We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here on a travelzoo deal and we couldnt bekieve the excellent service and food that we experienced at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. The cream tea with prosecco was lovely, the evening meal with canapes was amazing and the breakfast second to none. A lovely relaxing break which we will definitely repeat in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    213
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
699
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Fayrer Garden on a Travelzoo offer - purchased by my lovely son and daughter in law. Added a second night at our own expense. Absolutely first class from beginning to end. Exceptional food, stunning location. Staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnej1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We took advantage of a weekend offer and stayed her overnight to break a trip from Edinburgh to London

Apart fom finding we had no hot water in the room we cannot fault the hotel for its welcome, cleanliness and attentive staff.

The evening meal was first class and the room very comfortable. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed last Sunday for one night on a Travelzoo offer - Prosecco & cream tea on arrival, 3 course evening meal & breakfast of your choice, all for £99 for both of us! Also had free use of the Spa and pool facilities at the Old England Hotel in Bowness, just a short drive away.
Can only reiterate what others have already said - lovely hotel with beautiful grounds, well appointed and very comfy room, very friendly & polite staff, exceptional food. Cannot fault anything and will be definitely be returning.
Thankyou to all at Fayrer Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and I have to say we have had a wonderful time. We got a deal through Travel Zoo, which included breakfast, dinner with canapés and afternoon tea with prosecco. I have never known such value for money, the food was exceptional, the location absolutely stunning and the staff were friendly, polite and professional. My only complaint was our shower in room 6 never got warm and I informed the staff about this, more for the benefit of future guests as we were only there for one night. We came with our close friends and all agreed we would come again. Well done to everyone involved in making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I visited here back in April for a short break and found it to be the most relaxing break we have ever had.....so much so, that we returned again a couple of weeks ago and found it exactly as it was earlier this year..

What makes it relaxing?

The setting......the feel of a country house, rather than a hotel......the ambience.....the service....the staff......the afternoon tea with homemade scones, jam, cream, topped off with a glass of prosecco.....whilst sat in the very relaxing comfortable lounge overlooking the stunning views of the lake and surrounding hills...... and the feel of everything goes at YOUR pace...

I have to add that I have never seen the staff anywhere who are more pleasant, with nothing too much trouble at all.....and a special mention has to go to Gosia as she is truly an ASSET to the establishment......... If you go then you'll see what we mean!

The rooms are comfortable and clean, the food excellent .....( the only thing that I would add personally)....is I think that a side dish of vegetables wouldn't go amiss with dinner.....but that is just my own opinion......but the quality of food and presentation is EXCELLENT!!

All in all we have been here twice now, and we are already talking about when to go back.....

Thank you to everyone at the Fayrer Garden House Hotel for making my Birthday a very memorable one!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-12-2015kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have been to this lovely hotel twice now. We where on a Travelzoo deal and the value for money was incredible.The hotel's position is a 15minute walk into Bowness. When we arrived we where treated to a glass of Procsesso, coffee and warm scones with cream and jam. A lovely room followed with homemade biscuits etc. Our evening meal was superb with canapes, pre meal tasters, and a meal worthy of 6 stars.Afterwards we even had delicious mini cakes with our coffee.
The breakfast was equally excellent with smoked salmon, fresh made mini danish pastries,and fresh fruit, We would recommend this Hotel to everyone, All the staff where so kind and helpful. Excellent is the only word I can use. .

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patchwork_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing