We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ryebeck
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$153
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$419
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$240
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$301
US$291
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
765
240
68
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
765
240
68
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfayrer gardenhipping hallevening mealcream teanew cheftravelzoo offerlovely hotelwhirlpool baththe ground floorvenisonhomemade biscuitslake districtafternoon teacheese boardstandard roomsmall portionsspecial offer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just returned from a weekend at this beautiful hotel. The staff are all lovely and friendly. This morning was spent digging us all out of the car park (snowed in!) so that we could get home - although we could have stayed an extra night and it's a real shame that the snow started to melt, so we had no excuse to stay. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel - and wish them all well in obtaining their 4 star rating....it is thoroughly deserved!

Room Tip: We had room 11, which had a four poster and a lake view, with a juliet balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This country house hotel is beautifully yet traditionally furnished, set in its own grounds in a peaceful location with stunning views of the surrounding landscape and lake. It is approximately one mile (15/20 min walk) into the town of Bowness but the location affords you the tranquility that many hotels in the area do not. The main communal areas and our bedroom were kept spotlessly clean and well maintained with large fluffy towels, good quality toiletries, comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities (tea, coffee and biscuits replenished generously daily). There is a good choice of fruit juices/cereals and cooked foods for breakfast where you can eat as much or as little as you want. Allowing you the opportunity to wind down and dress up a little, dinner is a culinary delight. The food and wine menus cater for most palettes and food is skilfully but beautifully prepared and served, and is very reasonably priced for the excellent quality received. Throughout our stay, all of the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly whilst maintaining politeness and professionalism. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them and they always found time to enquire about our day. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. Read the reviews, but give the Fayrer a chance to make up your own mind.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladywigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel between 29th and 31st January. Booked through kgb deals, and we were not disappointed. The hotel is very pretty with nice common areas. We were in room 17 on the first floor, not facing the lake, but which has nice views of the front garden. The room including bathroom was clean and looked to have been recently renovated. The room was cleaned while we were at breakfast which was a nice surprise.

A couple of probably unimportant details but ill share them anyway; there was no socket for the kettle on the dresser so we had to boil it on the floor, and the tv was in a corner such that you could not watch it from the bed and you we resorted to moving the bed. To be honest, it looked as if they had changed the room around to create more space but that meant leaving appliances in awkward corners. We didn't go to watch the tv but it was absolutely freezing outside, very little was open in Bowness it being January and so we did end up inside watching it a little so just to let you know! This could be the only room like this....

We saw a couple of the lake rooms whilst they were getting cleaned and they looked superb; much bigger with lovely views so the upgrade looks worthwhile.

Our complimentary cream tea was gorgeous and the breakfast was brilliant also. They were very accommodating with tweaks to the breakfast menu and all staff were lovely. We didn't go for the dinner in the hotel which is 3 courses and costs £30, but plenty of guests seemed to be doing so. I would say that at this time of year there wasn't a great deal of choice in Bowness for food so it might be a good bet.

The room was freezing although the heating was on, but this could just be put down to it being an old building in a very cold week in January.

Although the hotel was near Bowness centre we took the car each time. The road to walk along is quite fast and at night it wasn't lit so all in all it seemed a bit dangerous. In summer it would probably be fine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karrybarry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Me and my boyfriend (20 & 25) received this break to fayrer garden as a Christmas present it was booked through KGB deals. We visited 20th-22nd Jan. we arrived at the hotel around 12ish and although your not meant to check in until 2pm the staff were more than happy for us to have our room early, we were taken to a lovely room with views of the garden and could also see the lake. We unpacked and went downstairs and asked if we could have our cream tea where they took us to the sitting room and lit the fire for us and braught the tea to us while we admired the views. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was rather expensive but there's so many reasonable priced restaurants in bowness, a 5min drive away. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were lovely! The cleaners were fantastic after returning after breakfast the first mining the room was already made up! The only bad thing we could say is that the bar is very expensive but we had a few drinks while we were out and one to relax in the hotel. All in all it was fantastic! X

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krawden18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just got back from a 2 nights B&B stay (KGB deal - which was excellent value for the money). We also upgraded to a lake view. The hotel was fantastic, very clean, stunning scenery, good choice of breakfast and friendly/helpful staff. On check-in we were given a voucher to redeem the complimentary cream tea and also a voucher that can be used in a nearby hotel to use their leisure facilities. The room was lovely with great views across the lake, with snow on the mountains in the background. The bathroom was spotless with a fantastic shower and lovely toiletries (especially the hand cream!). The hotel is a distance from the town which we easily walked both nights (15 mins) but agree that a torch is needed due to lack of footpath/street lighting. Although there are loads of taxis in the town which we used to return each night costing around £4.00. Would recommend this hotel to anyone - fantastic weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cal296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews