel online and booked in at The Terrace Restaurant for a family meal to celebrate our parents Ruby Wedding Anniversary. We arrived and were seated in the lounge where we were given the menu to browse through (set price for a 5 course meal) and ordered drinks. Once ordered we were moved through to our table which was all set very nice. It is quite a formal restaurant so we were all smartly dressed. The etiquette is fabulous – the ladies were served first! The food was excellent and very good value for the 5 course meal. After our meal we were moved through to another separate private lounge where we were then served coffee and chocolates and the staff brought through the cake we had bought to celebrate the anniversary.
Unfortunately we arrived at 8pm on an October night so we couldn’t see the views but from what we could see of the gardens it looked lovely and we will definitely return in the summer in order to enjoy a lovely meal over looking Lake Windermere. Highly recommended – cannot fault it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoroGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

From start to finish this holiday was an absolute winner. It was a complete surprise organised by my beloved wife. The hotel was situated perfectly only a short distance from the main town, but far enough for absolute peace and tranquility. The views from our room (22) were stunning,as were the panoramic views from the restaurant. The food was only beaten by the friendly attentive service. The room was clean, bright, warm and roomy. The bathroom was large and well appointed, be careful of the water, it is hot and fast flowing. The large jacuzzi bath takes just minutes to fill. Nothing was too much for the staff and they had a wealth of local knowledge to share. A birthday treat I will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshiretony6125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Superb hotel. Staff attentive, friendly, efficient and organised. Obviously a very experienced chef - the food was superb - a definite MUST to have a meal in the restaurant. Well and tastefully decorated and fantastic view of the lake. A very pleasant, easy walk along the lake to Bowness centre - approx 30 minutes and we strolled slowly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Fayrer every year since we've been together. It's a lovely hotel positioned with views of the surrounding lake and countryside.

We have stayed in a variety of rooms over the years but our favourites are those overlooking the lake (superior lake view). The rooms are tastefully decorated to a high standard.

The food at the Fayrer is of excellent quality. The dinner, bed and breakfast is a must, there are a range of courses with options you can chose from. Something for everyone! There is also a comprehensive wine list to chose from, prices range from £11 to £75 plus, so something for everyone.

I would definately highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chezStockton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed there for one night and found the hotel to be exactly what we wanted. We chose the lake view room which was really nice, spacious, clean and with a lovely bathroom with Jacuzzi (perfect for unwinding after a long day sightseeing).

We opted for bed, breakfast and evening meal and both meals were lovely. Free WiFi in the lounges and super friendly staff.

When we checked out and drove back to Newcastle my wife realised that she had left her purse in the room (containing quite a bit of cash!). I called the hotel and they had located the purse and sent it via next day delivery express post. The purse arrived safely and there was not one penny missing. You have to admire the honesty and dedication of the staff and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room with the Jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were unable to get into our usual Bowness hotel, so booked here. We knew that we would return, but not so soon, but that was because we decided to walk out of a Dumfries place. It really is a most pleasant spot, and the short menu enabled the chefs to concentrate on quality rather than just a long list. The first visit we had one of the outer cottages, a few paces from the hotel, which was fine for us as stairs are a problem. A great choice, as our son and 10 year old grandson came to join us for one (of three) nights as had an adjacent room. On our second visit we had a superb ground floor room with it's own patio. Fine and comfortable lounges, good decor, and such a pleasant spot.We shall surely return.

Room Tip: Do they have any poor rooms? I doubt it, and we saw none, but some are (obviously) better for those...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priesthorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
701 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £118 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing