We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very nice stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel has lovely gardens, the food was very good and the hotel staff very pleasant. We had a garden room which was very spacious, the shower over the bath was a little tricky, not easy to set at a good angle in the holder. The only other negative was that because the weather was hot we had the Juliet balcony doors open and the man in the room below was smoking outside his room, the smoke wafted up into our room and we had to close the doors, rather annoying. The hotel restaurant and lounges are very nice, well decorated and furnished. A very pleasant stay, definitely would recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    211
    60
    8
    5
See reviews for
95
686
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Service and food was excellent. Spoilt for choice on the set dinner menu and all we finally chose was tasty and beautifully presented. The lounge and bar areas were extremely comfortable and attractively decorated and the dining room was bright and welcoming. This hotel has large, well kept, beautiful gardens, it was lovely to have a drink in the late afternoon sat on the terrace overlooking the gardens.

We chose a standard room, it was small but perfectly adequate, tastefully redecorated, overlooking the front garden with a comfortable bed and a compact but pleasant shower room.

We had booked at an offer price and it was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jebpgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I had a three night break at the Ryebeck Hotel as a special treat for my Wife’s 65th birthday. We paid just over £600 for three nights dinner, bed and breakfast with a first floor superior room overlooking the Lake.
The room which had recently been refurbished was large and had a good view of the lake. It had a lovely kingsize bed, a large flat screen TV and a Jacuzzi style bath and shower in the en-suite. The towels were excellent. Homemade biscuits were provided and replenished each day.
There is no lift in this hotel. However, assistance to carry cases upstairs is available on request. There was no hairdryer supplied in the room and the hotel information folder was missing. These are also available on request. There was a limited range of toiletries provided in the room. No shower cap, shampoo or conditioner were supplied, although these may have been available on request.
When we read the hotel information we were pleased to see that the hotel “only welcome well behaved children over the age of 5 into (the restaurant) for the comfort and peace of our other guests”. It also indicated “A peaceful atmosphere is an important part of our dining experience, so we request that mobile phones are switched off in the restaurant”. So we looked forward to having a peaceful and quiet dining experience.
On the first night we had a nice intimate meal which we both enjoyed. However, on the second night a group of nine middle aged persons on one table were extremely loud, shouting across the table to each other and generally having no regard for other diners. At times the noise from their table was so loud that it was difficult to hear my wife. By the look on the faces of other diners they also were upset.
After the meal I discovered that the group were dining the next day and I asked the head waiter if something could be done about the noise for the next day. He only suggested that we sit in a different place. The next day, although we sat further away, we still found the noise from the group disturbing, as they shouted at each other across the table. It appears that nothing had been said to them. Unfortunately, even though the food was very good, both evenings were ruined for us. The staff informed us that this group were return visitors and had behaved similarly before.
We spoke to the owner of the Hotel when we were leaving regarding the noisy group, particularly in light of the statements regarding a tranquil dining atmosphere. He did not apologise or undertake to speak to the group who were continuing their stay. He said that it was difficult as the hotel try to make everyone happy. However, he commented that the hotel had clearly not kept us happy.
The restaurant has little soft furnishings, only the chairs have fabric. There are no curtains, only blinds, little carpeting, mainly ceramic floor tiles, and no table cloths. Therefore nothing to absorb sound.
The hotel is situated about a mile from Bowness Centre. Bowness is a crowded tourist trap, so you may wish to be situated outside Bowness in a more peaceful setting such as this. However, the walk to Bowness is along well used roads with extended stretches with no pavement.

Plus Points for the hotel.
Nice large room, recently refurbished with large flat screen TV and comfortable kingsized bed, Jacuzzi style bath and shower and lovely towels and dressing gowns.
Good view of the Lake from the room.
Very colourful and well kept gardens.
Tea, coffee and homemade biscuits in the room
Evening meals were excellent and, well presented.
Negative Points
WiFi only works in the lobby and part of the Guest Lounge. There is a very limited or no signal in the rooms.
Room servicing was not carried out very well. The carpet was not vacuumed while we were there and used drinking glasses were not replaced.
Restaurant menu did not change while we were there. There were six main course options, with only one vegetarian option.
The breakfast was fairly standard. It was nothing special for a hotel of this level.
Wine was rather expensive, with house wine starting at £19.00 per bottle.
The hotel does not adhere to it’s own peaceful dining principles.
If you decide to stay here request a room with a view of the lake, (at extra cost) but make sure that there are no large parties booked at the same time.

Room Tip: Book a Lake View room on the first floor.for a good view. Also bring your own shampoo and conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellerCymruWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

If this rating were based solely on the food, it would be 5 star all the way. The chef here knows how to tickle the taste buds with his/her choice and mixtures of ingredients; I could not find fault at all.
Where did they lose a star then? I had booked a room for my wife and I and our dog 3 months back. When we arrived, I was told that there were no dog-friendly rooms left; they were all in the annexes and dogs weren't allowed anywhere in the main hotel. So much for dog-friendly! I asked what she was going to do about it, since I had a confirmed booking, including the dog, paid in advance. We were given a ground floor room, near a fire exit and pretty-well told to use that door with the dog, to maintain the view that no dogs were allowed in the hotel.
The room itself was small, though well-furnished and clean; certainly no room to swing a cat, though they were probably not welcome either.
The shower produced only a trickle of water and you were required to run around to get wet! So that was my morning exercise before I took the dog out for his!
Seriously, this hotel has a great deal going for it; magnificent views, lovely gardens which are well-kept and all so close to the heart of the lake district. Would I return? YES, I most certainly would - give it a try!

Room Tip: I can only say that room 3 is ideal if you like a small room with no water pressure in the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here on an overnighter recently. I am not particularly easy to please and whilst the room we were given was small and overlooking the front garden, it was fine.
The food at breakfast was good and the Dinner was even better and excellent value. The service throughout was faultless and this hotel is linked to the Old England so you can use their leisure facilities if you wish.
The views and the siting area at the rear of the hotel are really good too. The gardens are magnificent and the gardener here seemed a very pleasant chap and does an excellent job.
Without a doubt we would be happy to stay here again and hope to do so.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was taken to this hotel for my birthday and what a great birthday I had!
We were shown to our room which was small but stylish and we had a lovely view of the front garden. We had a lovely pre-meal walk into Bowness - a bit hilly and we did run out of pavement a few times but it definitely improved our appetites. We returned, dressed for dinner, and went downstairs to the lounge - it had been explained at check in that if we sat in the lounge or bar we would be brought canapés and then shown to our table. I had a fantastic gin and tonic and ordered a bottle of red for the table.
I started with the mackerel pate, which to be honest was missing something, either pepper or horseradish, but that was a personal taste, my boyfriend had the open crab ravioli - I was jealous - it was fantastic!
For main I had the lamb three ways which was impeccable and my boyfriend had the trio of pork , I can't really comment as he refused to share as it was so good.
I finished with the coffee combination dessert and can recommend highly! My boyfriend had cheese.
I slept incredibly well and would go back in a flash! I recommend it for a special little getaway. We had rubbish weather but I still enjoyed it immensely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary recently and it was gorgeous. We stayed in room 12 which was gorgeous with a view of the lake from your bed. In gorgeous grounds and lovely to sit outside with some fizz, great views. The food was outstanding and the staff very friendly and could not do enough for us. What a find.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing