We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review only”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We ate here with friends back in August during a weekend stay in Lancaster. We decided that after ambling through the gorgeous countryside we would find someone nice to have dinner before heading back to Lancaster.

The service in the restaurant was amazing. Staff were really attentive. Tried some rhubarb liquer for the first time which was nice. Canapes and drinks were served a reception room overlooking the lake with guests of the hotel before we were seated for dinner. The Gressingham duck was VERY good!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Fruity_kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
There are newer reviews for The Ryebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights for our 25th anniversary in August 2012. Booked lake view and got a free upgrade to a superior lake view with 4 poster -bed when we mentioned it was our 25th anniversary which was very nice of them. The room was huge I think the biggest one in the hotel.
It had a jacuzzi bath which we never used so can not say if it was any good. We had problems with the plumbering in our bathroom. Please be warned not to flush the loo than use the basin and run your the bath or shower at the same time because you will only get very hot water coming out of the taps as we got caught out and was scorched by the hot water! We reported this problem to the receptionist but she did not believe us which was a shame because I would have given the hotel full marks and would have left a bigger tip aswell. Apart from this mishap, we really did enjoy our stay at the Fayrer Garden. The restaurant staff was very attentive. Food was tasty and well presented. Drinks were expensive. Try to avoid the Presse, £3 a glass for a soft drink! Local larger, £2.10 for 1/2 a piant which was nice. Overall, the hotel is in a lovely peaceful setting with a great restaurant to eat in at the end of the day of sight-seeing in the lake district.

Room Tip: aviod standard rooms. They are very small and can be noisy
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank buzishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

just stayed here, and took the dog with us. we had a great time, staff very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Our room wasn't ready on arrival ( we arrived 2 hours early) and they made us coffee on the terrace and the mutt was happy playing in the grounds. The room was lovely and clean (even though this was the dog annexe) I will definately go there again, it was great!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

As always the Fayrer garden staff make you feel so welcome and they can't do enough for you.
The food in the restaurant is always of a high standard with excellent service. Peaceful, comfortable relaxing break. Well done Fayrer garden, can't wait to see you again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Had a lovely overnight stay at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel. We felt very welcome upon arrival with an excellent explanation of hotel and facilities. Lovely day to enjoy the beautifully kept gardens and then enjoyed an excellent 3 course evening meal. The chef has some creative ideas and is nearly there on excellent execution. The rooms are very clean , maybe a touch on the small side, but are excellent value for money. A tad a little bit too far away from the centre of Bowness, which I wish was walk-able as parking in Bowness in high season is a pain.
Overall we would definitely stay again and take the DB&B package.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

When I win the lottery I will reside at this hotel! Superb customer service, fantastic food, very comfortable; you really feel looked after. One tip would be to upgrade to a better class of room, some rooms are a little small but always comfortable. Cant wait to be back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dudleyjessup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We found the Fayrer Garden House Hotel online about two weeks before we were set to go on holiday. We chose it because of it's good location and great value (£170 for 2 nights B&B).
The service was excellent and they gave us good advice on where to walk and what to do locally.

The rooms were lovely and there was a lovely terrace where we were able to have drinks in the evenings before heading out for dinner.

We would certainly return at any point in the year.

Room Tip: Best ask for a room facing the garden that the road. The windows are thin and most mornings you can...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dcampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £118 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing