We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ryebeck
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$248
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$424
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$269
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$240
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
765
240
68
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
240
68
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfayrer gardenhipping hallevening mealcream teanew cheftravelzoo offerlovely hotelwhirlpool baththe ground floorvenisonhomemade biscuitslake districtafternoon teacheese boardstandard roomsmall portionsspecial offer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
973 - 978 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we stayed at the hotel for a 2 night weekend break, upgraded to a superior lake view room which i would not do again, it was just okay not superior. In the restaurant we had a nice meal on the first evening, looking forward to seeing what was on the menu the second night to our suprise it was the same menu as the first night with not a lot to choose from. When asked why the menu was the same as last night was told the hotel was under new management and they had to present this menu until told different. Not very good customer service skills.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the Fayrer Garden 16th-18th Jan & found it a pleasant place to stay.We stayed as part of the kbg deal & found it to be good value for money based on what you would normally pay for 2 nights bed & breakfast.( we also weren't offered our cream tea,however there was no problem when i requested it)We also upgraded to a superior room as a previous reviewer we were allocated room 12 & i would also certainly agree about the shelf in the bathroom.The only other complaint we had was the toilet leaked,it could have been very dangerous had we not spotted the water on the floor before we retired.I decided to put a towel on the floor overnight & was glad i did as by morning it was dripping,hate to think what may have happened if we 'd had to use the bathroom overnight walking onto a tiled floor covered in water!The problem was dealt with as soon as we reported it.Room 12 is a king size bed but it's a ziplock bed (2 zipped together) which we both hate.The views from the room are fab.Breakfast we enjoyed very much & the setting inside & out is lovely.We didn't eat evening meal at the hotel.The lack of a reception desk gives an unprofessional impression as soon as you arrive but that won't affect your stay.We did make use of the complimentary pool/sauna/steam room on offer at the Old England hotel which we enjoyed alot after a long days walking,the old england is a beautiful hotel & worth a look in even if not using their facilities.We enjoyed afternoon tea overlooking lake windermere.Highly recommended as a treat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuertegirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Overall it's a nice location but a lengthy walk to the town centre. The room was decorated for the older generation with floral curtains and cushions and the shower was really poor(standing in the rain would of been better)we wernt even offered out complimenteary cream tea on arrival.We didn't eat in the restaurant because it was expensive so opted for the town centre where there's good food for half the price

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshirefolk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break at the Fayrer Gardens House Hotel in Bowness booked thorugh Hotelshop.co.uk. The food was of a high standard, the staff were excellent and it was certainly value for money. We upgraded to a Superior Room and was allocated No 12. One small point I should mention is to be careful not to hit your head on the shelf when using the bath or the toilet in the en-suite. Otherwise No 12 a delightful room with a Juliet Balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer74Wigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here on a kgbdeal (£99 2 nights B&B for two). I upgraded to a superior room with a lake view for an additional £40. The grounds of the hotel and views from it are beautiful. The bedroom was lovely, the bed huge and very comfortable and the towels and bathrobes fluffy. The hotel lounge was also a lovely large comfortable room with great views. Staff were friendly and service was good, as was breakfast. There were two slight drawbacks. The first was that the hotel is outside the town and too far to walk into town so a car was needed for every outing. So the location for views is great, for convenience it is less so. The second was the cost of an evening meal - at £42.50 pp for a 3 course meal it was more than our local michelin starred restaurant; it also offered a limited menu. With a wide choice of good restaurants in Bowness and Windermere, the hotel restaurant priced itself out of the market as far as we were concerned and we would normally eat in at least one night. It is for those 2 reasons I have awarded 4 rather than 5 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews