We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly disappointed”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had cullen skink at Porto last night. Good, but disappointed at the amount of fish for £18.95. Staff usually friendly but last night perfunctory. Would appreciate return of early doors menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    232
    91
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This our is third visit and yet again we were not disappointed. We were once again served delicious food. Excellent, friendly unobtrusive service. Portions are enough as we don't expect huge amounts, we want to enjoy the food not be stuffed. Price is good and fair. At each visit we have sat in a booth which gives an intimate feel without losing the atmosphere which we like. Love the decoration, just right. As you can tell by this review we love this restaurant!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely food and fantatsic service, would highly recommend. I had the lamb and my boyfriend had the steak, both were cooked perfectly for us. For desert we had the chocolate cake which again was amazing! Would definitely return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becca_Ciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Ever!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was a Sunday evening, and we had taken the last time slot at 8.30pm.
There were 4 in our party, there was not too many dishes on the menu & we were told that it had just changed.
My husband is a picky eater, and is easily overfaced by large portions.
We all had starters, they were very, very nice, and the mains, hubby said was the best food he had EVER HAD. Wow what a statement, as we have eaten all over the world, and Porto wad the best!!
Three of us had the smoked haddock with scallops, absolutely wonderful, cooked to perfection, my friend had steak, again perfection.
We were quite full but decided to share 2 desserts. The outstanding one was served in 3 hollowed out egg shells served in 3 spiral egg cups, 3 taster desserts, how fab was that. Not telling you what was in, try them.
Outstanding place you must book if you visit Windermere. If we ever come back Porto is a must. Can't praise it enough.

Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a birthday treat and it did not disappoint. We both had 3 courses, which were all amazing. Washed down with a very good bottle of Red!

The atmosphere is relaxed with very attentive staff. It is not the cheapest of menu's but was worth every penny.

We will definitely dine here again and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loxy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing