We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delusions of grandeur”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. Fayrer is located delightfully with views (through some trees) to Lake Windermere. It is also in a pleasant quiet location which allows for a fairly easy walk down the hill to town - and a slightly harder one back up the hill. The common areas are light and comfortably furnished and make good use of the view. The staff were friendly and obliging and the meals (we had breakfast every day) were of reasonable quality. So why a rating of Average? The quality (including maintained level of fittings and furnishings) of the actual accommodation (room) was below what you pay for. Our carpets were getting old and had numerous dark stains. The chair provided for the desk / vanity was even worse and it made us wonder what previous occupants had been up to. The carpets were what seemed a light tan colour BUT originally almost cream if you look under the bedside drawers - so they either needed a proper clean or they need to be changed out. Our room was vacuumed maybe twice in the 5 days. The sheets were changed only after we asked after night 4. We didn't eat any evening meals there as the prices were over the top for what is equally available elsewhere at a better price. The mattress on our double bed was indented from previous occupants meaning it was a bit hammock like at times and replacement is needed. The attention to cleaning up spilled and dropped food in the restaurant and common areas also needs to be attended to more often than it seems to be. To cap it, our 'garden room' was just a room with a small outside area that looked onto a pathway and the hedge that screens the carpark - that's not a garden in anyone's book. If Fayrer wants to actually be what it seems to be trying to be then it's the details that will make the difference.

Room Tip: Possibly a Lake room will give you more - but not sure if the extra money will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Set in extensive well tended gardens and overlooking Lake Windermere, this hotel has a lot to commend it. We stayed in a small room at the front (18), looking out onto a very pleasant lawn and flowerbeds. The room was well equipped with plenty of drawers and a good sized wardrobe. The tea and coffee provided were of very good quality as was the television. The bed was comfortable. Larger rooms and ones at the back overlooking the lake were more expensive, as you'd expect, but since we didn't plan spending much daytime in the room it didn't seem worth the extra. We were on a special three night Bed, Breakfast and Dinner deal booked through Great Little Breaks which was exceptional value.

The breakfast options were as varied as you could wish, with an excellent cooked breakfast available. A time slot was booked for dinner and the dinners were of a very good standard, though leaning towards Nouvelle Cuisine which may not be to everyone's taste. Very large, often square, plates tend to diminish the apparent size of portions which is a pity because they were perfectly adequate. The quality of the food and cooking were both excellent. Hors d'oeuvres were served in the bar beforehand while orders were being placed from the menu. This was the same menu all week which, since it was well constructed, meant you didn't have to make choices and feel you were missing out. We liked this idea. The very welcome, though nowadays all too rare facility whereby you could buy a bottle of wine and have it kept for you between meals offset the rather expensive wine menu.and there was also the very civilised rule that mobile phones were not allowed to be used in the dining room.
The restaurant and lounge overlook the huge back lawn and gardens and have a good view of the lake between the numerous trees. Coffee was served in the lounge or at the table.

We had the use of the spa at the centrally located Old England Hotel in Bowness. We didn't use the spa, though apparently it was good, but being able to use the car park there was a great boon. That hotel is close by the main boat and bus terminal and so very well placed for excursions by boat and the excellent local bus services which include an semi-open-topped route up to the top of the lake at Grasmere. Day explorer tickets are available although we were able to use our bus passes.

The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently and loved the superior lake view room and the public areas of the hotel. Staff were lovely but it was all let down by the food which is an important part of the experience. The portions as stated by some other reviewers on our first night were miniscule but good quality. On the second night (same menu slightly larger portions) my duck meat was lovely but the skin and fat around it were undercooked. We asked for extra vegetables at our 7pm booking but were told with apologies that we could only have one portion as there weren't enough extra vegetables to go round! I would stay again but not for dinner. Our rating of average for value is based on this. We were on a travelzoo deal and wondered if this was reflected in the choice/content of the food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

For us the hotel ticked all boxes. The location, service, value, cleanliness and especially the food were all excellent. We loved our room (no.1) situated on the ground floor with its own verandah and beautiful views across the well kept gardens to the lake itself.

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay for us, which we would like to repeat some time soon. We would, as you will by now gather, highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay.

A footnote to management: we had to search out the box to tip the staff. A little more prominence would not be out of place to acknowledge and appreciation of staff and their service!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank barcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked the afternoon tea with prosecco (through TravelZoo) as part of our 30th wedding anniversary short break and were delighted with our experience.Great greeting on arrival (earlier than planned), staff very friendly and attentive. We took tea on the terrace on large, padded chairs overlooking the lake and were delighted with the excellent tea which finished with Lime sorbet & Pimms jelly - DIVINE.

Room Tip: Go for a Terrace table unless raining!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarkingMad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This fabulous country house hotel stands in beautiful grounds! What a wonderful first impression! The room was furnished to a high standard with lots of storage space, and was spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided,The bathroom was on the small side and we found the shower curtain was positioned so that if you weren't careful the water overflowed the side of the bath - a longer shower curtain would help. Towels great. The staff were very courteous and helpful, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. On the whole this hotel ticked all the boxes, maybe the stair carpet looked a bit tired and there was a lack of draught beers available but it didn't put us off and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We booked the afternoon tea with prosecco through TravelZoo and were delighted with our experience. The hotel is decorated in a 'Laura Ashley meets Beatrix Potter' kind of very comfortable style, with tables and chairs on the terrace overlooking the grounds running down to the lake. Yes, the view would be improved if some of the trees were lopped, but it is a lovely location as it is. The staff were very welcoming, attentive and friendly and our afternoon tea was just excellent! Although we have one and a half hearty apetites between two of us, we both brought cakes away (in a cardboard box from the hotel). All in all a very pleasant, civilised experience and one to be recommended. Thanks to all concerned.

Room Tip: Not appropriate as we had afternoon tea not a bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holiday096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe
Lindeth Howe
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £93 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing