We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pat D Manchester”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just got back from a two night stay at the Fayrer Gardens. From the warm welcome to the delicious cream tea when we arrived to the canapés before our four course evening meal with coffee and chocolates rounded off a perfect day for us.Breakfast the next and following day was hot and tasty as was that nights evening meal. The room and bed were warm and comfortable, the staff from the receptionist to the waiters who served our meal to the head waiter who instantly remembered our names were excellent. I would definitley recommend this hotel and will look forward to going back in the future.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

High standards throughout in this great hotel - bedroom, dining room, lounge and grounds over looking Lake Windermere. Staff friendly, helpful and professional. We got a deal through Travelzoo and found we needed to take a mid-week booking rather than weekend as they were so busy. We also upgraded to a garden room which cost extra. In the end we thoroughly enjoyed the two days but didn't feel like we got a good deal through Travelzoo.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are great with french doors into the garden. We even parked the car next to the room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed on a grouopn voucher which included afternoon tea, bed breakfast and evening meal. at no point were we treated any differently because of this which can be the case sometimes. We were late arriving but this was no issue on serving the afternoon tea which we had outside in the sunshine on the terrace overlooking Lake Windmere. Unbelievable!!!. The room was lovely with a patio area. The lounges and bar were homely and decorated very nicely. Dinner was served in the conservatory overlooking the lake, the service was amazing. The head waiter (scottish man) was very efficient and friendly as were the other waiting staff. The food was fantastic, truly great, I dont know where some of the other stupid comments have come from but we really thought it was great. all homemade and of excellent quality. A good nights sleep, very very quiet. Breakfast was also excellent, the tea is real tea which is a lovely touch again all served overlooking the lake. Cannot fault this place, would definitely return and highly recommended. Ignore the negative comments, they are so not true.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

You can't fail to be impressed as you arrive at this hotel with a sweeping drive, carefully tended gardens and idyllic location.
The hotel itself was a former private residence and as you enter the main reception rooms you can't help but notice that it still screams of someones personal taste from 2 decades ago. The seating arrangement in the lounge lacks style with too many oversized settee's and not enough chairs and mood lighting. It's such a shame that so may original features have been replaced by cheap modern alternatives.That aside it's immaculately clean, well maintained and boasts spectacular views, particularly of the lake.
The staff are few - probably because of time of year but they work exceptionally hard and go out of their way to be as helpful as possible.
We'd booked on special deal with meals included but upgraded to lake view room, which we agreed was worth it on a special deal but at full rates, we felt that there were better options in the area.
Breakfast was adequate but needs some attention. Had we been paying a full rate we would have been very disappointed. At those prices you don't expect to see concentrated juices instead of fresh squeezed and we would have at least expected a bowl of fresh fruit salad.
The cooked option was reasonable.
Evening meal selection was ambitious and the quality and presentation varied. However overall we enjoyed the experience.
On balance it was a great deal on a special offer but for full price you would expect much more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a Travelzoo deal for BB for 2 nights in a standard room, dinner on 1 night and cream tea. It was excellent value for money and we would definitely stay there again. Our room did have a double aspect window over-looking one side of the mature landscaped front garden and side delivery entrance .We like to visit the Lakes whenever we can as we enjoy being outdoors and going walking so do not spend much time in our room. This is our personal favourite hotel to date and the room was adequate for what we use it for and we have stayed in many hotel locations in the Lakes over the years. The most important things to have are a bath after long walks & a comfy bed & good food which we had. However if we had wanted to spend more time in the hotel then we would upgrade to a larger room but the weather was glorious so no need on this occasion.

We went for our Wedding anniversary and had a very enjoyable break. The location is superb in a tranquil setting overlooking Lake Windermere from the rear of the hotel which can be seen from the lounge, dining room and beautiful landscaped garden & terrace, and some premium bedrooms.

The service from all the staff throughout our stay was faultless, very friendly, polite and efficient.

The food was excellent on both days at breakfast and evening meals. We choose to eat at the hotel on the 2nd night as we enjoyed it so much the previous evening. There is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu from the cold and hot options available.

Our experience would have been enhanced if we had known about the access to the pool and leisure facilities at another hotel which we did not get to try out as I could not buy a suitable costume locally but at least we will know for next time we visit. A suggestion would be to have water in the room.It is a pity that the hotel does not have a real log fire as this would be the icing on the cake!

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were told rooms 8, 9 & 10 have a fabulous view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We enjoyed 2 days dinner, bed and breakfast at this quiet and "refined "adult friendly hotel. Overall the hotel is very comfortable with lovely views over the lake. We stayed in the cottage, this was ok as the weather was good, but not ideal if it is inclement or if you have mobility problems. The room itself was fine with facilities as you would expect in a hotel of this quality. the home made biscuits were a nice extra touch. The hotel was lovely and warm and the staff very helpful. The evening meal was a very relaxing experience, The menu was interesting and the food was beautifully cooked and piping hot. The meal looked very nouvelle cuisine and we were quite surprised to find the we were pleasantly full and definately could n`t have eaten anything else before we went to bed. We both have quite big appitites and usually have toast or biscuits before we go to bed. We did wonder how often the menu was changed as I would have been struggling to find a different meal on a third night.We will recommend this to our friends as they, like us enjoy comfort and quality.

Room Tip: Ask when you book if you want a room with a bath rather than a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank head29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Four ladies took an away 3 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, although the food left a bit to be desired. Maybe we're a set of philistines but the leaf tea that was served we did not like, but the hotel were kind enough to let us have teabag tea! The food looked very palatable but was often not warm enough and I did think of taking my partner for a short break but I think he would have been off to the nearest fish and chip shop! There would not have been enough food for him, very nouvelle cuisine. The rooms were comfortable, but we found the shower small and getting down to rescue your dropped soap was almost mission impossible, particularly if you are a bit on the larger side!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £117 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing