We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel perfect location for a lovely Sunday walk into bowness”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel perfect location for a lovely Sunday walk into bowness”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a lovely night in the hotel cannot fault anything about it the cleanliness the staff the food were all excellent, had a lovely 30 minute walk into bowness the next morning absolutely perfect for a night away from it all. Will def return x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    213
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
694
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Good Hotel - great experience from checking in to checking out. Warm and friendly welcome upon arrival. Part of our deal was to have afternoon tea & scones + prosecco upon arrival however as we had some distance to travel and arrived early evening, we were offered the prosecco prior to dining (if we wished) and the tea & freshly made scones the following day rather than forfeiting them which I felt was rather thoughtful. We upgraded to a superior lake view room for a fairly nominal charge & were well pleased indeed with its excellent standard and views. Very comfortable bed and had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was very clean and had a good shower. Service was excellent. Prior to dining, Canapes were served while we were having a few drinks in the lounge - what a lovely & totally unexpected surprise.
The dining room itself was fine but I felt could do with a little modernisation in decor, however its views more than compensated. Some portions of food seemed small but having completed all courses, we were suitably satisfied and perhaps a little thankful after all. Public areas were clean, very comfortable and tastefully furnished. French doors opened from the public rooms onto a large patio area overlooking the extensive gardens and water fountain. Quite an idyllic, peaceful setting to chill out & relax, with good service, good food, and a comfortable night's sleep.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to upgrade to a superior lake view room, although some of the standard rooms may no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have just spent an evening at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel with a group of friends and enjoyed every minute of it from the cream tea in the afternoon to a wonderful evening meal and an excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the rooms were very clean. We had a garden room with doors opening out onto a veranda and a view of the lake - pity the weather wasn't a bit better.Look forward to staying there again

Room Tip: recommend a lake view room the views are outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just enjoyed our first stay at the Fayrer gardens. From the beginning to the end the experience was extremely relaxing.We sat looking out onto the beautiful gardens,with a view of the lake,enjoying our cream tea. The evening meal was excellent quality..plenty of it.It began with canapes in the bar area whilst choosing your meal..this was followed by aperitifs.. three amazing courses and strawberries to finish.As soon as you enter the Fayrer gardens you can feel yourself instantly relax.A fabulous find and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traypa71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We (5) spent a comfortable night in the hotel as a stopover using four rooms (2 singles, 2 doubles). We decided to eat in Bowness so we could see something of the town, so can't comment on the hotel dinner, other than it would have been considerably more expensive. The breakfast was an excellent Full English, with fruit, juice, cereal available in the buffet area and cooked food served at table. The service was good, as were the views down to the lake from the dining room, marred somewhat by the greyness of the drizzle that morning. The hotel grounds were attractive, with a large, downhill lawn to the rear. We'd happily return if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a hotel you will want to return to. The autumn colours in the garden were outstanding just in the view from our bedroom and bathroom windows, even in the gloom of a threatening October sky. It rained a lot when we were there, but I definitely want to return in the spring to walk around the extensive grounds. We arrived at 2 pm and our room was ready so we could drop our bags then enjoy delicious coffee and freshly baked scones with jam and cream, all washed down with a glass of prosecco. The lounge has lovely comfortable sofas with a view over lake Windermere. We chatted to a lovely local man who comes to the hotel twice a week for coffee and cake. Off to the sites and sounds of lively Bowness, then back to the hotel for an inventive fine dining experience. You book a timed slot for evening dining and everything runs very smoothly. Canapes were served to us in the lounge while we perused the menu, then on arriving at our table we had an unexpected amuse bouche before our starters arrived. Following our main course and dessert we retired back to the lounge where we were served delicious coffee and chocolates. The next morning we could barely do justice to the wonderful breakfast choices but managed to fit in a well cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. Our room was not large but with adjustable heating controls and the queen bed supremely comfortable. Nice touches were the quality toiletries (locally produced) and filter coffee in the bedroom, with a jar of nice biscuits. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a base, but advise having some meals out in the many restaurants around Bowness, as the hotel menu does not change each evening and there is a limited choice for vegetarians.

Room Tip: We were in room 18 and over the kitchens and all night there was the noise of a fan going, which dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_Stu_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The dining room, lounge and bar are sumptuously furnished with superb views, and the food is quite exceptional. My compliments to the Chef(s)! The extensive grounds and garden is impressive.
The minor fly in the otherwise excellent hotel is the less than modern bathroom/toilet: scrupulously clean with nice toiletries, but the washbasin had separate hot and cold taps rather than a mixer tap and the lighting for shaving was challenging!
I would strongly recommend the hotel for the dining alone, and for the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing