We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer.”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this Hotel through a deal for £139 which gave us Scones and tea and glass Prosecco on arrival, a fabulous evening meal and a wonderful Breakfast the following morning. The Staff were very friendly and the Garden Room we had was lovely. Would recommend this Hotel for a lovely relaxing break in wonderful location. We will definitely return and for a little longer next time.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor, garden view room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Arrived at the Ryebeck by Taxi as we caught the train from Euston, the Hotel is very charming and our ground floor room, which was the Disabled Room was lovely, décor was beautiful with French doors leading on to a small patio, would have been nice to have a small table and two chairs to sit on outside. Dining room was also very nice, evening meal was Goumet and very tasty. Breakfast was very disappointing the porridge was burnt, the cooked breakfast was equally as bad (sour sausages, half uncooked mushroom, cold scrambled eggs) and coffee very bitter. The second morning was still not up to 4 star, the kipper was so overcooked it could not be eaten and my coffee cup had two large cracks in it. The evening meal again was fine but by this time I was so disappointed as the Hotel does pride itself on its food.
The Hotel itself is quite isolated if you do not arrive by car and was further away from the Lake then anticipated, so going anywhere we had to get a taxi.
Would I do there again, only by car, and if it was on a Bed only basis.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens and lake if you were in one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a lovely one night stay at the Ryebeck. Booked on a deal with Travelzoo but upgraded to a lake view room and it was worth every penny. Lovely spacious room, with fabulous views and a lovely bathroom with whirlpool bath. We were spoilt on arrival with a cream tea and prosecco and our evening meal was just fine dining at it's best. All staff were very very pleasant and extremely helpful.
It seems almost churlish to mention the breakfast, but I agree with a previous reviewer and found it luke warm and bland. However our overall experience was first class and we will certainly recommend it and hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 9 , wonderful views of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rodgers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My partner and I recently made a second visit to the Ryebeck for dinner...and had very different experiences !
I was very pleased with all aspects of my meal,my main course of pork was cooked to perfection,and I judged the four course meal plus a complimentary glass of an excellent prosecco to be very good value at £29.50 a head.However...
My partner's choice of courses was less happy.Her cold carrot soup was tasteless and had an unpleasant fizz which indicated that it was beginning to ferment,perhaps having been made several days earlier.Most of it remained uneaten but what little was consumed left her with an upset stomach for the following 24 hours.Her beef main course was cooked to her liking but was somewhat bland and the small serving warranted a more substantial accompaniment of vegetabes than the small tomato,scrap of onion and smear of spinach puree that did adorn her plate ! Her cheesecake dessert looked attractive (although the icecream served with it had already melted when it arrived at the table) but it transpired that it had been made with goat's cheese (not indicated on the menu) and tasted sour and unpleasant.Oh dear !
The Ryebeck has much to offer-a lovely setting,a most attractive new dining room,and charming and courteous front-of-house staff.On this occasion,however,one of us was shortchanged by shortcomings in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed 1 night, had a fabulous 1st floor room overlooking the lake (or we could have had a ground floor with it's own patio). This was a Secret Escapes special offer. Got a 4 course dinner & B&B for a great price for 2 people. The room was large with double aspect windows, all the usual amenities but with a "Juliet" balcony & soft chairs for 2 people. The bathroom was well appointed with a window & a whirlpool bath with shower. The 4 course meal was gourmet style with a good choice of courses. It was very tasty & plentiful. As this was a stop over en-route to Scotland, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights on a DB&B deal from Great Little Breaks. Hotel set in nice, quiet surroundings and has a friendly feel. Our room was well-furnished and well equipped and perfectly adequate for our stay. Public rooms are spacious and comfortable. The evening menu had a bit less choice than I would have expected but the food was 'fine dining' and really excellent, although a bit strong on protein and little short on veg for our tastes. Service was polite and efficient. Disappointing to find WiFi only available in the lounge/bar areas but this is a small point. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is set in pretty, wooded gardens, overlooking Lake Windermere and has well furnished ground floor lounges facing the same way. On a fine day you can step out of the lounges and explore or, if it's raining (we had some...), make yourself comfortable and indulge in cream scones.

Despite an arrival mix up (fault of Great Little Breaks) the staff could not have been more helpful, finding us single rooms for the first night and an upgrade lake-view room for the second. Phone signals and wifi were unreliable, as in most of the area. The rooms are well equipped with sachets of ground coffee and homemade biscuits. We never worked out how to switch on the shower in the second room but there was a lavish bath as alternative.

Our offer included dinner both nights and the food w as superb. You are brought tasty canapes with pre-dinner drinks and an amuse bouche and several flavoured breads on being seated in the dining room. First night was shredded duck with apple jelly, second a salmon mousse. Then on to what you have ordered, which in our case, over two nights, included crab ravioli, sundried tomato cheesecake - a delicious deconstructed concoction - fillet steak (four chunky pink slices), two kinds of pork (amazing twirl of crackling) and guinea fowl; all beautifully cooked and presented. The portions aren't huge, and there are no sides, but the procession of food ensures a full tummy. Desserts included a generous cheese plate and a mango concoction.

By contrast, breakfast was disappointing. Service was slow and the cooked food lukewarm with limp sausages and bacon. It was clearly not cooked to order so we didn't understand why it took so long to emerge from the kitchen. I'm guessing completely different chefs from the evening. Coffee, toast and pastries were very good.

The hotel very close to both Windermere and Bowness on Windermere which are lovely towns for exploring. Blackwell House, a fantastic arts and crafts home, is just a short walk.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £115 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing