We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fayrer Garden House Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fayrer Garden House Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We just spent one night here in a garden view room. We had an excellent time, enjoying cream scones and bubbly on arrival. Our room was spacious with homemade biscuits and tea/coffee facilities in the room. Quality bath products in each room. Staff were friendly & service good. The lounges were pleasant and nothing looked shabby. We visited as part of a Travelzoo offer which represented excellent value for money. Food excellent. I will definitely make a return visit. Many thanks to all of the staff who made our visit so memorable.

Room Tip: I can recommend the garden view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    211
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
96
688
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

First congratulations to whoever selects and trains the staff, they set the ambience and welcoming feel of this delightful small hotel. Our room was well appointed with a lovely view of the garden. The lounge and dining room were a pleasure to use. The meals were excellent and well served. Talk about value for money, this place provides it.
The walk Into Bowness takes about 25 minutes at pensioniata pace. The return up Kendal Road is a more gentle gradient than starting off along the shore. The hotel gardens frame lovely views of lake and hills.
Altogether completely excellent stay.
Only one extra we would have liked, the morning paper outside the room rather than downstairs, we are lazy!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WandererPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

A Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Great for exploring the Lakes. A 10 - 15 min walk into Bowness. Friendly, helpful staff. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfasts were fab! Would go again and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

A brief 'bubble' out of reality to this wonderful hotel.
Booked through Travelzoo and had a great time.
Went with a friend to celebrate her 60th birthday. Beautiful place, with excellent food and ambiance.
I wish we had stayed longer.
Highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a 'lake view' room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FitforaKing365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a lovely hotel in a beautiful spot. But it was fine dining. Nothing wrong with that I hear you say, but if you are looking for steak and chips then do not go to this hotel. Having said that the breakfasts were delicious. Also the room we were in was not very private. Our room was No 3 - on the ground floor- we could see the gardener going about his duties - the waiter having a crafty cigarette in the bushes - the refuse men collecting the rubbish. If we could see them they could certainly see us - you do not want to close the curtains during the daylight.We did suggest some kind of fine net up at the windows. Unfortunately there is nothing on the web site to say this hotel is fine dining. Although we had paid for two nights- on the second night we chose to eat in a restaurant in Bowness. We will not be returning

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divine2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay, very good value('Great little break') All staff very attentive, especially in the bar and dining room;nothing was too much trouble, and at each meal , service was professional and unobtrusive but relaxed and friendly.Meals were delicious, both evening meals and breakfast.A nice touch was the canapes with your pre-dinner drink in the bar as you chose your meal.The rooms had some extra touches which made the stay a bit special-eg. locally sourced toiletries,enormous fluffy bath towels,jacuzzi bath. The hotel was in a great position for exploring the Lake District. Would definitely recommend , and hope to return again.Thank you Fayrer Garden.

Room Tip: Room 6 was on the ground floor and very quiet.Only slight negatives were a few marks on the carpet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed one night D/B/B - Lake view room with lovely bathroom! One niggle - the carpet in the bedroom needed cleaning - stains all over! (Room 11). Other than that couldn't fault this hotel and we will return. The staff were very welcoming - nice relaxed atmosphere and the dinner was excellent - the venison starter was superb as was the rest of the meal. Lovely grounds and views - short walk to the ferry for Hawkshead. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing