We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Stay”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. We booked through a web site and were unaware that we could have had a dinner and B&B deal. There was a superb fixed price dinner but we were not told the price. When I asked I thought it was slightly expensive. We had a basic room which was small. I would recommend that people go for an all in deal and upgrade to a bigger room. The staff were friendly and efficient. I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The basic rooms, especially room 23, are small, suggest an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W Humphrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

What an enjoyable Sunday lunch we had here. We were staying with friends in Cumbria and booked Fayrer Garden Hotel for lunch where we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a superb location and as it was a beautiful day we sat outside for a drink whilst we chose our meal and wine. The staff were all friendly and the service throughout was attentive but not intrusive, a good combination. We were shown to a table in the window with a lovely view of the gardens with Lake Windermere in the distance. Three of us had beetroot salmon with avocado and dill ice cream and the fourth person had asparagus mousse with feta and tomato for our first course and all of us were very pleased with our choice. Our main course choices were pan fried beef and Yorkshire and roast fillet of pork with apple purée. The beef was suitably rare and tender and the pork was both a piece of fillet and a piece of belly pork with crackling, both of which were tender and all was nicely served with tiny broad beans and carrots and potatoes. For dessert we chose either a small chewy meringue, honeycomb parfait served with a slice of pear or apple cheesecake with apple crumble and apple icecream. Everyone was delighted with their dessert which was beautifully presented and tasted great too. We sat outside for coffee and felt that we had had a very enjoyable meal which was excellent value for money in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Probably 4th or 5th visit to this hotel and never been disappointed. Dinner bed & breakfast for £99 for two people is great value. Staff and service is friendly & efficient, food is top quality (with sole exception of breakfast sausage which is could be improved) - Brian runs the restaurant with the right mixture of formality and friendliness and rooms are clean, comfortable and high standard. Views and gardens are lovely and everything maintained to high standard. The link up with Old England allowing parking in Bowness is a real bonus. Will keep returning to - in our experience - the best deal in Bowness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed at the Fayrer garden for four nights on a special spring offer and it was excellent value for money. We stayed dinner, bed and breakfast and the food was fantastic. We stayed in the two rooms in the separate cottage and had no complaints. The bathrooms were clean and modern and the bedrooms nicely decorated and furnished. The beds were comfortable with ample room to get round them to the wardrobe, dressing table etc.
The hotel is set in lovely gardens and has plenty of outside seating areas should the weather be warm enough. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and had enough time to exchange a few words if you wanted.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The two rooms in the cottage are more private than the ground floor rooms in the main building and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is our 3rd stay here. We visit the lakes regularly, and this is our favourite place to stay. We have stayed in a lake view room which is a treat, and we have also stayed in the cottage which allows dogs. The staff are professional and friendly and the food is brilliant. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lauracalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We chose the Lake District for our now traditional short family break this year and booked into the Fayrer Garden.
None of us (8 persons) had stayed here before so we looked at TA and everybox appeared to be ticked. We all had lake view rooms. The two on the ground floor had french windows which opened onto the extensive gardens. Our room on the first floor had a juliet balcony and a jacuzzi bath. Comfortable bed and all the usual comforts including, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and home made biscuits.
Very well furnished lounge and bar, with large settees.
Dinner on the first night was well served and enjoyable, with coffee/tea back in the bar. We had evening meals on two other nights and ate out on the other two. We chose the two course menu for our later dinners. I was a little surprised that a hotel which lists five chefs on its menu does not change its menu more often. It appeared to be almost exactly the same each night, but that is not to take anything away from the quality of the meals. I think if we had eaten at the hotel each night we might have been running out of choices.
Breakfast was good with an individual cooked hot option, not lukewarm bacon etc from a hot plate.
Plenty of free parking in the grounds.
When we travelled round the Lake District we usually walked down to Bowness (about 15 mins) and caught a bus or boat from there. Dont forget your bus pass as they save a fortune. This is where the leisure facilities are situated which guests are permitted to use.
During our travels around the area we all agreed that we had not seen any other hotel we would have preferred to stay at. So a good choice, and we would be happy to return.
All staff were helpful, pleasant and looked after us very well.
As usual with the Lake District, the weather can make or break your holiday. We were lucky!

Room Tip: Lake view ones are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff2727_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent three nights dinner bed and breakfast at this hotel having seen it advertising special midweek breaks. The room was very comfortable and being on the ground floor had French windows leading to the garden. The staff were wonderful, very attentive and helpful. The food was excellent . A fair way from the lake but with lovely views of it from the room and the delightful dining room. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docrhid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £117 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing