We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
WIGAN
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break at the Fayrer Gardens House Hotel in Bowness booked thorugh Hotelshop.co.uk. The food was of a high standard, the staff were excellent and it was certainly value for money. We upgraded to a Superior Room and was allocated No 12. One small point I should mention is to be careful not to hit your head on the shelf when using the bath or the toilet in the en-suite. Otherwise No 12 a delightful room with a Juliet Balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    221
    64
    8
    5
See reviews for
109
727
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here on a kgbdeal (£99 2 nights B&B for two). I upgraded to a superior room with a lake view for an additional £40. The grounds of the hotel and views from it are beautiful. The bedroom was lovely, the bed huge and very comfortable and the towels and bathrobes fluffy. The hotel lounge was also a lovely large comfortable room with great views. Staff were friendly and service was good, as was breakfast. There were two slight drawbacks. The first was that the hotel is outside the town and too far to walk into town so a car was needed for every outing. So the location for views is great, for convenience it is less so. The second was the cost of an evening meal - at £42.50 pp for a 3 course meal it was more than our local michelin starred restaurant; it also offered a limited menu. With a wide choice of good restaurants in Bowness and Windermere, the hotel restaurant priced itself out of the market as far as we were concerned and we would normally eat in at least one night. It is for those 2 reasons I have awarded 4 rather than 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We booked a bargain weekend at the Fayrer Garden House in November and visited for two nights between Friday 6 and Sunday 8 January. This was our third weekend stay over a period of 10-15 years and standards have remained unaltered in all that time.

On a reduced rate, our allocated room was smaller than on previous visits. This was to be expected but the furnishings were still of a high standard. We know that there are many excellent rooms in the hotel, but realistically unless you are lucky why should the owners put you in them when you have paid a reduced rate. Too many people on this site get a bargain and then complain like mad about this and that.....

As ever the service, staff and food were exceptional. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Special mention must go to the chefs, as presentation of the food was outstanding, and the food itself tasted wonderful !!, being of a very high standard.

There has been mention in previous reports that the breakfast had been 'standing' for some time, however, my wife and I always remark upon how fresh and piping hot the food is served. There is always a wide selection of cereals, juices and hot breakfasts available.

The ambience of the hotel is one of a relaxed setting, just 20-25 minutes walk downhill to Bowness waterfront. The Lounge is a quiet place to relax either during the day or after your evening meal with with coffee and homemade chocolates with beautiful views of the lake. There have been previous questions about dress code for the restaurant, currently all we can say is that it is a place where you do not look out of place should you wish to dress up, but can equally be dressed smart but casual.

Special mention must be made of the complimentary leisure facility available to all guests at the Macdonald 'Old England' hotel at the lakeside in Bowness. There, you will find a large indoor swimming pool with sauna / steam rooms and at a discounted rate, spa treatments are available.

In our view Fayrer Garden house hotel, is, and always has been an elegant hotel, smart but not stuffy. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay, we can thoroughly recommend any Lakewiew room but the garden rooms are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesMiserablegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We held our wedding ceremony at The Fayrer Garden House Hotel.
The whole day was absolutely fantastic. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

We visited quite a few local hotels to host our winter wedding celebrations. The Fayrer was the first on our visit list and after seeing all the others we finally chose The Fayrer, and we certainly weren’t disappointed.

From the very first visit, we felt so comfortable with the hotel and its helpful staff. Nicola, the hotel manager made sure the arrangements went smoothly and was so helpful with our plans.

We took over the whole hotel for the wedding: in the build up, Nicola showed us most of the accommodation so we could allocate our guests the appropriate rooms ourselves. The hotel is so charming and well maintained, also very cosy.

The restaurant overlooks Lake Windermere which gives it an extra special ambience.

We were lucky enough to experience a sample evening where the chef cooked some dishes which we were thinking about having on our menu.
Every dish was first class and made our final decision that little bit more difficult.
We also enjoyed sampling the many wines on offer too!

The waiting on staff in the restaurant were pleasant and very efficient, the head waiter was great and looked after us very well.

On the day, our guests commented to us how much they enjoyed the meal.
Ten of our family stayed over the next night and we enjoyed another culinary delight from the kitchen. The breakfasts are great too.

We are certainly going to return to enjoy another superb meal in the future.

The restaurant doubled up as the wedding ceremony room which at first we were a little concerned about but we needn’t have worried, because the transformation helped by Yvonne from “Ambience Venue Styling”, was amazing.
After the ceremony while the photos and drinks were taken in the delightful large lounge area and bar, the room was magically transformed back into a restaurant for our wedding breakfast.
Many thanks to Yvonne for “dressing” the room again which was even more amazing!

After the meal, the room was prepared for the evening celebrations, the double doors into the elegant bar are opened and the room takes on yet another perspective.

The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and have very comfortable beds. The chamber maids were all cheerful and always said hello. Quite a few of the rooms have views over the lake. The following morning when we awoke there was a dusting of snow covering the ground which enhanced the already wonderful view!

All in all, we were so lucky to have chosen The Fayrer and loved every minute of our stay.

Very big thanks to the staff, take a bow, you are all brilliant!

Chris and Gill (Dec 2011)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JukeRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Just had the best weekend in the Lake District. Hotel location is perfect with great views of Lake Windermere. The hotel was excellent. The staff could not do enough for us. The room was top draw as was the food. Breakfasts and evening meals of the highest order. No complaints whatsoever. We will return and do not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We just back from the best romantic break where can we start well booking was easy shown around hotel before shown to room well what a room and what a view lovely everything you could want we had very bad weather but that did not put us off . We had dinner here well it was so lovely the presentation was michelin star you won't be let down we can't say anything bad about this hotel it's beautiful the hotel was so lovely the staff do a great job to look after you to make it speCial they are going to decorate the hotel but it's so nice as it is . Well done staff you made our stay romantic thank you

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wood84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Staff at this Hotel are really welcoming and friendly. There has been a change of manager but Nicola will serve you well. The chefs still produce excellent quality food.There will be a refurbishment program over the next year and reception is to be upgraded very soon. The owners intend making this hotel even better!
We will definitely return soon!

Room Tip: Lakeview Rooms offer good view of Windermere but behind those the rooms are very good and offer love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing