We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PEACE AND QUIET”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
kirkham
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PEACE AND QUIET”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Just returned from 2 days stay at this lovely hotel.
Lovely room overlooking the lake, comfortable room with plenty of space and with jacuzzi bath. Walked to Bowness and took us about 25 minutes down the hill.
The lounge was comfortable with big sofas overlooking the patio nice to sit and read the paper while looking at the view.
5 Course dinner was excellent also very good breakfast.
Staff very helpful and friendly
We booked for one night liked it so much stayed another night!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwareing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    220
    62
    8
    5
See reviews for
107
721
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood UK
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Hotel is in a very quiet area of Bowness and ideally situated for a very relaxing break. Impressive gardens offering fantastic views. Unfortunately the unseasonable weather meant that we were unable to take full advantage during our stay.

Excellent restaurant with some interesting combinations, for example roast pork with corn pancake, but no apple sauce! Comprehensive and eclectic wine list for such a small hotel.

The lasting impression, however, will be the professional and positive staff. Without exception they were all extremely friendly, helpful and couldn’t have done any more to ensure an enjoyable stay. The Fayrer Garden is very lucky to have such an outstanding group of employees.

Overall a great holiday experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitlocksEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Great location, with a decent and healthy walk in to Bowness.
Superb views to and over towards the Lake.
Staff first class - true genuine service.
Nice room with 4 poster bed, 'lounge' area with small tv.
Reasonable breakfast buffet, good choice for the hot cooked to demand brekkie.

I have to add though that every box was ticked but ....... I'd hope you don't get room 8. A horrible mouldy, smelly bathroom that we had to keep the door closed to try and minimise the odour leaking in to the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2009

very comfortable hotel excellent service good food could not find any complaints.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank den_collins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

After staying at this hotel three years ago I really wanted to go back as we enjoyed it so much. Worried I may be disappointed, I have to say it was just as brilliant as before. The service is exceptional with the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food is just amazing and we looked forward to dinner every night of our stay - especially after a 7.5 hour walk in the hills! This is a beautiful hotel in an amazing location and I would (and do) recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Have just returned from this lovely hotel. The view from the garden and luckily for us from our room of the lake is marvellous.
The food is top class and there is plenty of choice. Starting with canapes in the bar or wherever you choose to enjoy your pre-dinner drink, right through the starters, the intermediate and then the main course, service is top notch and the food beautifully presented and delicious. The deserts are guaranteed to give you a problem choosing which to have.Take after-dinner coffee in the lounge or on the terrace, they'll come and find you, accompanied by Thortons chocolates.
Contrary to a previous review meals are not a rushed affair.
The bar is plentifully stocked with over 20 different scotches and a good range of local and international bottled beer.
Breakfast is casual but the service remains as good and the choices remain as wide.
We had a lake view room with a whirpool bath, but don't put to much bubble bath in it !!..which had a big, comfortable double bed and enough clothes storage room. Also had a view of the helipad, yes it does get used !.
Our room was made up and replenished while we were at breakfast, they're that fast.

Dining in a child-free and mobile phone free environment was bliss.


Though it will take you more than 15 mins to walk to Bowness, the shortest route is down a steep hill with no pavement but "real" ramblers won't find that a problem, for us wimps park the car in the Burnside Hotel where you can use the facilities and take the shorter walk into Bowness which is even shorter if you use the other exit which brings you out very close to the main coach park.

Great service,efficient polite staff, great food and a wonderful location.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CannockFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed at the Fayrer hotel because the 5 star hotel we were moving onto to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary couldnt accommodate us for the Friday night and what a shame they could accommodate us at all, because I would have been more than happy to have stayed at the Fayrer for the week, and definately deserved more than 3 stars.
EVERYTHING was perfect and we felt very comfortable and welcomed there. The setting was beautiful and relaxing
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddie1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,856 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Property: The Ryebeck
Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing