We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and I have to say we have had a wonderful time. We got a deal through Travel Zoo, which included breakfast, dinner with canapés and afternoon tea with prosecco. I have never known such value for money, the food was exceptional, the location absolutely stunning and the staff were friendly, polite and professional. My only complaint was our shower in room 6 never got warm and I informed the staff about this, more for the benefit of future guests as we were only there for one night. We came with our close friends and all agreed we would come again. Well done to everyone involved in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I visited here back in April for a short break and found it to be the most relaxing break we have ever had.....so much so, that we returned again a couple of weeks ago and found it exactly as it was earlier this year..

What makes it relaxing?

The setting......the feel of a country house, rather than a hotel......the ambience.....the service....the staff......the afternoon tea with homemade scones, jam, cream, topped off with a glass of prosecco.....whilst sat in the very relaxing comfortable lounge overlooking the stunning views of the lake and surrounding hills...... and the feel of everything goes at YOUR pace...

I have to add that I have never seen the staff anywhere who are more pleasant, with nothing too much trouble at all.....and a special mention has to go to Gosia as she is truly an ASSET to the establishment......... If you go then you'll see what we mean!

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the food excellent .....( the only thing that I would add personally)....is I think that a side dish of vegetables wouldn't go amiss with dinner.....but that is just my own opinion......but the quality of food and presentation is EXCELLENT!!

All in all we have been here twice now, and we are already talking about when to go back.....

Thank you to everyone at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel for making my Birthday a very memorable one!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3-12-2015kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been to this lovely hotel twice now. We where on a Travelzoo deal and the value for money was incredible.The hotel's position is a 15minute walk into Bowness. When we arrived we where treated to a glass of Procsesso, coffee and warm scones with cream and jam. A lovely room followed with homemade biscuits etc. Our evening meal was superb with canapes, pre meal tasters, and a meal worthy of 6 stars.Afterwards we even had delicious mini cakes with our coffee.
The breakfast was equally excellent with smoked salmon, fresh made mini danish pastries,and fresh fruit, We would recommend this Hotel to everyone, All the staff where so kind and helpful. Excellent is the only word I can use. .

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patchwork_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We visited on a travelzoo deal expecting to be satisfied. Well, we were more than satisfied. The hotel is spotless, the staff professional, friendly, willing and courteous with 100 % consistency. The hotel is in a lovely spot with the lounge and dining room affording superb views over Lake Windermere. The food is just great - they are blessed with a superb chef - we cannot fault the menu, its creativity, choice and execution. Dinner starts with delightful freshly made canapés in the bar and ends wit hand made petit four with coffee - a real pleasure. The dining room is comfortable with tables spaced nicely and soft lighting and just enough volume on the background music to create atmosphere without being intrusive. Breakfast is good, freshly cooked and hot.

Rooms comfortable and refreshingly 'non corporate' in style with free standing oak furniture. Homemade biscuits in a jar, refreshed every day are lovely, as is the cream tea with prosecco in the lounge in the afternoon.

We will come again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyoldpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from the Fayrer Garden Hotel having had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff, the food was perfect in every way, we had a wonderful night's sleep and the setting was sublime. We managed to get a special deal so the whole experience was very good value for money indeed and we will certainly return next year if the same deal is still running.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We got married at the Fayrer Garden in 2009 and have returned since on our anniversaries. From our first viewing right through to our departure as husband and wife, nothing was too much trouble for the staff here. The location is gorgeous (tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Bowness), the decor is immaculate and the food is gorgeous.

Our wedding breakfast was served by candlelight in the stunning restaurant overlooking Lake Windermere. A truly magical experience made perfect by the service we received.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Have just spent a lovely night in the hotel cannot fault anything about it the cleanliness the staff the food were all excellent, had a lovely 30 minute walk into bowness the next morning absolutely perfect for a night away from it all. Will def return x

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £117 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing