We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful pre-Xmas break”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
England, UK
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Peaceful pre-Xmas break”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night using a Travelzoo voucher which included bed, breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner. We never sampled the afternoon tea as we were late in arriving due to bad weather, we were offered the chance to take it the next day but our other plans got in the way.
The room was compact but was comfortable and the toiletries were very nice. We had drinks in the bar/lounge and were happy to find a good range of soft drinks (I am pregnant) which were not over-priced which was doubly refreshing! Dinner was served in the conservatory dining room which overlooks the garden and lake. Service was a little rigid-one of the waiters seemed a little taken aback by our request to have tea and coffee served along with our pudding in the dining room and not (gasp!) the lounge, but he got over it!
Breakfast was very good and the location is fantastic for visiting Windermere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingManc_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    221
    64
    8
    5
See reviews for
109
727
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a short break, it exceeded our expectations. The welcome from the reception staff was warm and friendly, the room and bathroom was spotlessly clean as was the hotel in general. Dining at the hotel was a wonderful experience the food was carefully prepared by skilled chefs and was presented by attentive but not fussy dining room staff and the quality and freshness of ingredients was apparent as each course revealed excellent flavours. The portions were just right and you left the table amply satisfied. The beds were very comfortable and rooms quiet, the hotel is off the main road and whilst our room faced the main road there was no sound of traffic as the hotel was screened by large trees. We would certainly return to this hotel again for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pastelman10Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed last night for one night with fiancee. Looks to of been refurbished compared to the official website pics. Service amazing....staff so polite and professional. All communal rooms are beautiful.....bedroom was very cosy and quaint. Grounds and view lovely.....oh and the breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesh291183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and and our wee dog had a lovely one night break last weekend and could not fault any part of our stay. The room was ideal for us in the cottage, the staff could not have been more friendly or done any more to make our stay perfect. The setting is beautiful overlooking Lake Windermere and although we only live locally, we plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire uk
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Ok, if it's 5* luxury surroundings you're after...this isn't the place for you. But I found this hotel to have the most welcoming & attentive staff, wonderful food & a warm, clean & cosy bed for the night. Yes, the decor is rather tired, but don't let that put you off. It's a home from home, & I will certainly stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irishroverCheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWANSEA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Visited for 2 nights in mid December for a party. Wonderful hotel with beautiful rooms - food was exceptional served by the most accommodating staff who made the stay perfect. The 6/8 course taster menu was one of the best meals I've eaten! Afternoon tea was fresh scones served with plenty of tea or coffee in the delightful lounge. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We visited for an overnight stay mid December and met up with friends. Absolutely outstanding hotel with lovely friendly staff, fantastic food, lovely warm rooms and great views of Lake Windermere! Afternoon tea an absolute delight also!

We will most definitely return and recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
381 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing