We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely hotel and we weren't disappointed which often you can be when returning. We were there early November and had a very comfortable and warm room overlooking the garden. Facilities in the room were good , a nice touch, the home made biscuits which were topped up on our second day. We bought two travelzoo deals which at the time included cream scones, prosecco and tea or coffee each afternoon which we enjoyed in the very comfortable and warm lounge which had stunning views over the lake. Dinner was excellent with a good choice, very tasty and the breakfast was lovely as well, I usually opt for the full English and I wasn't disappointed. All of the staff we found to be very friendly, it was nice to meet one or two of the staff members we met a few years ago. Would we go back, of course we would !

Room Tip: We had a garden room, I suppose it would be nice to overlook the lake but of course you don't sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Railton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    217
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
101
711
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My partner and I went for dinner on a pre-Christmas deal and had a most enjoyable experience.The staff were friendly and attentive (without being intrusive),the service was prompt and efficient,and there was an excellent choice of dishes for all courses.The food was flavoursome and beautifully presented (even if substance was sacrificed for style in some instances),and the house wines were most acceptable.The dining room had a nice ambience and outlook,and the lounges were warm and comfortable.
We were served with canapes,amuse bouches,three courses,coffee and petit fours for £29.50 per person.Great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tas-Sliema, null, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here on our Anniversary with the offer "two nights tasty" and had our breakfast and dinner included which was a really good deal! The staff was very gracious and polite. The common rooms are cosy and beautifully decorated.
The view from the room was very nice and the size was good enough too BUT for the price, the room was not great. The main door handle was weak and difficult to open and the bathroom door would not close until slammed! The room furniture (except for the bed) looked out of place and was arranged such that the way to the bathroom was crammed. The passage to the room was littered with laundry in the morning.
The overall experience was nice but would not stay here again unless we know that considerable improvements have been done to the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kritika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

went for fine dining, luxury surroundings and attentive staff. Got all three !!! Had a short break before xmas had a great time, lovely ambience, great staff cannot wait for my next break. thanks very much.

Room Tip: just had standard room but had everything we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickyNelsonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed on a Travelzoo deal, and were really impressed with the hotel. It would have been good value at full price, even better with the deal. We were welcomed as honoured guests, no airs or graces but really friendly. We had the cream tea in the afternoon with great service for a simple afternoon tea. The evening meal started with canapés and went on to a wonderful four courses which rivalled the best we've had for service and food quality. We were struck by the quiet and slept well, then breakfast was another treat. Somewhere to look forward to returning to, can't wait for an excuse.

Room Tip: Not all rooms look out on the lake, so worth asking when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here on a travelzoo deal and we couldnt bekieve the excellent service and food that we experienced at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was amazing. The cream tea with prosecco was lovely, the evening meal with canapes was amazing and the breakfast second to none. A lovely relaxing break which we will definitely repeat in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Recently stayed at the Fayrer Garden on a Travelzoo offer - purchased by my lovely son and daughter in law. Added a second night at our own expense. Absolutely first class from beginning to end. Exceptional food, stunning location. Staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnej1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing