We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We initially booked through Travelzoo so had a discount off the full price but paid a supplement for our initial 2 days in a Superior Lake Room that had plenty of space for an extra bed for our 9 y/o old son. ( However see below re subsequent room ). The Hotel was quite happy to reserve a room before we bought the voucher. Reception ( particularly Jenna ) were very helpful and this first room was great - super views, a good size, huge bed, very well decorated, a nice big bathroom with Whirlpool bath and shower, bathrobes, homemade biscuits and real coffee bags - perhaps the only improvement for us would have been an iron rather than the rather useless trouser press. There are extensive and well kept gardens and lawns with views to the lake and hills. Food was excellent - there was a great choice for breakfast that was cooked to order and a concise but well chosen and great quality evening menu ( with additional dishes on a tasting menu offered to guests staying for several days )waiting staff were attentive and friendly. The icing on the cake for us was free use of the swimming pool and spa facilities at the Old England Hotel in Bowness that was around 15 minutes walk away - these were superb and kept us well entertained when the weather was not brilliant. The only slightly disappointing part of the stay was that whilst we were there we decided to stay an extra day. Reception did well to organise this but the only room available was very basic in comparison. It was fairly small and dark, the bathroom was pretty basic and there there were no views. It was clean and well decorated but certainly lacked any wow factor.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    221
    64
    8
    5
See reviews for
109
727
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Ryebeck was fab from start to finish with just one exception. The greeting at reception was great - very friendly. We were shown directly to the room and our one bag was carried for us. We had paid for a smaller, standard room, and that's what it was...fairly small but enough room for sleeping. there was half a bottle of bubbly on ice as was expected and accompanying the tea and coffee were four amazing homemade biscuits. Dinner that night was delicious - canapes were a welcome surprise. The service was fantastic. The views and grounds to the hotel were lovely too. The only downside was the shower. It is quite dated and the temperature fluctuated from almost unbearably hot to cold without touching anything.

Room Tip: I would advise paying a bit more for a room with a better shower. We paid £160 and it was worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped at The Ryebeck earlier this week for 3 nights, it's our 3rd time back and it feels like each visit the experience just gets better. We absolutely love this place, been going to the lakes for years and stopped in several hotels (some very expensive/nice looking) but without a doubt The Ryebeck is the best we have ever been in. It's not just a nice looking hotel, it's an experience that's got to be sampled. From the minute you walk through the door the decor is delightful, and the staff can not do enough to help you, very attentive. The food is absolutely outstanding, couldn't fault a single dish no matter which selection we took, and the staff don't miss a beat in noticing when tables need clearing or when your drink is empty... The one thing we have noticed in the last 3 visits is the staff are still the same people give or take the odd new face, but all are extremely friendly and very good at what they do.
Cannot fault the rooms, very spacious, very clean and a beautiful queen sized bed which was extremely comfortable with views overlooking the lake... Outstanding !!!
Definitely going back to this place next year, if not sooner..... Recommend this to anyone what something a little special, really it's got to be done.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with an offer on travelzoo and were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff throughout.

We paid the upgrade to a superior lake room which did indeed offer views over the lake. The room was clean and had a whirlpool bath in the ensuite. I would recommend room 21.

We had the afternoon cream tea with a glass of proseco. Small but good

The evening meal really was a treat. We went for the tasting menu with wines to accompany. The food was excellent. Really well worked dishes tasted lovely. The wines were well matched. We felt this was well worth the money and can highly recommend it.

All in all - a real find.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Partying666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Ryebeck.Great hotel tucked away about a two minute drive from the main town.Very quiet and peaceful considering it was full.Staff very attentive.Would definitely recommend for a relaxing break,lovely area

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
healeygirl
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here on the 1st and 2nd August meeting up with My Brother and Sister in Law for a two night stay.
The reception staff were really helpful and soon had us all booked in. we were all impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and our rooms. The hotel is set in lovely gardens with plentiful parking and wonderful views of Lake Windermere. Dinner was excellent you would think you were in a Michelin starred restaurant, (yes it really was that good) also a good wine list.
All the staff were really attentive but a special mention must go to Brian looked after us so well.
Good choice of food at breakfast something for all tastes.
We would highly recommend this hotel and we will be definitely be booking again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have just come back after enjoying a good nights stay at the ryebeck, we stayed dinner bed breakfast and the food was lovely some of the best I've had. The room was nice and the bed was huge, the grounds were impressive and provided a nice place to look at the scenery. The staff were good especially in the restaurant. Definitely looking forward to one day going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing