We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hole in a wall in the room....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hole in a wall in the room....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

On arrival the driveway sweeps down to a stunning old and unique hotel in lovely surroundings and well kept grounds. Upon entering into the reception we stood and waited for approximately 5 minutes whilst we listened to the receptionist taking a booking and then giving instructions to the caller as to how to find the hotel! (Maybe acknowledge our presence and tell the caller 'I will call them back?') Anyway, we are taken to our room. FAYER GARDEN YOU WILL KNOW WHICH ROOM?!...... Our room overlooked the side car park?....... Upon entering the room, it looks nice and comfortable. A quick mooch round...and just to the right of the door to the room a gaping 3inch x 2inch HOLE IN THE WALL! Hmm! Also of the two bedside lamps, one lampshade obviously broken and very wobbly. We put our bags down and go out. On our return, I report the hole in the wall to the receptionist, I obviously don't want the blame coming back on us if it hasn't been noticed...... Reply from the receptionist is that 'WE KNOW ABOUT IT AND ARE LOOKING TO FIX IT'. OK?! (We are stopping for two nights but don't want to cause a scene.) We go down for dinner. The food is first rate. A bit annoyed at the chap who took our order: we order Pigeon as main. He asks "HAVE YOU HAD PIGEON BEFORE? ONLY SOME PEOPLE SOMETIMES DONT LIKE IT AND SEND IT BACK?" Well my friend, yes, we DO like pigeon, and venison, rabbit, pheasant, quail and other game....I'm really in the habit of ordering food I don't like and sending it back. Would this have been asked of us if we were more elderly? Anyway, as I said-great food and service in the restaurant apart from this. As for the sleep. It was very hot during our stay. Our room did not have ANY air conditioning OR fans nor did it have a small refrigerator to keep drinks etc cool. Apart from this, this is a nice hotel, in stunning surroundings. we used the gym and pool at the MacDonald Hotel in Bowness. Small good standard gym and pool. Pool had swim lessons on at the time so I'd phone a head to get a schedule. SO IN SUMMARY. This is a lovely romantic hotel. Very relaxing but when you consider the price you have the right to scrutinise and any hotel who starts charging high costs per room per night MUST get the basics right. Putting someone into a room KNOWING THERE IS A HOLE IN THE WALL IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. There should be free standing fans at the least AND a fridge to keep bottled water etc cool as standard. There was also no safe in the room as I saw. This should also be a given at the price . We would go back BUT I would be reminding them of the issues on our last visit and expecting an upgrade. I give the rating as 'average' based on the price for the room against the overall issues which should have been fixed in the room prior to us being put into it and what should be added. I could see my rating going up to excellent with more attention to detail and the guests.

Room Tip: Check where your room is situated in relation to the building. Remember the price is affected by whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    213
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
699
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

we returned to Fayrer Garden for the ninth or tenth time looking forward to the usual beautiful views, superb rooms and excellent service. We left feeling more than a bit let down. The views were as good as ever from our lake view room but some things had changed and not for the better.
On arriving for our first breakfast we were told that "as someone had nicked our table he'd set one up for us" this was at the back of the room with no lake view to enjoy over a languid breakfast. I was not happy and challenged this, as on all previous vists tables were allocated according to the room booked with the expensive lake view rooms also enjoying the best seats for dinner and breakfast which was "your" table for the duration of your stay. This view was supported by the restaurant manager referring to it as "our" table that was "nicked" and he didn't move them as they'd already sat down?? As the practice was to leave one's Newspaper on the table clearly indicating the name of the expected guest these other guests had indeed decided to knowingly take a table they were not allocated and we were denied a facility for which we had paid.
After breakfast and having the start iof our holiday spoiled i mentioned my disquiet to the lady in reception who in a rambling response told us that one's room no longer entitled guests to a set table for the stay, or even a lake view and tables were allocared by resaurant staff at their discretion which seemed at odds with "our" table having been "nicked",
In general though staff were pleasant enough the very high standard of old had undoubtedly slipped and the Menu for dinner was the same for four days, this was a major deterioration in service and limited choice by the end of our stay.
Fayrer garden has fallen from excellent and thus worth its lofty prices to just OK and thus not good value. Time for a change methinks - something I haven't contemplated until now so Fayrer ye well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartinDMaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJW84, Manager at The Ryebeck, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Firstly, I’m glad you that enjoyed the views. From what you said to me in person you also seemed to enjoy the food you had whilst staying with us so I'm glad about that.

I would like to clarify that the tables in our restaurant never have been and never will be 'paid for'. We allocate tables for dinner on a purely random basis and tables at breakfast are first come first served. The greatest shame in all of this is that you let what should have been a minor blip in your morning routine become such a huge event. Brian tried his best to make light of the situation by using the phrase 'nicked' before immediately offering you another table in the restaurant. For whatever reason, you refused this. I think it would have been unreasonable to uproot a couple who were midway through their breakfast. By the way, our breakfast, and the people that produce it, haven't changed in the last 8 years. Having said that we are due to make changes to the breakfast format and introduce some more fresh fruit and pastries.

Since you are a regular visitor to Fayrer, it is a real shame that you fail to mention that since your last visit we have completed renovated the room which you are in, and added a lot of extras which were never previously included in the room rate. The main bulk of our staff, including the gentleman in the restaurant and the rambling receptionist, have all worked here for many years and so it's a pity that you think they aren’t doing as well as they once were. Whilst we are at it, it's also disappointing that you've never taken the time to write a review about a stay that you have enjoyed with us. After all, if you've been back 9 times, we must have done something right at some point!

Whilst we are, of course, disappointed in the fact you didn't enjoy your stay as much as we both would have liked, it is hard for us to see what more we could have done to prevent this from happening.

Best Wishes ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Lovely hotel about 25 min walk to Bowness and £4.00 in a taxi. The hotel is set in acres of lovely gardens and very peaceful and quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Not a lot of staff there as it always seem to be the same guy for the bar and breakfast. The room was nice but bit disappointed in the bathroom as this was very compact, and had a electric power shower which made a noise when you used it. There was a hole in the main door to our room, which we were not very impressed with. Breakfast was nice. We were a bit disappointed that you had to use The Old England Hotel for their swimming pool, as this now taking on coach parties, I think this would be difficult to manage to swim.

Do not think we would stay there again but would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_W_Owner, General Manager at The Ryebeck, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of Fayrer Garden. I'm really glad you found our hotel peaceful and quiet. We have spent the last few days trying to work out which of our rooms has a hole in the door, but have yet to find anything other than the one you put the key into?! Please help.

The standard rooms are the smallest but we think they represent great value for money. I do hope you decide to come and stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Booked a last minute, impulse Sunday night on line deal (Cream Tea/ Room Upgrade/Dinner/Full Breakfast) at this hotel for my wife and myself as a last minute birthday present. The deal was good and the Hotel looked the small, independant, peaceful sort of place that we like. So the chance was taken. We were not disapointed.. The hotel is in a good spot above Bowness, with nice views over the lake -- our room was at the front of the hotel so we had the same views. Cream Tea, coffee and the Sunday papers in the lounge was a wonderful way to start to unwind and it only got better from then on. The Dinner was excellent and with the added bonus of watching the sunset over the lake as we ate, coffee in the bar and then a final stroll in the gardens before turning in ended a pleasant, relaxing day.. Breakfast the following morning was a fine way to begin the day before, sadly checking out. All of the staff were efficent, attentive and pleasant. My wife and I would definatly go back to this hotel and would have no hesitation recomending the Fayrer to anyone

Room Tip: Try to get the deal with the free upgarde - we were given a large fourposter and jacussi bath. Give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keithtatum1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. We booked through a web site and were unaware that we could have had a dinner and B&B deal. There was a superb fixed price dinner but we were not told the price. When I asked I thought it was slightly expensive. We had a basic room which was small. I would recommend that people go for an all in deal and upgrade to a bigger room. The staff were friendly and efficient. I would recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

Room Tip: The basic rooms, especially room 23, are small, suggest an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W Humphrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigginton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

What an enjoyable Sunday lunch we had here. We were staying with friends in Cumbria and booked Fayrer Garden Hotel for lunch where we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a superb location and as it was a beautiful day we sat outside for a drink whilst we chose our meal and wine. The staff were all friendly and the service throughout was attentive but not intrusive, a good combination. We were shown to a table in the window with a lovely view of the gardens with Lake Windermere in the distance. Three of us had beetroot salmon with avocado and dill ice cream and the fourth person had asparagus mousse with feta and tomato for our first course and all of us were very pleased with our choice. Our main course choices were pan fried beef and Yorkshire and roast fillet of pork with apple purée. The beef was suitably rare and tender and the pork was both a piece of fillet and a piece of belly pork with crackling, both of which were tender and all was nicely served with tiny broad beans and carrots and potatoes. For dessert we chose either a small chewy meringue, honeycomb parfait served with a slice of pear or apple cheesecake with apple crumble and apple icecream. Everyone was delighted with their dessert which was beautifully presented and tasted great too. We sat outside for coffee and felt that we had had a very enjoyable meal which was excellent value for money in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Probably 4th or 5th visit to this hotel and never been disappointed. Dinner bed & breakfast for £99 for two people is great value. Staff and service is friendly & efficient, food is top quality (with sole exception of breakfast sausage which is could be improved) - Brian runs the restaurant with the right mixture of formality and friendliness and rooms are clean, comfortable and high standard. Views and gardens are lovely and everything maintained to high standard. The link up with Old England allowing parking in Bowness is a real bonus. Will keep returning to - in our experience - the best deal in Bowness.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing