We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Our 3-night stay at Feyrer Garden House Hotel was a Christmas present from our children - and worth every penny we guess they paid...The location, the attentive, friendly staff, the food and our room were all excellent. The Terrace dining room looks across a field and rooftops to Lake Windermere and the mountains. What could be better. The warm, old-wood clad entrance hall is so welcoming, and the rich decor in the spacious lounge, the bar and dining room continued the atmosphere. Our room was in a more modern section of the hotel, which does not have the charm of the old part, though is decorated to a high standard. Our room was fine, looking partly onto gardens. The bed was comfortable, the refreshment tray was kept full, TV, radio all worked. Well worth a visit.
Would we change anything? Yes. The typeface used on the hotel's signage, letterheads etc. It isn't reader-friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,007 - 1,013 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2010

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Fayrer garden house hotel and it was great, the receptionist showed us around the hotel and then to our room and all the staff were very friendly, the room was spotless and the food was exceptional I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Not been for a few years but expectations were exceeded! We stayed 2 nights midweek. The room (22) was comfortable & warm with commanding views of the lake, the bed was huge & very comfortable. Bathroom was again good with a seperate shower & bath (with Jacuzzi). On the minus side both bedroom & bathroom could have done with a light over the the mirrors. Heating was adjustable.
The food was more than acceptable with a varied menu & an excellent wine list, There was a big choice for the breakfast menu too.
As it was dark after 5pm once you were in the hotel you couldn't go anywhere else - walking in to Bowness would have required torches & strong nerves - but the staff couldnt have been more welcoming - chatting if you wanted to but reserved enough to leave you alone if required. The hotel has an arrangement with the spa at 'The Old Engaland' in Bowness if needed.
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of August, and I cannot understand all the excitement, OK the hotel is in nice location, the grounds are large and well kept, but the hotel itself needs work, our room which was lake facing was tiny, it only had shower room and the bed was completely done in, and gave no support or a good night’s sleep.
The towel rail was on all night which made the room very hot, and the TV was a joke. Yes the dining experience was very good and the staff attentive, but I paid for a total experience not just dinner and at over £400.00 for two nights, it is not value for money.
The hotel may appeal to the oldie worldly set who like old and tired things, but I am not one of them and these prices neither should anybody else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and i have just returned from a 3 night break at the fayrer garden house hotel where we had a wonderful time. The hotel is really lovely, rooms are nice, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean, it is set in beautiful gardens and some rooms overlook the lake. What makes this hotel extra special is the staff and the food. We have never stayed in a hotel where the service was so good, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they were all so friendly. The food is amazing a really good choice of menu and everything was cooked and presented to perfection. We were so impressed we have booked for my parents to go to celebrate my moms birthday. We will definitely be returning ourselves as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This is a wonderful hotel and very reasonably priced, situated convenienly to the east centre of the lake. Easy access for walking and sightseeing, we walked daily in to Bowness for lake access. The food and service by the staff was exceptional. Ideal for a leisurely stay and peace and quiet. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND, and would definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip_cotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

It is a quite smart hotel situated near lake Windermere surrounded by very beautiful gardens. The rooms are very stylish and all have beautiful different views either looking to the lake or over the hotel gardens. The terrace restaurant of the hotel is superbly furnished with stunning views of the lake and offers a different set menu every morning and evening. The hotel staff all are very nice friendly and hospitable, we would like to recommend this hotel to everyone who come to visit the lake district area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narathip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe
Lindeth Howe
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £93 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing