We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bowness”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at The Ryebeck. What a great place! The food is the best hotel meal that I have ever eaten. From the nibbles with our pre-meal drinks, the food just kept coming and none of the courses failed to impress. We took Afternoon Tea on the 2nd day and again the quality was amazing, washed down by a glass of chilled Prosecco. The perfect pick me up, after a hike up Helvellyn across Striding Edge.
All of the staff we encountered were friendly, courteous, and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a lake view room and although the hotel is not lakeside, it is still a great view to wake up to each morning. Room was spotless with ample supplies of tea, coffee, sugar and biscuits. The gardens are impressive and very colourful in mid-May; I even spotted a Deer in the front garden one evening. We ate in town on the second night and a taxi from the hotel into Bowness cost about £4.
The unexpected warm dry weather certainly helped but you couldn't fail to enjoy the hospitality at The Ryebeck, whatever the conditions outside.
We certainly hope to return sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

After a bit of confusion over our booking, I must admit I had some misgivings about this hotel. But they were completely unfounded. We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The staff were welcoming and, although busy, were always happy to spare time to help or discuss anything. I felt that nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel looks as though it has recently been refurbished and manages successfully to blend modern with traditional decor. Everywhere, including the bedrooms, was spotlessly clean. Our bedroom (9), although not large, was very pleasant, comfortable and had a well appointed modern bathroom. The best thing about the room, though, was the spectacular view across Lake Windermere. There was no WiFi reception in the room but it could be accessed in the lounge for free.
The dinner servings were not large but were adequate, excellently presented and delicious. Just how I like them! Breakfast was also very good. If I had a small reservation it would be that the dinner menu does not appear to change very often and could become repetitive for more than a short stay.
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night Travelzoo break here and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were looking for a dog friendly hotel in bowness, and the Ryebeck look great and had a special offer on for dinner bed and breakfast we stayed for 2 night. initially we booked for one and we were having such a good time we booked for a 2nd night.

Our room was lovely and spacious it was a cottage style room apart from the hotel which houses 2 rooms for people taking their dogs. The gardens at the are beautiful with views of Lake Windemere and our dog could walk around whilst we had a drink looking at the lake which was iddylic.

Dinner was a fabulous experience great service which started with canapes and cocktails in the plush bar browsing the brilliant wine list followed by a 3 course dinner with the best cheese board I have had in a long time.!

Approx and 15 min walk to Bowness which a lovely place. A brillant stay we are returning next month we enjoyed it so much.!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissJG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We (four of us) had an overnight 'Travelzoo offer' at the Ryebeck - 2 of us from Co Durham and 2 relatives from Kent and we simply could not fault the hotel. The welcome, the staff in general, the ambience the food, the room with a nice view and the gardens were all second to none - The weather, well, when it rains in the Lakes it rains!!!!
We would not hesitate to stay here again whether on a offer or not. We are already considering having a Christmas break here!
Thanks to ALL for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigewend2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My disabled In-laws booked a weekend stay,and asked for a particular room which they had stayed in many years ago.This was confirmed and a deposit paid.Only on arrival were they were told that a regular customer had later asked for the same room and so my In-laws were given a different room.They will probably be unable to go on holiday again,and this was a great disappointment for us all.The food was good but under-seasoned,and the bar bill was not itemised-just a lump sum.A young male member of staff replied'How should I know ?'when asked if the morning papers had arrived.The one shining star was a young man called John who was kindness itself and provided excellent service.Terribly disappointed in the hotel

Room Tip: Go elsewhere-you may not get the room you booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights including dinner and breakfast which was a special offer. A really lovely hotel which has recently had a refurb. Our room was on the ground floor with doors opening to the garden. Perfectly fine. Really nice, comfy lounges with nice big sofas and chairs looking out over the lovely gardens to the lake beyond. The breakfasts were absolutely top notch, the best we have had in a hotel for a long time, cooked to order with a great choice, including kippers etc. Hot toast, made to order, not that stupid machine!! Dinner was a real surprise, top end dining, lots of surprises, canapes with our drinks and an amuse bouche in between. The quality of the food was wonderful and we have stayed at some very high end hotels. A really lovely experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hop2manual66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you want comfort and great food this hotel has it all the surroundings and views are great,it was our first time at this hotel and it will not be our last it is a little way out from Bowness it's a short drive or about 15 mins walk. To the town.The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you walk to the town from hotel the walk back is up hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitch1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £94 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing