We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Meal”
Review of Porto Restaurant

Porto Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Just a five minute stroll from the shores of Lake Windermere. Serving food all day with indoor and outdoor seating areas
brewood, staffs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Spent a couple of days in Bowness and thought we'd try this restaurant for a change. Staff made us feel very welcome and were attentive throughout our meal - but not at all intrusive.
There was plenty of choice on the menu and our meals were tasty. They were cooked and presented well. Overall - a lovely evening thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanna and paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,255
    232
    91
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best in Lakes”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Best in Lakeland by far. This is just fine dining without huge costs. Pretty amazing value for the type of food you get here. Lovely location down little alley too. Just incredible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ki&mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I visited with my wife while staying nearby and after reading good reviews - we were not disappointed! Delicious food and great service. We will definitely be back next time we visit Windermere.

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked this restaurant for our honeymoon visit to the Lake District due to the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed!

I requested a booth, which was great, it felt very private and intimate. We were seated near to the outside seating area which was lovely because the sun was still shining.
The staff were fantastic, they left us enough time to comfortably choose our food but didn't leave us long enough to wonder when we were getting served! They were attentive throughout without it feeling intrusive.

This was without doubt the best meal I have ever eaten. I chose the lamb and it was cooked just how I like it; it was absolute perfection. The accompanying jelly and puree were superb!
My husband chose the salmon and king prawn in a seafood bisque and said it was delicious.

For dessert I chose the sticky toffee soufflé (so yummy!) and my husband chose the brownie. The brownie was way too rich for me but he absolutely loved it.

Then out of the blue the waitress arrived with complimentary mini desserts with a congratulatory message written in chocolate. Such a lovely idea!

We left feeling wonderfully satisfied without feeling over stuffed and we've both raved about this restaurant to anyone who will listen ever since (and we only visited 3 days ago!!)

We will definitely be coming back to this restaurant when we return to the Lakes next January.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deli_kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely service and a lovely steak meal cooked perfectly. Very nice atmosphere can't wait to come back.

Helpful?
1 Thank nmarie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Porto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing