We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure perfection!”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pure perfection!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I can't praise this hotel enough! But I'll try.. On arrival we received a really warm welcome, all the staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is immaculate, the public areas, the restaurant and the rooms. All appear to have been very recently refurbished to a high standard with luxury fittings. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the lounge over looking the beautiful gardens. We had an amazing 3 course meal in the evening which was perfectly cooked high end cuisine using only quality ingredients. Breakfast was plentiful and of great quality. The hotel is a short walk from Bowness. Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    216
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
100
711
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel although out of Bowness is easily accessible to the town. The hotel has superb views across Lake Windermere from a delightful terrace as well as some of the bedrooms. We had a lovely room on the ground floor with its own outside seating area. The quality of the food is second to none. The chef has a real talent. We have stayed in many excellent hotels over the years but this has really excelled. The staff are very helpful and very very pleasant. Lovely gardens as well. We had a fantastic break and will return

Room Tip: Some of the ground floor rooms have their own outside area with table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Arrived for our last romantic getaway for just the 2 of us before our little Seedling made an appearance. Greeting at reception- warm, welcoming, professional and personal. We were shown our room which was stunning- we overlooked the lake and it was a wonderful view, although I think the most magical view would be missed by all non-pregnant people needing to use the loo at sunrise- a rare occasion I was more than happy to be up at the crack of dawn as I was greeted with the most breathtaking view of the lake I'd ever seen. We took tea in the main lounge ; service was relaxed although we were periodically checked on. Dinner; absolutely exquisite! My husband is a Master Chef in the Army- he was blown away and the chef even made up a dessert I could eat as I couldn't eat what was on the menu. Breakfast was again lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed being able to greet the morning overlooking the lake. Service for the whole stay was perfect, we savoured the slower pace compared to our normal every day lives. We thoroughly enjoyed the much needed break and would happily return when we need to escape from reality again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with the most magical view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColouredSeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Lovely warm welcome, very efficient staff and helpful. Food excellent. We stayed on diner B & B special rate, room was a small double at back of hotel with view of garden. Very quiet hotel which has been modernised recently. Large garden at front of hotel with fabulous view over lake. About 10min walk down to lake or 20 mins into Bowness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is very nice, in lovely grounds with lake views, it really could be something special.

We had a few minor issues with our room when we arrived, we were offered a new room but told would have to pay extra for it ( this was a first for us in any hotel), after refusing we were eventually given another room, which was acceptable.
The food was excellent but delays on the first night ruined the whole experience, staff levels dropped after 9.30pm and basically everything ground to a halt. We were left waiting for desert for over an hour, along with three other couples.
We booked earlier the second night and things were thankfully much improved.
We did encounter a few other problems which were discussed with hotel management face to face and they did take the points on board.
We feel most of it comes from inexperienced young staff and under staffing at critical times.
Such a shame really as The Rybeck has so much going for it, they do so many things really well but just need to concentrate on the basics a bit more.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms appear to have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in May for my partners birthday. Beautiful place and scenery. Could not fault the room it was absolutely spotless. Ate on the Friday night In the restaurant and the food was amazing. Well done chefs!! How ever we were let down by service, waited 20mins with empty main course plates. Then another 20mins for sweet menus. To which the waiter asked us if we had ordered then yet! When he took the main course plates! Then left without coffees as waited to long again, I could understand if it was busy but it wasn't at all. Also requested a week before if a little birthday plate was possible was told yes, but to no avail. Such a shame as it was highly recommended by a friend. Would love to return just for food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

our first visit last year was lovely but our second visit this year i was not impressed. we had a evening meal the first night ,we asked the waiter if he could explain some of the dessert menu his reply was i have not got time ,i am very busy and the best thing you can do is just pick at random, i was totally shocked at what he said.we ordered dessert but did not eat it,we walked out of the dining room.because of the waiters attitude we will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing