We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Superb food, lovely staff"”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“"Superb food, lovely staff"”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed one night D/B/B - Lake view room with lovely bathroom! One niggle - the carpet in the bedroom needed cleaning - stains all over! (Room 11). Other than that couldn't fault this hotel and we will return. The staff were very welcoming - nice relaxed atmosphere and the dinner was excellent - the venison starter was superb as was the rest of the meal. Lovely grounds and views - short walk to the ferry for Hawkshead. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    220
    62
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
720
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Had a excellent 3 night stay with meals included which were of an excellent standard and would definately return. Staff made you feel very welcome. Made our wedding anniversary a very special occasion. Home made biscuits and filtered coffee in the rooms were just part of the little touches that make such a difference to a great stay, thank you once again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PWMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Spent two days at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel and was very disappointed. We were put in,what they called the cottage, which was a few metres away from the hotel. It was a standard room and nothing like the photos on their website. Unless the rooms in the hotel itself are different, which they assured me that they were all of the same standard, this one was tired, small and cold. The bathroom was dirty and run down. No television in the hotel itself although there was one in the room (with a poor signal). The menu was a bit pretentious and lacking in substance. Loved the Lakes but would stay in a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We recently stayed here for one night dinner bed and breakfast, first impressions were good a lovely country house set in acres of beautiful gardens,our room was comfortable and had a good view of the lake,however the interior was dated and the evening meal was awful,it was undercooked,cold and just generally not very good.the breakfast was better,not value for money and will not be returning for a second visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A return visit for 3 nights, after a 16 year gap! The hotel has changed hands since then and is almost unrecognisable from the previous visit. We had a room with a colourful garden view and enjoyed 3 peaceful nights sleep. Lovely grounds overlooking Lake Windermere and hills beyond, 2 comfortable lounges, a lovely outside terrace and large conservatory with large panoramic windows used as a dining area for all meals. The food and service was excellent. Plenty of choice for the self service buffet breakfast (fried breakfast was waiter service). The evening dinner is 3 courses for £42.50 per person, which is aiming for the more discernible diner, however as I hold a tastecard, I was able to obtain a 2 for 1 offer for both nights we ate here. Strangely all the waiting staff were young males and the reception staff were female.
a few minor points - the bay window roof had a leak and water was dripping on the carpet in 1 of the lounges on the 1 day it rained. There were several gnats in our room when we arrived which we had to chase and remove before thinking about sleep. The bed was a decent size but the room housing it was a bit small.
We would definitely return here though.
I would recommend a combined ferry/steam train ticket for £14.75 return. Ferry from Bowness to Lakeside, then train to Haverthwaite. we then walked from Haverthwaite into Backborrow and enjoyed a nice coffee cafetiere in the Whitewater Hotel on their terrace overlooking the river and weir in the warm sunshine - lovely.

Room Tip: room 16 was a bit small, on the road side of hotel but no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prentonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our second 2 night stay . Our room (No 2) was delightful with french doors opening onto a lovely paved patio with a table and chairs offering panoramic views towards the lake. Although on a quiet corner, we did get the occasional guest stroll past and stare into our room making it far from private.
We looked forward to relaxing in the Hotel's lovely lounge with it's beautiful panoramic views only to find it crammed full of guests taking afternoon cream teas from their travelzoo deals meaning we had to wait for a seat.
We later went into the lounge for pre dinner drinks and were served tasty canopies whilst we studied the menu before being escorted into the restaurant. We enjoyed the meal on the first night but struggled for choice on the second night (the menu is the same on all nights). When you consider what you have paid for the evening meal (their website values it at £42.50 each), we would have much preferred to have ordered a taxi and ate at one of the many excellent restaurants in Windermere for our second night.
The staff were friendly and courteous and the breakfast was excellent!

Room Tip: Room 2 is in a lovely setting on the ground floor with french doors offering panoramic views towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryMLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here with my wife and parents-in-law for 2 nights in September (4-6th). Its well located, has a nice view and the rooms were modern and comfortable. Indeed the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was cosy and classy. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The dinner time menu was faultless. You cannot lose by booking this place for a nice break in the lake district. I do recommend this place, and looking at other people's reviews, they seem to agree.
If I go back to the lake district anytime soon, it will be here that I book.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MobyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing